Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:08 PM   #1
RobertoooMac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Question How well does your MBA operate with 4GB of RAM?

Hi guys,

I'm definitely going to be buying a MacBook Air soon, but I just don't know how it would work with 4GB of RAM. Does the OSX 10.8 use a lot of RAM in the background, and if so is the system slowed down? Does anyone think it's worth going for the 8GB option? If anyone has either the 11" MBA or 13", I'd love to hear from you how smooth your system is, or is not. I'm running 8GB of RAM on my 2012 iMac now and it's great. I'll be using the MBA for word editing, internet use and also some light music production. Any replies would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot for your time,

Rob:-)
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4 Ghz i7, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 1TB Fusion Drive; 13" Macbook Pro (Late 2013), 2.4Ghz i5, 256GB SSD; iPhone 4S 32GB.
RobertoooMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:29 PM   #2
imac5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto
I've got a 2012 13" w/ i5 and 8 GB of RAM. I don't think I've ever seen my RAM usage go above 4 GB with my regular use (which is not particularly heavy: web browsing, iTunes, iPhoto, a few simple games). You wouldn't have any issues with only 4 GB but really at just an extra $100 I think it's probably the most cost effective upgrade you can choose when ordering.
imac5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:31 PM   #3
Saberon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Seriously, don't even consider NOT doing it. It's 2013, you're spending 1000+ on a notebook, do not settle for 4GB. In a year from now you will kick yourself for getting 4GB.
Saberon is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:47 PM   #4
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 604
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Well, when the physical amount of RAM is used up, it will start using hard drive space instead. But since the hard drive in a MBA is an SSD, it won't be as bad as if you had a mechanical hard drive. Neither is evenly remote close to RAM transfer speeds but the SSD would be much faster than HD.
__________________
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:36 PM   #5
David58117
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I've got 4 gigs, currently I have 1.71 gigs free (according to Memory Clean), just using Safari with 5 tabs open.

I also have about 8 apps installed on the menu bar, including facebook, a weather app, Radium and istat menu.

When I had Safari closed, I had about 2.5 gigs free.

Just for tests I opened Finale 2012 ( a piece I'm working on), Steam, and XBMC in the background (in addition to Safari with 5 tabs open, and 2 news extensions running at top). It's staying steady at 1.13 gigs free, with them running in the background. 1.02 gigs free when I was browsing through Steam..

But that's not regular usage. I always close apps I don't use, and regularly browse activity monitor in an attempt to max battery life. Usually approx 5 tabs in Safari and Finale on a second desktop view is my setup. Or everything else closed and XBMC running.

Down to 643 MBs free (I'm streaming a talk radio station from Radium), with XBMC, Steam, Finale 2012, Radium (streaming) and 5 tabs in safari (plus 2 news extensions)..plus the 8 or so menu bar apps. Radium and Steam are huge memory hogs..

Closed everything but Safari and Radium (streaming), and the 8 menu bar apps, ran Memory Clean, and currently at 1.76 gigs free, while listening to my stream.

Anyway, that's my experience. 11" 2012 64 gig MBA.
David58117 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:50 PM   #6
yanksrock100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego
Runs pretty well! I have about 1.5 gb available most of the time, having a bunch of apps open.

I chose 4 gigs because it was either: 4 gigs for $1024 at Best Buy, or 8 gigs for $1299 at Apple. For me, it wasnt worth an extra $300-ish dollars. By the time 4 gigs is not even acceptable, it will probably be time for a new laptop anyway.
__________________
Current 13" Macbook Air (Mid 2012); Nexus 5
Check Out My YouTube Videos! (Mac, iPod, and Android) youtube.com/yanksrock1000
yanksrock100 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:00 PM   #7
Cheffy Dave
macrumors 68020
 
Cheffy Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
54 C2D 11" MBA's purchased for me/friends working perfectly,All working perfectly with 4 MB of RAM
__________________
lotsa "stuff"
Cheffy Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:47 PM   #8
arefbe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
My 2011 13" Air works well with 5 apps open most of the time. About 1.80 megs free.
arefbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:23 PM   #9
rbrian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
I generally have less than 1GB free RAM on my 2011 11" Air, and that's without very much running - half a dozen tabs open in both Chrome and Safari, Outlook 2011, Mail, iTunes, Lync, Messages. When I open up iPhoto or Excel then I start paging, and my swap file is usually at least 2GB.

If 8GB was available in 2011 I definitely would have got it, and since it's impossible to upgrade after the fact it's definitely worth getting it now.
rbrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:10 PM   #10
iSmack
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
It's only a $100 upgrade. It's a no-brainer if you ask me. I didn't hesitate getting the 8GB model when I bought my 2012 MBA. And when the time calls for an upgrade, you have the upper hand on the 2nd hand market because you opted for a more future proof solution. Only downside is you have to wait a couple of weeks because it's build to order.
iSmack is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:21 PM   #11
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
I have 4gb of RAM, with 900mb free and photoshop open, among other things. If I used this as a work machine and regularly used VMWare I'd want 8gb, maybe 16. Otherwise, for daily use, 4gb is fine. Probably even 3 if the OS is pre-iCloud.
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 12:39 AM   #12
rufhausen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Littleton, CO
4GB doesn't seem to be an issue for me at all. I have 326MB of page outs since rebooting 7 days ago, and that number hasn't changed for several days, so maybe I did something extra heavy a few days ago.
If the refurb store had had the 8GB version of the 13" when I bought it, I probably would have spent the extra $100, but it didn't.
This thing still feels smoother than my 2011 iMac with 16GB of ram.
__________________
64GB iPhone 6 | Late 2013 15" Macbook Pro | iPad Air (work)
twitter|flickr|thereluctantdeveloper.com
rufhausen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 02:01 AM   #13
rhinosrcool
macrumors 65816
 
rhinosrcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
With 4gb, my 2012 air works well. However, at present, I am not using VM ware. As with all of my tech, I bought it used and saved a lot. If I had found a used one with 8gb, it would have cost several hundred more; I am very happy with 4gb.
rhinosrcool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:01 AM   #14
Abazigal
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Singapore
4gb ram is pretty sufficient for your case. Unless you see yourself possibly needing more in the future, don't bother paying extra for the upgrade you will never need.
Abazigal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:28 AM   #15
konicky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
For your uses 4GB will be fine, my 2010 13" runs 10.8 on 2GB without any problems. So it all depends how much the price difference means to you. Here in the UK the 8GB is 80 extra which I would probably pay just for a bit of extra future proofing.
konicky is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 09:44 AM   #16
Amplelink
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I've got a late 2010 with 4GB. My next MBA, probably later this year with the new releases, will definitely have 8GB. I don't do anything insanely intensive, but 4GB shows its limits. If you're going to buy a laptop, I'd suggest at least trying to future proof it to some degree.
Amplelink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:50 PM   #17
Abazigal
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSmack View Post
It's only a $100 upgrade. It's a no-brainer if you ask me. I didn't hesitate getting the 8GB model when I bought my 2012 MBA. And when the time calls for an upgrade, you have the upper hand on the 2nd hand market because you opted for a more future proof solution. Only downside is you have to wait a couple of weeks because it's build to order.
What future proof solution? The extra ram is going to earn you less than what you paid for if you do sell it off. The only upside is that you benefit from more ram during this time, assuming you really do have a legitimate need.
Abazigal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 08:44 PM   #18
cjgonzales1900
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Right now Using 4gb of ram on the MBA is perfectly fine. But in the next year are 2 your going to wish you got 8gb of ram. I do! I strongly recommend upgrading your ram to 8gb to future proof your air. Especially if you plan on keeping it for a long time.
__________________
2013 MacBook Pro Retina 13" 2.5GHz/i5/8GB/256GB SSD
2013 iPhone 5s 1.2GHz/A7/1GB/32GB
2013 Mac Mini 2.5GHz/i5/16GB/120GB SSD+500GB HD
cjgonzales1900 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 09:56 PM   #19
KiwiAdventure
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Zealand
I would run 8 if you are going to use parallels and back up to a time capsule. 4 just works but can slow down at times.
KiwiAdventure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:57 AM   #20
neteng101
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Still on my 2010 13" MBA with 4GB... it does all things fine for the most part, the main issue with the lack of extra RAM for me is when you fire up a virtual machine via Parallels/Fusion.
neteng101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:00 AM   #21
Miat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I run 4GB on a current model 13" Air. It is enough, if you don't want a lot of programs and windows open at once, or don't work with large databases/calculations, or run VMs.

For me most of the excess RAM use is from browsers, and a simple quit - reopen of the browser usually fixes that. Running the 'purge' terminal command can also help a lot.

Mainly just don't try to do too much at once with it, and you should be fine.

The next round of Air upgrades will almost certainly include 8GB, and probably IPS screens, plus cheaper (ie bigger) SSDs. If you can wait until the middle of the year.
Miat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:35 AM   #22
PraisiX-windows
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
I think most people who have written here don't really have a clue.
Not that I do either, but my 2011 mba with 4 gb of ram is fine, I doubt I would feel any difference what so ever, if I had 8 gb ram - yet it would still be nice to have (peace of mind), but it is hardly a necessity.
- If you run several operating systems virtually you might want more, so I've heard at least, but I don't know.
PraisiX-windows is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 03:15 PM   #23
Boyd01
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey Pine Barrens
I also have a 2011 MBA and 4gb was the most available then. I have not noticed any problems using programs like Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, VectorWorks, Photoshop, Filemaker Pro and all the other usual stuff.

I don't leave tons of programs open at the same time but, for example, it's no problem to record 4 channels live audio in Logic pro while Photoshop, Safari, Mail and Skype are also open.

One nice thing about the SSD is that you can open programs quickly, so there's not a lot of need to leave them open unless you're actively doing something.

However, if I were buying a MBA today I'd go for the max configuration - 8gb RAM and 512gb SSD.
Boyd01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 08:56 AM   #24
Mak47
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Harrisburg, PA
I'm shocked at how well it works. I have an 11" entry level model. When I bought it I had no intention of using it how I am now.

I hook it up to an external 1920x1080 display, with the internal open. Run Photoshop, Pixelmator, Adobe Muse, Safari with multiple tabs, iTunes etc. Often 3-5 of these apps are running at the same time with multiple large files open.

It chokes occasionally, but clears up fast. I'd love a bigger screen at this point, but the processor and RAM performance really hasn't been an issue.
Mak47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 09:59 AM   #25
thadoggfather
macrumors 68040
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
yeah my 2011 air has still been running quite well.
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 4GB RAM enough for a MBA? cheesyappleuser MacBook Air 48 Jan 15, 2014 06:22 PM
MBA 2013 w/ 4GB Ram mrplt MacBook Air 15 Dec 28, 2013 12:55 PM
Buy 4gb ram MBA on sale for $950, or pay $1200 for 8gb ram model? Jitster MacBook Air 11 Dec 18, 2013 01:00 PM
MBA with parallels? 4GB Ram enough? jonfarr MacBook Air 39 Jan 28, 2013 06:56 PM
Stock MBA 4gb RAM riley41090 MacBook Air 10 Jun 22, 2012 08:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC