Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 8, 2005, 10:37 PM   #1
Adam Chase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Found THis



in my parents workshop.. looks like an oldie.. and it has a whole 1mb of RAM lol
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2005, 10:37 PM   #2
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
why did this need two threads?
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2005, 11:33 PM   #3
Abstract
macrumors Penryn
 
Abstract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location Location
Does M0001 mean it's the first Mac model ever!
__________________
"Hard? It's supposed to be hard. Hard is what makes it great!" - Tom Hanks.
Abstract is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2005, 11:58 PM   #4
dubbz
macrumors 68020
 
dubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Alta, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract
Does M0001 mean it's the first Mac model ever!
If so, that's very cool!
__________________
"If a tree falls in the forest... I'll kill the bastard what done it!" - Jaheira
dubbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 12:01 AM   #5
robcts
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Nice
__________________
Music: iPod nano (4GB, white)
robcts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 12:07 AM   #6
Adam Chase
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yup thats what i just learned. its a Mac 128k the first model ever lol.. pretty crazy eh and its got a whole 1MB of ram!!

i have all the accesories and i just plugged in in a couple minutes ago and she works great.. but kinda useless i guess its just going to be a decoration for now
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 12:25 AM   #7
iAlan
macrumors 65816
 
iAlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Chase
yup thats what i just learned. its a Mac 128k the first model ever lol.. pretty crazy eh and its got a whole 1MB of ram!!

i have all the accesories and i just plugged in in a couple minutes ago and she works great.. but kinda useless i guess its just going to be a decoration for now
And probably worth a lot of money if it does work withour problems...
__________________
* real name Alan - if that isn't obvious
iAlan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 01:51 AM   #8
40167
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
I hope you seriously don't think you have the first one ever, lol. (You're looking at a model number, not a serial number for the unit)

Mine also has the same model number, You'd probibly get like 10 bucks for it... mine gets used as a doorstop.

Last edited by 40167; Oct 9, 2005 at 01:55 AM.
40167 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 02:06 AM   #9
Adam Chase
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrebsd
I hope you seriously don't think you have the first one ever, lol. (You're looking at a model number, not a serial number for the unit)

Mine also has the same model number, You'd probibly get like 10 bucks for it... mine gets used as a doorstop.
lol no i know i dont have the first ever... but i think your wrong about it not being worth anything.. look on ebay and around the net
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 07:27 PM   #10
jamesW135
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesW135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Send a message via AIM to jamesW135
Even if its not the first those machines are fun to playwith.
__________________
- JamesW135

Face it Nikon is better.
jamesW135 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 08:10 PM   #11
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
You can get a whole 1MB in an original Mac? Wowsers!
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 12:56 AM   #12
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
If it has 1 Mb of RAM, then it has either had a motherboard swap or a third-party upgrade like a Levco MonsterMac.

The Mac 128 had... 128 Kb of RAM.
It also had a 400 Kb single-sided 3.5" floppy disk. (gooood luck finding any of these...)
No ADB, no SCSI
Serial port for the mouse.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl.../mac_128k.html
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 01:23 AM   #13
Counterfit
macrumors 601
 
Counterfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sitting on your shoulder
There are a few 512k and 1MB Macs at school. I should, uh, "rescue" them.
__________________
"People shouldn't use word processors as web development tools. It's like using a domestic cat to spread butter on your toast." -ad
Counterfit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 02:32 AM   #14
Adam Chase
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yeah sorry i ment it had 128k ram.. but yeah i do have that other floppy drive too.. ill take a pic tommorow and well see if its what your talking about
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 05:52 AM   #15
Platform
macrumors 68030
 
Platform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
If it has 1 Mb of RAM, then it has either had a motherboard swap or a third-party upgrade like a Levco MonsterMac.

The Mac 128 had... 128 Kb of RAM.
It also had a 400 Kb single-sided 3.5" floppy disk. (gooood luck finding any of these...)
No ADB, no SCSI
Serial port for the mouse.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl.../mac_128k.html
MB and Mb is different and so is KB and Kb
__________________
Aluminium Macbook | 20" iMac G5 (iSight)
Platform is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 06:24 AM   #16
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platform
MB and Mb is different and so is KB and Kb
they say that, but loads of mags and sites use Gb when referring to GB.
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2005, 06:34 PM   #17
AZGINBOGA
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Chase


in my parents workshop.. looks like an oldie.. and it has a whole 1mb of RAM lol

Sell it on ebay, it's collectable
AZGINBOGA is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I found this Apple logo on this bag Pink∆Floyd Apple Collectors 4 Feb 12, 2011 08:20 PM
I found this very funny... neonart Community 2 Feb 13, 2003 10:09 PM
Found this... eyelikeart Hardware Rumors 8 Jan 12, 2002 11:22 AM
Found this MW announcement info.. IOComposer MacRumors News Discussion (archive) 13 Jan 3, 2002 05:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC