Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

snowmoon

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 6, 2005
Albany, NY
I don't have a iPod yet, so I have been relying on the eye and judgement of others, all of whom have been happy with the results. I am not a programmer or someone interested in spearheading changes to applications already out there, if you have a favorite app, forward this thread to the author and see what happens.

I WILL NOT ANSWER NON-TECHNICAL QUESTIONS ABOUT THESE APPS OR WHAT I HAVE DONE. So don't ask me to help you unless you know what you are doing already!

My goal was to create high quality video that looked GOOOOOOOOD when hooked to a TV, somewhere between broadcast and DVD quality while keeping the bitrate to a reasonable ammount. Secondary is the quality when viewed on the iPod screen. It looks like that "reasonable" ammount is falling into the range of 9-13mb/minute ( VCD bitrates ). You can go lower, but you will loose quality in some scenes, but not all.