Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:07 AM   #1
Flavioparentiq
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Roma
GTX Titan in Mac Pro Late 2009 works fine!

Dual Nehalem 2.26ghz
16gb ram
2 Hd

I am moving a mac pro to a gaming machine.
The computer is now working under windows 8. NO POWER HASSLE WHATSOEVER. No power setup. Just a standard 6 to 8 pin adaptor.

I believe this is going to be the new official mac pro top card in next models. Even esthetically they match.

Here are the pictures.

Any questions are welcome.

Flavio
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01229.JPG
Views:	634
Size:	749.6 KB
ID:	406016   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01228.JPG
Views:	311
Size:	787.1 KB
ID:	406017   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01226.JPG
Views:	237
Size:	826.1 KB
ID:	406018  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01225.JPG
Views:	544
Size:	771.6 KB
ID:	406019  

Last edited by Flavioparentiq; Apr 3, 2013 at 10:28 AM.
Flavioparentiq is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:33 AM   #2
aquarich
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
where..... system profile shot? T- T~
aquarich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:39 AM   #3
Flavioparentiq
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Roma
Sorry i am quite a noob on this side. Is this what you mean?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01231.JPG
Views:	1100
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	406021  
Flavioparentiq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:45 AM   #4
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavioparentiq View Post
Sorry i am quite a noob on this side. Is this what you mean?
He meant, upgrade osx to 10.8.4 beta, reboot and check if titan work

wait
Quote:
Sorry i am quite a noob
No need to try, other tried, it works.
netkas is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:49 AM   #5
Flavioparentiq
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Roma
As you can see in the post, i'm on windows.
Unofficial osx drivers for the titan are not out yet so I prefer to wait.

The purpose of the post is to make everyone sure that this card is power compliant with the mac pros.
Flavioparentiq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:50 AM   #6
mseth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Shouldn't you use the Titan in the bottom PCI-E slot because it's X16... while the top slots are X4?
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 09:54 AM   #7
Flavioparentiq
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Roma
Quote:
Originally Posted by mseth View Post
Shouldn't you use the Titan in the bottom PCI-E slot because it's X16... while the top slots are X4?
I can see there are 2 16x and 2 4x. Its on the second 16x so i give it a bit of air underneath. Correct me if i'm wrong
Flavioparentiq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 10:06 AM   #8
mseth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavioparentiq View Post
I can see there are 2 16x and 2 4x. Its on the second 16x so i give it a bit of air underneath. Correct me if i'm wrong
You're probably right.

Quote:
The Mac Pro (Early 2009), Mac Pro (Mid 2010), and Mac Pro (Mid 2012) computers implement PCI Express revision 2.0 for all four slots. Slots 1 and 2 are x16 slots, and slots 3 and 4 are x4 slots.
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 04:09 PM   #9
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavioparentiq View Post
As you can see in the post, i'm on windows.
Unofficial osx drivers for the titan are not out yet so I prefer to wait.

The purpose of the post is to make everyone sure that this card is power compliant with the mac pros.
As stated in response to the other thread, the card is NOT compliant with a Mac Pro limit of 225w on a single PCI-E slot with 75 from the slot and 150 from the two plugs. The Titan has a stated draw of 250 and has tested actually higher than that. 271 in one review at peak usage. You are risking cooking something. Try running a GPU stress test at 100% for 24 hours or render a 30 minute multilayer 1080p60 HD video with numerous effects and let us know how it goes.

There is more than one horror story from quite sophisticated Mac Pro users who don't think what you are doing is a safe bet. You may get away with it for a period of time and then...the smell of smoke. I did it over two decades ago on an original IBM PC. You don't forget it.

10.8.4 has a driver that will enable the Titan, but that doesn't mean hardware running 10.8.4 will power it. I would love to have one, but not at the risk of frying a 5,000 USD Mac Pro. Multiple huge hard drives/SSD's, a CPU swap for the 3690, a 670 SC, and additional upgrades/mods were acceptable. I'm not convinced this one is without additional power.
xav8tor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 05:51 PM   #10
Flavioparentiq
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Roma
I just ran a 1 hour stess test with furmark. Perfectly Fine.

I will update this thread every now and then to update everyone about the card.

Cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
As stated in response to the other thread, the card is NOT compliant with a Mac Pro limit of 225w on a single PCI-E slot with 75 from the slot and 150 from the two plugs. The Titan has a stated draw of 250 and has tested actually higher than that. 271 in one review at peak usage. You are risking cooking something. Try running a GPU stress test at 100% for 24 hours or render a 30 minute multilayer 1080p60 HD video with numerous effects and let us know how it goes.

There is more than one horror story from quite sophisticated Mac Pro users who don't think what you are doing is a safe bet. You may get away with it for a period of time and then...the smell of smoke. I did it over two decades ago on an original IBM PC. You don't forget it.

10.8.4 has a driver that will enable the Titan, but that doesn't mean hardware running 10.8.4 will power it. I would love to have one, but not at the risk of frying a 5,000 USD Mac Pro. Multiple huge hard drives/SSD's, a CPU swap for the 3690, a 670 SC, and additional upgrades/mods were acceptable. I'm not convinced this one is without additional power.
Flavioparentiq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 06:16 PM   #11
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Download 10.8.4 Beta and enjoy it in OSX as well.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 07:31 PM   #12
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Download 10.8.4 Beta and enjoy it in OSX as well.
But for how long? You are one of THE GPU gurus I was referring to that knows these cards, Mac Pro limitations etc. Is it really possible to run this thing frequently maxed out without supplemental power?
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 07:50 PM   #13
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
But for how long? You are one of THE GPU gurus I was referring to that knows these cards, Mac Pro limitations etc. Is it really possible to run this thing frequently maxed out without supplemental power?
I don't know the answer to this.

I used it with an external supply as I have one sitting next to my testing rig.

We'll find out as more people try I guess.

I can't advocate it as I don't want the responsibility of blowing up even 1 logic board due to my advice.

A foolish man in Germany had me mod a GTX580 lightning which required 2 @ 8 pins. Despite my entreaties to the contrary, he used it with 6 to 8 adapters.

Then he played games in Windows and OVERCLOCKED AND OVERVOLTED it. (Yes, I know...) He then wrote me a day later surprised that his machine was having significant issues, not only with 580 but also with his RAID card. I am 100% certain that he drew too much current through card, when it didn't get enough from the 6 pins, it drew it through the PCIE bus and burned a trace there, killing a power channel in his PCIE bus, which killed his RAID card. A mess.

So, it is possible to really screw things up. But he wasn't asking for it, he was BEGGING for it.

As with anything, YMMV, if your mac Pro is maxed out and in a hot room and has cards above and below each other, you have less headroom than someone with a single Quad core and no other cards.

The other point I can make is that I have a 3,1 and a 4,1 and the 3,1 will cut out much more quickly with Furmark at full screen than the 4,1 will.

The 3,1 will even crap out doing that test with a 570, which in theory should be OK. So, in my case, my 3,1 has less headroom than a newer 4,1. The older 4,1 was also crapping out quite a bit before slot totally fried running 580 with 6 to 8 pin. The reason I don't popint that story out more is that that machine had tested a few HUNDRED cards before dying, so slot may have had more wear than most. But sparks came out and SLOT 1 is now capped off.

To be safe & secure, use proper power.

If you enjoy living on the edge, use adapters and keep your fingers crossed. But I don't recommend it.
MacVidCards is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 08:10 PM   #14
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
I don't know the answer to this.

I used it with an external supply as I have one sitting next to my testing rig.

We'll find out as more people try I guess.

I can't advocate it as I don't want the responsibility of blowing up even 1 logic board due to my advice.

A foolish man in Germany had me mod a GTX580 lightning which required 2 @ 8 pins. Despite my entreaties to the contrary, he used it with 6 to 8 adapters.

Then he played games in Windows and OVERCLOCKED AND OVERVOLTED it. (Yes, I know...) He then wrote me a day later surprised that his machine was having significant issues, not only with 580 but also with his RAID card. I am 100% certain that he drew too much current through card, when it didn't get enough from the 6 pins, it drew it through the PCIE bus and burned a trace there, killing a power channel in his PCIE bus, which killed his RAID card. A mess.

So, it is possible to really screw things up. But he wasn't asking for it, he was BEGGING for it.

As with anything, YMMV, if your mac Pro is maxed out and in a hot room and has cards above and below each other, you have less headroom than someone with a single Quad core and no other cards.

The other point I can make is that I have a 3,1 and a 4,1 and the 3,1 will cut out much more quickly with Furmark at full screen than the 4,1 will.

The 3,1 will even crap out doing that test with a 570, which in theory should be OK. So, in my case, my 3,1 has less headroom than a newer 4,1. The older 4,1 was also crapping out quite a bit before slot totally fried running 580 with 6 to 8 pin. The reason I don't popint that story out more is that that machine had tested a few HUNDRED cards before dying, so slot may have had more wear than most. But sparks came out and SLOT 1 is now capped off.

To be safe & secure, use proper power.

If you enjoy living on the edge, use adapters and keep your fingers crossed. But I don't recommend it.
I remember that 580 thread over on netkas. That was absolutely crazy.

Some reviewers have made what appear to be earnest attempts to derive draw by the card and no one is getting numbers less than 225 but more than one is getting 250 or even more. With heavy duty HD rendering and running 3D simulations full bore over and over, I'm leaning towards a supplemental PSU, maybe giving up the second optical drive for one of the better 5.25 450W boosters. I use that redundant DVD drive once a year, if that. However, with all other bays and a couple of slots filled, and a W3690, I'm hesistant to ask for more from a 4.1.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2013, 08:26 PM   #15
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
I remember that 580 thread over on netkas. That was absolutely crazy.

Some reviewers have made what appear to be earnest attempts to derive draw by the card and no one is getting numbers less than 225 but more than one is getting 250 or even more. With heavy duty HD rendering and running 3D simulations full bore over and over, I'm leaning towards a supplemental PSU, maybe giving up the second optical drive for one of the better 5.25 450W boosters. I use that redundant DVD drive once a year, if that. However, with all other bays and a couple of slots filled, and a W3690, I'm hesistant to ask for more from a 4.1.
The auxuiliary PSU is probably the best thing if you want to run one or more power hungry GPUs in the Mac Pro.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 05:38 AM   #16
Flavioparentiq
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Roma
Techpowerup:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N..._Titan/25.html

At consumption peak the gtxtitan consumes 28 watts more than the gtx570 1.5gb (wich is a known safe mac pro card): 238W vs 210W

this are the Guru 3d power consumption calculations:

Measured power consumption single GeForce GTX Titan

System in IDLE = 136W
System Wattage with GPU in FULL Stress = 372W
Difference (GPU load) = 236W
Add average IDLE wattage ~15W
Subjective obtained GPU power consumption = ~ 251 Watts

Measured power consumption single GTX 570

System in IDLE = 181W
System Wattage with GPU in FULL Stress = 369W
Difference (GPU load) = 188W
Add average IDLE wattage ~ 25W
Subjective obtained GPU power consumption = ~ 213 Watts


Under Full stress the 2 cards are alike.
My bet (I know it is a bet, but i would say a safe one) is that the gtx titan runs fine on a mac pro without psu if you don't overload it with hdds and other pci card.
Flavioparentiq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 05:47 AM   #17
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Please don't take us back into this debate…PLEASE
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 10:32 AM   #18
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Oh, I'll bite on this one - it is too much fun not to.

He is playing with the numbers to make his case verging on misrepresentation. Just read the link and do some kindergarten math. 238-225 at peak under Crysis 2 equals 13w above rated Mac Pro limits. Max under Furmark was "only" 263w. Do the math on that. Check out what TechPowerUp got in their testing at max. Run XP 10 Pro at extreme settings for hours while running uncompressed 1080p video capture, then render it all in a twenty to thirty video/ four to six audio, layered timeline in Vegas Pro and let me know how it goes. Oh yeah, be sure to remove all those non-essential things that "load up" a Mac Pro like HD's, SSD's, Raid cards, video capture boards, audio i/o, etc.

I don't even know more than the bare definition of what a trace is, or creep either, but I know running underpowered components, especially should you choose those with higher than ref clocks, will make pink smoke come out the back of a computer and make the room smell kinda funky for a couple days.
xav8tor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 01:18 PM   #19
kalex
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Please don't take us back into this debate…PLEASE
Too late. Madness has started again. Time for popcorn
kalex is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 02:11 PM   #20
IceMacMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavioparentiq View Post
As you can see in the post, i'm on windows.
Unofficial osx drivers for the titan are not out yet so I prefer to wait.

The purpose of the post is to make everyone sure that this card is power compliant with the mac pros.
And that answers a BIG question of mine. Awesome! Edit: Or upon reading the thread...not so awesome.
__________________
MacPro MacPro 4,1 8core 2.66GHZ; 32 GB RAM; 12TB RAID; ATI4870, NvidiaGT120 30" ACD + 2 23" ACD
MBPro 2011 15" 8GB iPad2 iPodTouch 4th gen Other Macs, iPods

Last edited by IceMacMac; Apr 4, 2013 at 02:23 PM.
IceMacMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 08:25 PM   #21
Tutor
macrumors 65816
 
Tutor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suburb of Birmingham, AL - Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
As Smokey the Bear says, "Only you can prevent home/studio/office fires."

By

(1) for 1 or 2 Titans, getting something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104054

(2) for up to four Titans, getting something like this:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...2_DESKTOP.html

(3) for up to eight Titans, getting something like these: http://www.cubixgpu.com/Files/Products/4UupJSfqq.pdf from --- (3a.)(up to 4) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...DESKTOP_4.html or
(3b.)(up to 8 - takes >1 internal PCI-e slots or can be used by 1-4 systems at once) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...gments_4x.html
__________________
21 tweaked/multiOS rendering systems: oTitan RD TE>58; 86K+ CUDA cores; 13K+ ATI Stream PUs; 206 CPU cores. CB11.5-48.5 Win; CB15-3,791 Win; GB2-58K+ Lnx; GB3-71K+ Lnx/49K+ OSX; LuxMark's Sala-12K+.

Last edited by Tutor; Apr 4, 2013 at 08:34 PM.
Tutor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 08:41 PM   #22
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tutor View Post
By

(1) for 1 or 2 Titans, getting something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104054

(2) for up to four Titans, getting something like this:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...2_DESKTOP.html

(3) for up to eight Titans, getting something like these: http://www.cubixgpu.com/Files/Products/4UupJSfqq.pdf from --- (3a.)(up to 4) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...DESKTOP_4.html or
(3b.)(up to 8 - takes >1 internal PCI-e slots or can be used by 1-4 systems at once) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...gments_4x.html
For that price you can just pick up a few more Mac Pros and then have the extra raw CPU power lol.

This is the one I'm running, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817101044.

Dr. Stealth is running the FSP booser http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ht=gtx+680+fly
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 08:44 PM   #23
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tutor View Post
By

(1) for 1 or 2 Titans, getting something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104054

(2) for up to four Titans, getting something like this:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...2_DESKTOP.html

(3) for up to eight Titans, getting something like these: http://www.cubixgpu.com/Files/Products/4UupJSfqq.pdf from --- (3a.)(up to 4) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...DESKTOP_4.html or
(3b.)(up to 8 - takes >1 internal PCI-e slots or can be used by 1-4 systems at once) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...gments_4x.html
Thanks Tutor. Your chosen nick is certainly appropriate. You guys should read his explanation of Titan tech on another thread here. I already had spotted the booster. Now I'm just about ready to pull the trigger on a Titan to hold me until/if Mr. Cook makes good on his promise. 4K/UHD is starting to look feasible. Now Sharp just has to start shipping that affordable (cough) monitor.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 09:02 PM   #24
Tutor
macrumors 65816
 
Tutor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suburb of Birmingham, AL - Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
GPU rendering power so dwarfs that of the CPU that its "lol."

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
For that price you can just pick up a few more Mac Pros and then have the extra raw CPU power lol.

This is the one I'm running, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817101044.
I didn't include this one because it's been discontinued.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Dr. Stealth is running the FSP booser http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ht=gtx+680+fly
My no.1 (for 1-2 Titans) is the FSP Booster. See the newegg URL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
For that price you can just pick up a few more Mac Pros and then have the extra raw CPU power lol.
My advice for going beyond 2 Titans was tailored to and intended for Mac users whose systems are PCI-e slot challenged. If you want to stick with the Mac Pro and have more than two Titans running in tandem, the external PCI-e chassis offers the best speed solution (PCI-e currently excels over all other connection solutions) and they'll cost you dearly, but the rendering speed gain is certainly worth it if you're using CUDA applications (one Titan's CUDA rendering ability > ten E5-2687Ws*/, and I'd hazard to say that one E5-2687W is faster than any one CPU you can get in a Mac Pro today). So if you put 4 Titans in that $2.1k box sold by BHphoto and connect it to your Mac Pro with a Titan in the lowest slot and a Titan in the next higher slot (powering them by the FPS booster) and put that interconnect cable in the highest slot (if your Mac Pro has all PCI-e 2 slots), then connect to another 4 Titans in the chassis, then you got the rendering ability > sixty E5-2687Ws, excluding the power of the CPUs in your Mac Pro - all for $8.2K additional ($1k for each of six Titans, $2.1k for the chassis, and <$100 for the FPS Booster). That's serious savings and performance. How much would 30 dual E5-2687w systems cost? I bet its not $8.2k but over 25x that much. In addition to my 4 Mac Pros, most of my systems are self-builds and they are not as PCI-e challenged - I can get four GTX Titans or four GTX ...s in almost all of them. I have four Titans in one and four GTX 580s (the overclocked versions that take 2x8 and 1x6 power connectors) in each of another two and four GTX 480s in another and four GTX 295s in another. I can't do that in any of my Mac Pros. But for rendering power/speed, I'm considering consolidations using chassis because that's a lot faster than network rendering.

*/ this rendering metric is just a manifestation of CUDA's compute capability being 10x that of a 2687w, so this metric applies to things other than just rendering. Visit [ http://www.nvidia.com/docs/IO/123576...fqmvqdmgszkgyg ] to see if the applications that you use can benefit from this enhancement and multiple CUDA cards - keep in mind that new applications and enhancements to already CUDA aware apps are being made continually.

PS (1) - If you're going with the OC'ed Titans, I'd recommend going with the Cubix GPU-XPANDER DESKTOP 4 chassis for about $700 more because of its having a 1200 watt vs. a 1000 watt PSU in the Dynapower USA Netstor NA250A TurboBox PCI Express Expansion Box with Extra Power Connector; and using both the Mac Pro and the FSP booster to power the two internal Titan cards. Moreover, for that extra $700 you'll get x16, rather than x8, slots.

PS (2) - Also, to get full rendering power, see post #564 here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...333421&page=23. Thus, you may have to wait until Mac drivers and Mac tweaking software arrive from Nvidia to get the full level of performance on the Mac side, but you may be able to get that level now in Bootcamp if both Nvidia's Control Panel software and PrecisionX ver. 4.00 work in BootCamp.
__________________
21 tweaked/multiOS rendering systems: oTitan RD TE>58; 86K+ CUDA cores; 13K+ ATI Stream PUs; 206 CPU cores. CB11.5-48.5 Win; CB15-3,791 Win; GB2-58K+ Lnx; GB3-71K+ Lnx/49K+ OSX; LuxMark's Sala-12K+.

Last edited by Tutor; Apr 5, 2013 at 05:47 AM. Reason: footnote and PS
Tutor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 09:57 PM   #25
elvisizer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
re:tutor's math

the ability to grasp that much GPGPU power for that little money makes me worry for crypto keys everywhere, first. people have never been able to get supercomputing-level power for so little $$ before.

but then I drool over the VFX madness that people like ILM will be able to produce with power like that.
I worked at ILM when the first GPU-rendered scenes were done . . . they did part of the fire for the inferi cave scenes in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire with a few GPU's sitting in some workstations in a corner of the datacenter. by the time I left, a decent part of the datacenter was being repurposed to house PCI enclosures for gpu rendering arrays. i'm sure that trend has only continued since!
elvisizer is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Tags
gaming, gtx, gtx titan, mac, mac pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 x GTX Titan in Mac Pro 5,1? 5050 Mac Pro 23 Aug 13, 2014 03:32 AM
Help with 2009 Mac Pro and Titan Black peter55 Mac Pro 8 May 1, 2014 12:52 PM
Running a GTX 480 on Mac Pro 2009 Acsriot Mac Pro 2 Jul 4, 2013 03:40 PM
Upgrading to Nvidia GTX 470 on 2009 mac pro - many problems? nigel1210 Mac Pro 2 Jun 15, 2012 08:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC