Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:26 PM   #1
slickr4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Airport not connecting to wireless network...please help!

Hey guys, first time post...and i need some help!

First, i run a wireless network in my apartment using road runner high speed cable internet. i'm using a dlink dgl-4300 wireless router and have pretty much just plug and play with it. my pc works great using it...but suddenly my laptop (ibook) will not connect to the wireless network! the error message i get is:

"There was an error joining the selected airport network"

I have no idea how to troubleshoot this as I am horrible with MAC's, i know virtually nothing about them. I'm running osx 10.3 panther. any possible solutions or options i will try!! thanks!
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:30 PM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
What sort of security does the router have? That message comes up if you don't type in the right password usually.

Also, just so we don't get a bit confused, MAC is a networking acronym that every computer (made by Apple or otherwise) has to uniquely identify itself whereas Mac is an Apple computer, such as your iBook.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:34 PM   #3
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
i don't need to enter a password...well at least i thought i didn't...i'm not sure what security it has...i have nothing set up...like i said i just plugged it in and went wireless...
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:41 PM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
You have no security on your network? Are you sure? I mean, usually there's a password but your machines remember it so you only ever have to put it in once. Are you positive you never had to put in this password/key?

If there has never been a password then there's a chance that someone has logged onto you network and put one on for you (friend or foe, who knows). Are other computers connecting wirelessly okay?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:42 PM   #5
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yeah...my pc connects flawlessly...my xbox connects flawlessly...but my ibook won't...i have no clue why...i don't think i ever put in a password...i plugged it in and got started...
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:47 PM   #6
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Okay, well try deleting the AirPort preferences called com.apple.airport.preferences.plist.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:55 PM   #7
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
where would i find those?
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:58 PM   #8
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:04 PM   #9
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
just so you know...i just completely formatted and reinstalled mac osx and it still didn't work...so i don't know if this will do anything...but i'll try!
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:07 PM   #10
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
hey...i didn't see that file...i have like 20 .plist files but that wasn't one of them...
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:08 PM   #11
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, I agree. It's doubtful it'll work considering a reformat didn't do anything. So, is your card seated properly then? Are you nice and close when you're trying to connect?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:10 PM   #12
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
That location is based on Tiger. Sorry, I thought it'd be the same for Panther. I don't have a version of Panther to go by so maybe just run a search for AirPort and PLIST.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:11 PM   #13
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yeah i'm close...like literally 10 feet or so. i'm doing a software update right now and one of the updates is the airport...so we'll see what happens. i'm pretty sure the airport is plugged in properly because it worked fine with my last router...

it's just such a vague error message...it drives me nuts
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:18 PM   #14
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, it's frustrating. However, a very slightly loose connection between the card and the iBook could bring up these problems so if the update doesn't fix it, then it may be worthwhile taking off the keyboard and having a quick push of the card, just to make sure. I can talk you through this if you like.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:20 PM   #15
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
dude...you're the most help i've had so far...and i really appreciate it
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:24 PM   #16
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
No problem.

Hopefully the update works. If it is a software issue, I can't think why it would have suddenly stopped working though. That's what makes me think that the card may be unseated very slightly which is rare but possible from a bump/small drop or something.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:42 PM   #17
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Hey, no dice on the software update and also no dice on the airport card being loose...i checked it and it was locked in. this is really starting to work on my nerves...

i am in desperate need of ideas...
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 09:55 PM   #18
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, I'm out of ideas for now. Did deleting the preferences do anything?

How about creating a new location and starting again with the connection? I'm really struggling now.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 10:27 PM   #19
AP_piano295
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Id would deffinitely suggest checking how the card is seated my sister got an emac a few months ago and that wouldnt pick up any wireless networks in the area checked the card and it was not plugged properly (took us a while to figure it out because to us it looked as though the card was connected but as it turns out the little connector on the wire you plug in needs to be flush with the card (square part touching the card) but after that it worked fine. That problem and yours dont seem to be quite the same but give it a try find the instructions at apple.com I think it should be easy.

I would also reccomend that you take your book to starbucks or something and find out if the connection problem is exclusive to your wireless network.

good luck
__________________
Smile
AP_piano295 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2005, 05:00 PM   #20
slickr4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
card is in securely...no question about it...simply won't connect...any other advice? i really need it
slickr4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting printer to wireless network naz-dream-boys Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 16, 2014 11:26 AM
Connecting to a WPA2 network with an AirPort card sega dude PowerPC Macs 2 Oct 16, 2013 01:22 AM
Connecting TC To Existing Wireless Network hayleywow Mac Peripherals 7 Apr 1, 2013 11:29 AM
Problems connecting two Airport Express Routers in Home network! cap2587 Mac Peripherals 29 Mar 9, 2013 11:27 AM
Airport extreme: Wireless network within a wireless network brsboarder Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 27, 2012 05:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC