Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2013, 06:51 PM   #1
AtmChm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Help - want to record TV from antenna reception

Hardware: Mac Mini 2.4 GHz core 2 duo, Elgato EyeTv Hybrid 2008

I have been able to record TV from a charter cable connection just fine, but would like to 'cut the cable' and just go with an antenna.

Swapped the cable cord for an RCA antenna. We get several digital channels just fine on the TV. However, the Elgato software says the signal is 0% from the same connection. I tried a couple of different "amplifiers" in line, with improvement in signal. We even tried an "HDTV" antenna (one of those flat square things), and that signal was worse on the TV.

Any help on how I solve this?? I mean, we get great picture quality with the antenna connected to our Sony Bravia TV, but when the antenna is connected to the EyeTV, there is no signal at all.
__________________
MBA; Mac Pro;iMac; Mini; Cube; G5 & G4 towers
AtmChm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 09:22 PM   #2
FreakinEurekan
macrumors Demi-God
 
FreakinEurekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Should work - are you following these steps?
Quote:
Digital Inputs: Digital Antenna (ATSC)

Connect the antenna to the tuner input of EyeTV Hybrid, using a coaxial cable.

If the EyeTV Setup Assistant is not showing, then please select it from the Help menu.

When prompted, select "Digital - Antenna" as your service, and then Auto Tune. The Auto Tune process will search for channels that the antenna can receive.
FreakinEurekan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 07:50 AM   #3
AtmChm
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreakinEurekan View Post
Should work - are you following these steps?
Yes, followed all that exactly. Also, when I go into preferences and select device, then signal it shows both strength and quality as 0%. Moving the antenna and/or using a signal amplifier did nothing.

I've e-mailed Elgato tech support a couple of days ago, but have gotten no replay at this point.
__________________
MBA; Mac Pro;iMac; Mini; Cube; G5 & G4 towers
AtmChm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 09:01 AM   #4
davids8477
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtmChm View Post
Yes, followed all that exactly. Also, when I go into preferences and select device, then signal it shows both strength and quality as 0%. Moving the antenna and/or using a signal amplifier did nothing.

I've e-mailed Elgato tech support a couple of days ago, but have gotten no replay at this point.
I assume you did a channel scan?
davids8477 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 10:19 AM   #5
AtmChm
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by davids8477 View Post
I assume you did a channel scan?
Yes, with zero channels found.
__________________
MBA; Mac Pro;iMac; Mini; Cube; G5 & G4 towers
AtmChm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 01:19 PM   #6
Mike Oxard
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I bought an EyeTV Hybrid in 2009 and it failed after a little bit of use, it wouldn't find channels or show any signal strength IIRC. I had a friend try it on their mac and they confirmed the problem. I got it replaced by the supplier and had no problem since.
Mike Oxard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 02:11 PM   #7
AtmChm
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Oxard View Post
I bought an EyeTV Hybrid in 2009 and it failed after a little bit of use, it wouldn't find channels or show any signal strength IIRC. I had a friend try it on their mac and they confirmed the problem. I got it replaced by the supplier and had no problem since.
OK, well, the thing that is strange is that the EyeTV hybrid get a signal from the cable TV connection, but not from the TV antenna. So, I think the EyeTV hybrid is working. However, when I plug the TV antenna into the TV, I get a clear signal on several channels, so, I'm just wondering - does the EyeTV need a stronger signal than my Sony TV does to get a picture? As I mentioned above, even when using a signal amplifier, the EyeTV comes up with zero signal. Or, if I get a signal from the antenna on the TV, should the EyeTV also be able to get a signal?
__________________
MBA; Mac Pro;iMac; Mini; Cube; G5 & G4 towers
AtmChm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 05:59 PM   #8
AtmChm
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Problem solved!

I ended up calling Elgato tech support this afternoon. They were not sure what the problem could be either after several checks of different things. But then the tech had me download a utility to remove EyeTV software completely, reboot and then download the latest version from their website. After doing that, the autotune found all the digital channels we have and all is working perfectly. So, all it took was a software reinstall, with help from the Elgato tech support, which was great considering I had purchased my EyeTV Hybrid several years ago (I have the 2008 version)!
__________________
MBA; Mac Pro;iMac; Mini; Cube; G5 & G4 towers
AtmChm is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 03:26 PM   #9
JAT
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
A tip. If you find a version of EyeTV software that seems to function well, keep it. They seldom have anything exciting in updates, but many of them seem to have issues.
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTA antenna Q's sidefx Apple TV and Home Theater 30 Sep 30, 2013 07:53 PM
Antenna location? nelly22 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 27, 2012 02:36 AM
4S vs 5 antenna dgr874 iPhone 9 Nov 26, 2012 05:19 AM
Antenna reception better on iPhone 5? koigirl iPhone 5 Oct 7, 2012 05:17 PM
Is this going to be antenna gate all over again? richpuer iPhone 6 Sep 18, 2012 07:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC