Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:53 PM   #1
AnorexicPig
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
Aperture and iPhoto

Hello,

I just had this small question,like in iPhoto,you go in preferences and uncheck the box so it does not copy the photos in it's own library,ain't a similar option there in aperture ?

I looked around but could not find it.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" with Retina Display- Late 2013 2.4/8/256, iPhone 5 16GB
AnorexicPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:14 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnorexicPig View Post
Hello,

I just had this small question,like in iPhoto,you go in preferences and uncheck the box so it does not copy the photos in it's own library,ain't a similar option there in aperture ?

I looked around but could not find it.
When you Import, there is a selection on the right side of the import menu that let's you select where the image is stored, the Aperture library or where the image is located. It is not in Preferences.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; AppleTV 3; iPad 2, 32GB; 2TB Time Capsule (RIP 9/12); AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; AE; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:42 PM   #3
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
In aperture... there are two basic choices:

Managed originals: stored inside of Aperture's library
Referenced originals: stored where ever you want them

You can mix and match. Be careful if you use referenced originals (or the iPhoto equivalent). If you muck around with your pictures outside of the program (Aperture or iPhoto)... you may confuse your library.

Personally... I have not found a valid reason to ever use my originals manually outside of Aperture. If I want some photos for some specific purpose... I export the pics and use them externally... without messing with my Aperture library.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:55 PM   #4
AnorexicPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
When you Import, there is a selection on the right side of the import menu that let's you select where the image is stored, the Aperture library or where the image is located. It is not in Preferences.
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
In aperture... there are two basic choices:

Managed originals: stored inside of Aperture's library
Referenced originals: stored where ever you want them

You can mix and match. Be careful if you use referenced originals (or the iPhoto equivalent). If you muck around with your pictures outside of the program (Aperture or iPhoto)... you may confuse your library.

Personally... I have not found a valid reason to ever use my originals manually outside of Aperture. If I want some photos for some specific purpose... I export the pics and use them externally... without messing with my Aperture library.

/Jim
Thank You,and I myself prefer to keep pictures inside aperture's library,I just asked out of curiosity.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" with Retina Display- Late 2013 2.4/8/256, iPhone 5 16GB
AnorexicPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC