Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 13, 2013, 11:46 AM   #1
Stephiebby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Need help creating a 3d logo in AE CS6

Hello,

My name is Stephanie and I'm trying to make a logo for a friend of mine in After Effects CS6. I have only been using this program for about a month so I still do not know everything about it, but I'm slowly learning more and more.

Anyways, I finished creating the logo in Photoshop, saved it both as a jpg and as a psd file. I looked up some tutorials on how to make text 3d in AE but I've found that since it is not a text object anymore that under "Geometry Options" there is no option to bevel or extrude, as all of the tutorials I looked at used this method.

Is there a way that I can take this basic black wording over a white background (which I will eventually make transparent) and make it 3d with depth?

I apologize if this is not the right section to ask this but I haven't used these forums too much. Also I said, I tried looking around for the answer but I don't want to spend hours looking if it cannot be done.

Thank you!
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:02 PM   #2
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
You need to make it transparent now in Photoshop. It might be a background layer now if you merged it, so you just need to select it in the layers box and make it a layer. Just use the Color Range feature, select the white, and it should do it very cleanly without any issue.

After that convert it to a shape and you should then have the bevel/extrude features in AE once you reimport it.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:07 PM   #3
Stephiebby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
You need to make it transparent now in Photoshop. It might be a background layer now if you merged it, so you just need to select it in the layers box and make it a layer. Just use the Color Range feature, select the white, and it should do it very cleanly without any issue.

After that convert it to a shape and you should then have the bevel/extrude features in AE once you reimport it.
Alright, I'll try that now and see if that works. Thanks!
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:21 PM   #4
Stephiebby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
You need to make it transparent now in Photoshop. It might be a background layer now if you merged it, so you just need to select it in the layers box and make it a layer. Just use the Color Range feature, select the white, and it should do it very cleanly without any issue.

After that convert it to a shape and you should then have the bevel/extrude features in AE once you reimport it.
I tried using the convert to a shape option but it is greyed out for some reason. I tried selecting the image with the magic wand tool but that still didn't work. Is there a specific way to get this option to work?
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:41 PM   #5
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Figured it out!

So, you want to select your text out, and then go to Window > Paths.

And then click on the options button on the top right and click "Make Work Path".

Then click the Pen Tool, right-click on the logo, and then select Define Custom Shape and give it a name.

And then just re-add it using the Custom Shape Tool. Save it and then try reimporting to AE. That should work.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:51 PM   #6
Stephiebby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
Figured it out!

So, you want to select your text out, and then go to Window > Paths.

And then click on the options button on the top right and click "Make Work Path".

Then click the Pen Tool, right-click on the logo, and then select Define Custom Shape and give it a name.

And then just re-add it using the Custom Shape Tool. Save it and then try reimporting to AE. That should work.
What method should I use to export so it is read as a shape? It keeps just importing as an image file.
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:56 PM   #7
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephiebby View Post
What method should I use to export so it is read as a shape? It keeps just importing as an image file.
Ahh, right! I would try Export > Paths to Illustrator and then use that file.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 01:23 PM   #8
Stephiebby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
Ahh, right! I would try Export > Paths to Illustrator and then use that file.
Should I be importing the .ai file it made into AE? Or do I go into illustrator and save it as another file type?

When I try to import the .ai file it is just blank (even though I used the live paint bucket tool to fill the paths in with black).
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 01:31 PM   #9
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephiebby View Post
Should I be importing the .ai file it made into AE? Or do I go into illustrator and save it as another file type?

When I try to import the .ai file it is just blank (even though I used the live paint bucket tool to fill the paths in with black).
You want to go into Illustrator, copy the path, and then paste it into After Effects.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 01:49 PM   #10
Stephiebby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
You want to go into Illustrator, copy the path, and then paste it into After Effects.
It still doesn't have the option to extrude. Is there something that I'm missing?

Heres what it looks like now:
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 01:54 PM   #11
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
It looks like you still have your background.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 01:57 PM   #12
Stephiebby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
It looks like you still have your background.
I think that is the background of the AE comp, Is there a way to make that transparent?
Stephiebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 03:11 PM   #13
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephiebby View Post
I think that is the background of the AE comp, Is there a way to make that transparent?
It's next to where it says Active Camera on your screenshot. On the left there's a checkered button.

Although I'm not sure where to go from here. Considering I just tried to make a basic shape to see if the options would work that way.

Quote:
Creating beveled and extruded text and shape layers

In the Ray-traced renderer, 3D text and shape layers can have an extrusion or bevel. For a beveled and extruded text or shape layer, do the following:

Create a Ray-traced 3D composition
Create a new text or shape layer
Enable the 3D for the layer
Adjust controls for bevel and extrusion
To control their appearance, use these properties in the layer's Geometry Options section in the Timeline panel:

Bevel Style: The form of the bevel. Options are None (default), Angular, Concave, and Convex.
Bevel Depth: The size in pixels (horizontally and vertically) of the bevel.
Hole Bevel Depth: The size of bevel for inner parts of a text character, such as the hole in an "O". It's expressed as a percentage of the Bevel Depth.
Extrusion Depth: The pixel thickness of the extrusion. The side (extruded) surface is perpendicular to the front surface.
These new 3D objects are based on the geometry of swept surfaces, which is a radical departure from the pixel-based text and shapes in the Classic 3D renderer. As such, masking, effects, and track mattes don't make sense when applied to geometry. The geometrical properties of text and shapes are preserved, so character styles like kerning, font size, and subscript are supported.

The following issues are known:

Fill or stroke gradients are not supported on 3D shape layers.
Even-odd winding in shapes does not currently work properly. You might need to use a Merge Paths operator instead.
Shapes with self-intersecting paths might not be filled correctly. Also, objects with compound paths containing multiple nested holes might not render correctly.
So I'll let someone else chime in.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 10:32 PM   #14
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
The only thing that After Effects can extrude is text layers and shape layers, meaning that you need to be able to convert your graphic into a shape layer. For this, it must be a vector graphic format, preferably .ai. You CAN'T extrude an Ai file without first converting it to a shape layer.

NOTE: A "shape layer" is something very specific in After Effects, and not just a solid with a mask on it.

Import your .ai file into AE, drag it into a comp, then, with the layer selected, go to Layer > Create Shapes from Vector Layer. It will think for a minute, then create a shape layer version of your graphic. You will then be able to extrude the shape layer.

If it doesn't work, then your .ai file doesn't actually contain a vector graphic. From your screenshot, it looks like you might have chosen auto-trace instead of the correct option that I listed above.

If you can't do it, collect your project (file > collect files), zip up the folder that it creates, and upload it to your next post and I'll take a look.

I've attached a screenshot if that's useful to you.

I'm 99% sure that your issue is in what you're trying to extrude. If I were you, I would just quickly remake that logo in Illustrator (which is really the correct tool to use for logos), then save that and import it into AE.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-04-14 at 8.31.04 PM.png
Views:	29
Size:	877.2 KB
ID:	407818  

Last edited by 12dylan34; Apr 14, 2013 at 10:49 PM.
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2013, 10:46 AM   #15
Jhoni
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
In all the discussions i will only say that for making designs you not need have a good tool , you must have creative mind which provide you the idea of making logo design. Once you got the idea than you can simply done it in Photoshop or any other designing tool.
__________________
Melbourne Signs
Jhoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2013, 10:17 PM   #16
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhoni View Post
In all the discussions i will only say that for making designs you not need have a good tool , you must have creative mind which provide you the idea of making logo design. Once you got the idea than you can simply done it in Photoshop or any other designing tool.
If it just needs to be a still, I agree. After Effects isn't going to give a lot of options as to customizing the look of the 3D all too much. Photoshop for a still, or a dedicated 3D program for motion, I would say.
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating MOV files from Flash CS6 brianmacc50 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 11, 2013 11:08 AM
Photoshop CS6 & ATI 7950 3GB - shows only 2048 MB VRAM in CS6 (10.8.3) jaberwocky Mac Pro 12 Apr 8, 2013 12:37 PM
A Extremely powerful and convenient logo search app “Logo.”! ruiruirui971 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Mar 10, 2013 03:30 AM
Using Apple Logo in creating my own app Fluttershy iPhone and iPod touch Apps 6 Sep 27, 2012 07:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC