Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2013, 05:33 PM   #1
BigJohno
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
10.8.3 600 series Nividia

Is it safe to upgrade from 10 2 to 10 3 with a 670 installed?
BigJohno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 06:14 PM   #2
sarthak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
It's safe. Running it right now. Except I seem to be getting this weird message in NVIDIA CUDA.

There is no newer version available.


Last edited by sarthak; Mar 14, 2013 at 06:27 PM.
sarthak is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 06:30 PM   #3
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Running a 660 Ti here on 10.8.2 - was going to wait but if you guys feel it is safe to update, I will.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 06:37 PM   #4
BigJohno
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
My only concern is the cuda thing. I need to use it for AE and I don't want to cripple the app because i'm inpatient.
__________________
Late 2013 RMBP, iPhone 6, iPad air
Flickr
500px
BigJohno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 06:40 PM   #5
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by mseth View Post
It's safe. Running it right now. Except I seem to be getting this weird message in NVIDIA CUDA.

There is no newer version available.

Image
Yeah. I updated to 10.8.3 with my dual 670s and running fine so far. I am also getting the CUDA update but 5.0.37 is the latest update for OSX.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 06:41 PM   #6
sarthak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJohno View Post
My only concern is the cuda thing. I need to use it for AE and I don't want to cripple the app because i'm inpatient.
I removed the CUDA preference pane and installed CUDA driver again. Get the same "UPDATE" message. Pops up when you login, quite annoying.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 10:31 PM   #7
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
we're going to have to just sit tight and wait for nvidia to give us an update. May as well uninstall this one sense it is rendered useless and just serves as an annoyance.
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 01:51 AM   #8
tomvos
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: TheStudio
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJohno View Post
My only concern is the cuda thing. I need to use it for AE and I don't want to cripple the app because i'm inpatient.
The CUDA drivers depends on a matching video card driver as its counterpart. If you update your system to 10.8.3 then the video driver has a higher version number than the CUDA driver — thus making CUDA at least unstable, but more likely completely disables all CUDA functionality. OpenCL might still work.

So, if you depend on CUDA for your work, best advise is to stay with 10.8.2 and the 10.8.2 WebDriver from NVidia for a few days longer. Based on the pattern of earlier Mac OS X releases, I think it is safe to assume that NVidia will release an updated CUDA Driver in a few days from now.

---

Update: Here's a semi-official statement in the NVidia forum concerning CUDA drivers for 10.8.3.
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...c-os-x-10-8-3/
Looks like we don't have to wait very long.

Last edited by tomvos; Mar 15, 2013 at 04:27 AM. Reason: Added link to NVidia Forum:
tomvos is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 08:06 AM   #9
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
The new 5.0.45 version of the CUDA driver is now available from the Nvidia website http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...45-driver.html

There is no newer version of the Quadro & GeForce drivers than that which ships with 10.8.3.
nigelbb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 09:50 AM   #10
sarthak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
The new 5.0.45 version of the CUDA driver is now available from the Nvidia website http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...45-driver.html

There is no newer version of the Quadro & GeForce drivers than that which ships with 10.8.3.
It seems that has fixed the "update" issue. Works just fine now.
sarthak is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:20 AM   #11
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by mseth View Post
It seems that has fixed the "update" issue. Works just fine now.
Thanks for your link! Any idea why no updates from the control panel in sys_prefs? Cheers and have a good tweakend!
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:30 AM   #12
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
The new 5.0.45 version of the CUDA driver is now available from the Nvidia website http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...45-driver.html
Thanks for the link! Updated both the GPU driver and CUDA!

Quote:
There is no newer version of the Quadro & GeForce drivers than that which ships with 10.8.3.
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 600 series for post production NoSole Mac Pro 4 Mar 18, 2013 10:29 PM
NIVIDIA GeForce Bronz iMac 3 Jan 6, 2013 04:51 AM
$600 for iPhone 4S? Fernandez21 iPhone 3 Aug 11, 2012 12:56 PM
run Imac's OS at 800 x 600 resolution in 800 x 600 window on imac display. rameface iMac 0 Jul 23, 2012 08:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC