Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sarakn

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 8, 2013
Hi All,
I've always used a PC and ready to step into the mac world. All the systems I've had have been Dells and I currently have a Dell studio XPS desktop and my XPS 16 laptop is about 3 years old. The laptop is not terrible, but it could be quite slow at times and it's starting to look its age. The metal banding on the frame came loose and I need a butterfly clip to hold it in place. :) This laptop has an intel core 2 duo proc @ 2.8 and 8gb ram and runs windows 7 ultimate.

While I don't play a lot of games, I'm an IT consultant and use resource heavy applications. I also travel weekly and I need something lighter because this beast I currently own is killing my shoulder.

Initially, I read so much about the haswell processor and thought to wait until June/July to purchase, but then is that really wise? What does this new processor even offer that would be worth waiting for?

I was thinking of the 15" rMBP with 16gb RAM, 768 gb storage and 2.8 i7 quad core. I could get the 2.7 which is about $200 less, but at this point with the price being $3200, does that $200 really matter? :rolleyes:
Since I need windows for most clients, I would have to use bootcamp, VMware, or parallels (not sure what's better).

I also need to extra room for movies and such and since I won't have a chance to upgrade, might as well max it out and cry later.

What do you guys suggest - buy now or wait?

Last edited:

sarakn

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 8, 2013
It looks like weight will not be a bonus as I just weighed my laptop and it's weighs the same as the mbp - 6.5lbs. oh well.

Arnezie

macrumors 65816
Oct 10, 2011
If you have the cash now buy one. If you don't have cash then save up enoufgh to buy it in June

sarakn

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 8, 2013