Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 8, 2005, 10:37 PM   #1
Adam Chase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Found THis



in my parents workshop.. looks like an oldie.. and it has a whole 1mb of RAM lol
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2005, 10:37 PM   #2
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
why did this need two threads?
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2005, 11:33 PM   #3
Abstract
macrumors Penryn
 
Abstract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location Location
Does M0001 mean it's the first Mac model ever!
__________________
"Hard? It's supposed to be hard. Hard is what makes it great!" - Tom Hanks.
Abstract is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2005, 11:58 PM   #4
dubbz
macrumors 68020
 
dubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Alta, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract
Does M0001 mean it's the first Mac model ever!
If so, that's very cool!
__________________
"If a tree falls in the forest... I'll kill the bastard what done it!" - Jaheira
dubbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 12:01 AM   #5
robcts
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Nice
__________________
Music: iPod nano (4GB, white)
robcts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 12:07 AM   #6
Adam Chase
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yup thats what i just learned. its a Mac 128k the first model ever lol.. pretty crazy eh and its got a whole 1MB of ram!!

i have all the accesories and i just plugged in in a couple minutes ago and she works great.. but kinda useless i guess its just going to be a decoration for now
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 12:25 AM   #7
iAlan
macrumors 65816
 
iAlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Chase
yup thats what i just learned. its a Mac 128k the first model ever lol.. pretty crazy eh and its got a whole 1MB of ram!!

i have all the accesories and i just plugged in in a couple minutes ago and she works great.. but kinda useless i guess its just going to be a decoration for now
And probably worth a lot of money if it does work withour problems...
__________________
* real name Alan - if that isn't obvious
iAlan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 01:51 AM   #8
40167
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
I hope you seriously don't think you have the first one ever, lol. (You're looking at a model number, not a serial number for the unit)

Mine also has the same model number, You'd probibly get like 10 bucks for it... mine gets used as a doorstop.

Last edited by 40167; Oct 9, 2005 at 01:55 AM.
40167 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 02:06 AM   #9
Adam Chase
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrebsd
I hope you seriously don't think you have the first one ever, lol. (You're looking at a model number, not a serial number for the unit)

Mine also has the same model number, You'd probibly get like 10 bucks for it... mine gets used as a doorstop.
lol no i know i dont have the first ever... but i think your wrong about it not being worth anything.. look on ebay and around the net
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 07:27 PM   #10
jamesW135
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesW135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Send a message via AIM to jamesW135
Even if its not the first those machines are fun to playwith.
__________________
- JamesW135

Face it Nikon is better.
jamesW135 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2005, 08:10 PM   #11
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
You can get a whole 1MB in an original Mac? Wowsers!
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 12:56 AM   #12
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
If it has 1 Mb of RAM, then it has either had a motherboard swap or a third-party upgrade like a Levco MonsterMac.

The Mac 128 had... 128 Kb of RAM.
It also had a 400 Kb single-sided 3.5" floppy disk. (gooood luck finding any of these...)
No ADB, no SCSI
Serial port for the mouse.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl.../mac_128k.html
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 01:23 AM   #13
Counterfit
macrumors 601
 
Counterfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sitting on your shoulder
There are a few 512k and 1MB Macs at school. I should, uh, "rescue" them.
__________________
"People shouldn't use word processors as web development tools. It's like using a domestic cat to spread butter on your toast." -ad
Counterfit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 02:32 AM   #14
Adam Chase
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yeah sorry i ment it had 128k ram.. but yeah i do have that other floppy drive too.. ill take a pic tommorow and well see if its what your talking about
Adam Chase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 05:52 AM   #15
Platform
macrumors 68030
 
Platform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
If it has 1 Mb of RAM, then it has either had a motherboard swap or a third-party upgrade like a Levco MonsterMac.

The Mac 128 had... 128 Kb of RAM.
It also had a 400 Kb single-sided 3.5" floppy disk. (gooood luck finding any of these...)
No ADB, no SCSI
Serial port for the mouse.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl.../mac_128k.html
MB and Mb is different and so is KB and Kb
__________________
Aluminium Macbook | 20" iMac G5 (iSight)
Platform is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 06:24 AM   #16
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platform
MB and Mb is different and so is KB and Kb
they say that, but loads of mags and sites use Gb when referring to GB.
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2005, 06:34 PM   #17
AZGINBOGA
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Chase


in my parents workshop.. looks like an oldie.. and it has a whole 1mb of RAM lol

Sell it on ebay, it's collectable
AZGINBOGA is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found the new File: / / / GRMrGecko Wasteland 0 Aug 30, 2013 08:55 AM
Just found this and need help ItBeMe22 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Aug 7, 2013 08:39 AM
Found my old classic bigMAC28 iPod 1 Dec 2, 2012 02:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC