Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2013, 03:07 PM   #1
sarthak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quad Monitor Setup with GTX 670 / GT 120 on a Mac Pro 4,1?

Hi Folks,

Right now I am using a single 27" 2560x1440 display and moving back to smaller but multiple monitors. I am wondering if my current (see sig) Mac Pro 4,1 with the GTX 670 (ZOTAC) and GT 120 will be able to handle 4 x 1080p displays. I will be using the 4 x 24" monitors in portrait mode until I can get a stand for a 2 X 2 configuration. The monitors support DVI only. I will be using them for multitasking and media work.

I have:
- GTX 670 (2x DVI-D, 1x HDMI, 1x DP)
- GT 120 (1x DVI-D, 1x MDP)
- Will buy MDP -> DVI or DP -> DVI adapter if needed
- NOT WILLING TO BUY ANOTHER GRAPHIC CARD.

Will I be able to drive the 4 displays from which one of these 3 configurations?

CONFIGURATION 1


CONFIGURATION 2


CONFIGURATION 3

Last edited by sarthak; Mar 10, 2013 at 04:28 PM.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:12 PM   #2
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Any of those configurations would work, and my suggestion would be to try config 2 if at all possible (i.e. drive everything from the GTX 670). Config 1 would be the second best choice, followed by config 3.
Asgorath is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:14 PM   #3
sarthak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Any of those configurations would work, and my suggestion would be to try config 2 if at all possible (i.e. drive everything from the GTX 670). Config 1 would be the second best choice, followed by config 3.
Nice! Thanks for the reply. I have put the order in for the displays. I'll definitely try driving everything from the GTX 670. I know the 670 is capable of running 4 monitors (or 3 if they are 3D) in Windows with Nvidia Surround but haven't found any information that can prove they work in OS X. I will put in an order for the DP -> DVI, HDMI -> DVI and a MDP -> DVI for testing.

If they can be driven off the single card, then I might be able to do a bit of gaming with the GTX 670. Otherwise, the 670 is a bit overkill for productivity and media work. I might downgrade to 2 X APPLE GT120 cards (or 2X 5770) a few months from now.

Do you know if it makes a difference if it is DVI or DVI-D? The monitors say they use DVI-D.

Last edited by sarthak; Mar 10, 2013 at 06:20 PM.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:33 PM   #4
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
People have definitely confirmed that the Kepler cards can drive 4 displays under OS X using the NVIDIA driver for 10.8.2.

DVI-D means digital only, i.e. you can't drive an analog display from that connector:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

In your case, that won't matter and DVI-D is just fine since you're driving a digital display.
Asgorath is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:35 PM   #5
sarthak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
People have definitely confirmed that the Kepler cards can drive 4 displays under OS X using the NVIDIA driver for 10.8.2.

DVI-D means digital only, i.e. you can't drive an analog display from that connector:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

In your case, that won't matter and DVI-D is just fine since you're driving a digital display.
Good to hear that it might work. I assume these would be sufficient.

sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:54 PM   #6
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Yep, those all look fine. Good luck!
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 04:40 PM   #7
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Why the 2 different DP to DVI adapters.

Remember that DP has a standard single link dvi feed as part of it's "legacy" component. This is merely passed through via a passive adapter. Only if you need to drive a DVI display beyond 1920x1200 do you need the Dual Link Active one.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 04:47 PM   #8
sarthak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Why the 2 different DP to DVI adapters.

Remember that DP has a standard single link dvi feed as part of it's "legacy" component. This is merely passed through via a passive adapter. Only if you need to drive a DVI display beyond 1920x1200 do you need the Dual Link Active one.
When I tried to order, the active MDP - DVI adapter went out of stock so I just got the passive MDP -> DVI adapter. The other one is a full size display port -> DVI adapter because I would like to try all the configurations.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 11:35 AM   #9
sarthak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
So I got the displays and have three of them running currently in portrait mode. The issue is that the display connected to the GT120 is not working, get a BLACK SCREEN WITH CURSOR. Only works when it is in landscape. Googled it and found out that a lot of people seem to have this issue.

They are connected like this at the moment:
GTX 670: DISPLAY LEFT / DISPLAY CENTER (DVI)
GT120: DISPLAY RIGHT

I have tried to connect the RIGHT display via MDP->VGA but still the same thing. I downloaded the Nvidia driver for Mac and that made things worse (graphical bugs and broken UI), so I uninstalled it.

I just can't seem to get the display connected to the GT120 to work in portrait. I am still waiting on getting the adapters so I can use the RIGHT and FAR LEFT display connected to the GTX670.

Any help appreciated.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 08:37 AM   #10
sarthak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
UPDATE:

Removed the GT120 and have two monitors connected to the GTX670 in portrait via DVI. Works just fine. As for the other two displays, I ordered a HDMI->DVI and a DP->DVI cable. Will test once I receive them.

Driven off the singe GTX670 in the system.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2013, 03:52 PM   #11
sarthak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Got the cables. Works just fine, 4 displays are being driven off the single GTX670.

sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Tags
gt 120, gtx 670, mac pro, non-efi, quad monitor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which GTX 670 for Mac Pro 3,1 flyman Mac Pro 22 Oct 26, 2012 10:27 AM
gtx 570 vs 670 rubefink Mac Pro 5 Oct 5, 2012 10:03 AM
Mac Pro 5,1 + GTX 670 + ATI 5870 VRAM Usage Redneck1089 Mac Pro 4 Oct 3, 2012 05:27 PM
Mac Pro 3.1 Octocore, 670 GTX gaming performance? pkshdk Mac Pro 7 Aug 11, 2012 08:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC