Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2013, 01:47 PM   #1
Washac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Gothic 1 and 2 Wineskins ?

Anybody know where I can get Wine wrappers for GOGs Gothic 1 and 2 ?

I tried the ones on The Porting Teams site, which are Crossover wrappers, I hate that program I never did get anything running under it. The wrappers after placing the program just keep telling me no program installed. I assume this is due to using the GOG versions.

Also tried doing a wrapper myself for Gothic 1 using guidelines posted on The Porting Teams site, could'nt get that working either
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Mountain Lion 10.8.3/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; Feb 16, 2013 at 05:01 PM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 05:54 AM   #2
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Found this.

Seems OK for me for the short time I have used it.

SIte to get it from - http://www.paulthetall.com/mac-rpg-games.html

Scroll down choose Gothic > Download > Download now > scroll down choose Slow Download well unless you want to pay that is.

Once downloaded install Gothic into the Wineskin, once installed right click the Gothic icon > Open package > Double click Wineskin Icon > Open Advanced > Browse > drive_c > program files > GoG.com > gothic > system > click on GOTHIC.EXE > choose > Close Wineskin - Play Game.

You may want to play around with screen resolutions etc but at leat it gets the game going.

His Gothic 2 wrapper works also but it needs some wine wrapper tweaking which I do not know enough about to iron out the niggles.


Have fun
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Mountain Lion 10.8.3/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:45 PM   #3
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Amazing Maze of Maize (Corn Labyrinth)
I'm not sure if WINE for OSX is the same thing, but I've had Gothic 1 up and running in Linux perfectly before.

I didn't use a wrapper or any of the prepackaged dealies. Rather, I set up a virtual environment, ported some native .dlls over from Windows, gave Gothic it's own profile, and tweaked and tweaked and tweaked until I managed to get everything working. It wasn't the easiest experience in the world, but it is doable.
Renzatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:04 PM   #4
blesscheese
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central CA
This is what I found to help set up Gothic on Wine (can't remember where I found it):

btw, if you wanna use Wineskin (for Lion users):
Make a Wrapper with W8Wine1.2.3.
winetricks directmusic

Then you need to do some config edits.
The GOTHIC.INI is “system” inside the “Gothic” folder.
Change to there values:
scaleVideos=0
--

playLogoVideos=0
disallowVideoInput=0
--

zVidDevice=0
; ... index of graphic-device beginning with zero.

zVidResFullscreenX=1440
zVidResFullscreenY=900
zVidResFullscreenBPP=32
(set your res here)

zStartupWindowed=0

Setting up Wine is easy! After you play around and fail miserably a couple of times. Once you have to start doing "Winetricks" stuff, I'm useless. But when it works, yee-haw!
blesscheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:05 PM   #5
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by blesscheese View Post
This is what I found to help set up Gothic on Wine (can't remember where I found it):

btw, if you wanna use Wineskin (for Lion users):
Make a Wrapper with W8Wine1.2.3.
winetricks directmusic

Then you need to do some config edits.
The GOTHIC.INI is “system” inside the “Gothic” folder.
Change to there values:
scaleVideos=0
--

playLogoVideos=0
disallowVideoInput=0
--

zVidDevice=0
; ... index of graphic-device beginning with zero.

zVidResFullscreenX=1440
zVidResFullscreenY=900
zVidResFullscreenBPP=32
(set your res here)

zStartupWindowed=0

Setting up Wine is easy! After you play around and fail miserably a couple of times. Once you have to start doing "Winetricks" stuff, I'm useless. But when it works, yee-haw!

I tried this and could not get it working.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Mountain Lion 10.8.3/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:29 PM   #6
blesscheese
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
I tried this and could not get it working.
I think I know your pain. The first coupla' times I tried using Wine, I was there, like, WTF?

Later on, after blowing a couple of hours, I realized it was simpler than I had thought. However, it still is a pretty complex tool. Play around with it, is all I can suggest.

By the way, how are you enjoying the game?
blesscheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:11 AM   #7
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by blesscheese View Post
I think I know your pain. The first coupla' times I tried using Wine, I was there, like, WTF?

Later on, after blowing a couple of hours, I realized it was simpler than I had thought. However, it still is a pretty complex tool. Play around with it, is all I can suggest.

By the way, how are you enjoying the game?
I only played the first little bit upto where you meet the two hunters, the controls sure are a pain, wish I could use a controller for it which is where the gamer came from in the first place. Thing is at the moment I just got Oblivion up and running in Bootcamp and in Cluthz wrapper from The Porting Teams site, I have gotten back into that after a long break from playing it on the PS3.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Mountain Lion 10.8.3/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC