Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 12, 2013, 06:15 PM   #1
Orange Furball
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
How can i wipe windows 8 without a screen?

Hello all, i broke my laptop, and sold it on eBay. I had connected it to an external monitor before to click the erase PC option that deletes all user data while keeping Windows 8 on the device (i was thrilled to see this option in windows finally)

So i did it.

Monitor went blank. And i cant see the image on the screen. I restarted a few times and all that but i cant get it to come on the screen to verify the wipe.

Help!!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1363130149067.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	402108  
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”

Last edited by Orange Furball; Mar 16, 2013 at 01:33 PM.
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 06:22 PM   #2
TedM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
That is bad times. Have you tried another monitor. My theory is you succeeded in wiping the computer and its missing drivers which is why the screen won't show up. It really sucks you can't tell what's going on. Thank god replacement screens aren't too bad.
__________________
http://www.yourpoetic.com/
TedM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 07:07 PM   #3
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Quote:
Originally Posted by TedM View Post
That is bad times. Have you tried another monitor. My theory is you succeeded in wiping the computer and its missing drivers which is why the screen won't show up. It really sucks you can't tell what's going on. Thank god replacement screens aren't too bad.
It cant be missing drivers because i used the built in feature to only remove user programs and files not drivers.

I cant replace the screen because i already sold it and bought another laptop :/
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 09:55 AM   #4
spencers
macrumors 68020
 
spencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Got access to another laptop/Windows computer? Put the drive in it and reinstall Windows
spencers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 04:46 PM   #5
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Pull the hard drive out, stick it in an enclosure, plug it into another machine, wipe it, boot from it, install Windows, put it back in the laptop. Result!

If you didn't encrypt your data I'd recommend zeroing out the drive when you wipe it too so your data can't be recovered.
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 09:08 PM   #6
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0dev View Post
Pull the hard drive out, stick it in an enclosure, plug it into another machine, wipe it, boot from it, install Windows, put it back in the laptop. Result!

If you didn't encrypt your data I'd recommend zeroing out the drive when you wipe it too so your data can't be recovered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencers View Post
Got access to another laptop/Windows computer? Put the drive in it and reinstall Windows
How can i do this without disks? Its Windows 8 were talking about, Windows 8 is a diskless world :sly:
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 09:47 PM   #7
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange Furball View Post
How can i do this without disks? Its Windows 8 were talking about, Windows 8 is a diskless world :sly:
What media is it on? If you have to rely on an installation partition on the hard drive then it should be easy enough if you boot from that drive on another computer, yeah. Don't wipe the drive if you do it this way though obviously.
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 10:44 PM   #8
cuestakid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Fran
here are direct links to various Windows 8 installers.

http://www.sajedul.com/2012/10/windo...-download.html


you can download and burn one of those to a DVD or usb drive.

Note these are the generic installers, so any additional special applications that came with the machine wont be there (you will likely have drivers that will work just fine).
__________________
Mac Mini 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7,16GB RAM, 1TB HD Apple TV Hockey PuckiPhone 5S 32GB Verizon iPad3 WiFi 32GBSeagate ThunderboltDell U2711
cuestakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 01:21 AM   #9
waloshin
macrumors 68030
 
waloshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: in my world.
Take the hard drive out and smash it.
__________________
Best camera lenses for real estate agents
[/B][/URL]2008 Macbook Unibody 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo
waloshin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 09:26 AM   #10
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Quote:
Originally Posted by waloshin View Post
Take the hard drive out and smash it.
This will happen soon if i don't figure this out
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:33 AM   #11
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to roadbloc
Quote:
Originally Posted by waloshin View Post
Take the hard drive out and smash it.
This. Or at least take it out and shove it in another computer that has a working screen.
__________________
roadbloc is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 12:45 PM   #12
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
All of my other computers can't boot off of this. I have one more to try but all others failed so far
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:12 AM   #13
Zombie Acorn
macrumors 65816
 
Zombie Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Have you tried hooking a keyboard and mouse up and closing the lid after powering on? It might auto default to the external.
Zombie Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:17 AM   #14
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Acorn View Post
Have you tried hooking a keyboard and mouse up and closing the lid after powering on? It might auto default to the external.
That puts it into sleep mode :/
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:40 PM   #15
Zombie Acorn
macrumors 65816
 
Zombie Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange Furball View Post
That puts it into sleep mode :/
Sleep mode is typically a Windows feature, are u powering it all the way off before trying this? Do you get a splash screen?

I'm talking about hitting power and closing the lid immediately.
Zombie Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 01:20 PM   #16
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Acorn View Post
Sleep mode is typically a Windows feature, are u powering it all the way off before trying this? Do you get a splash screen?

I'm talking about hitting power and closing the lid immediately.
Ill try this now then
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 01:26 PM   #17
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Thank you. My god thank you!!


Never mind. Cant get past the attempting repairs thing. I went to advanced and then to continue to windows 8. I'm just stuck in a loop. Crap
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1363458406071.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	55.3 KB
ID:	402832  
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”

Last edited by Orange Furball; Mar 16, 2013 at 01:32 PM.
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot Windows or Windows DVD - Black screen! estutmirleid Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Oct 12, 2013 12:00 PM
Windows 7 Black Screen Draeconis Mac Pro 6 Aug 6, 2013 09:28 AM
Windows 7 Black Screen RRSP Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jul 16, 2013 06:46 PM
Windows 7 bootcamp froze during windows update. Stuck at black screen. HELP! minifridge1138 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Nov 22, 2012 09:36 AM
windows 8 and touch screen jjnewb MacBook Air 4 Jul 30, 2012 08:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC