Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2013, 07:09 AM   #1
Guppy5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Age of Empires II HD Edition in VMware Fusion

Hi,

I have bought Age of Empires II HD Edition in Steam, which I run in VMware Fusion. I have the latest patch for VMware Fusion. Whenever I try to run the game I get to the initial screen where I click 'Play' and then I get the error: Could not initialise graphics system. Make sure that your video card and driver are compatible with DirectDraw.

Does anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks.
Guppy5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 07:38 AM   #2
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
Probably it is using DirectX 10 or higher that won't work in a virtual. It is possible it will work with Windows XP with DirectX 9.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 01:04 PM   #3
iF34R
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Yeah, it's using DX 10. It runs fine with Parallels 8. Just downloaded the demo P8 to see.
__________________
| 27" Late 2012 iMac | 3.4GHz i7 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | GTX 680MX 2GB | 1TB Fusion Drive |
iF34R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 11:29 PM   #4
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iF34R View Post
Yeah, it's using DX 10. It runs fine with Parallels 8. Just downloaded the demo P8 to see.
I think you are mistaken about this game requiring DX10. Here are the system requirements from the Steam Store page:

System Requirements
Minimum:

OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 Pro+
Processor: 1.2GHZ CPU
Memory: 1 GB RAM
Graphics: Direct X 9.0c Capable GPU
DirectX®: 9.0c
Hard Drive: 2 GB HD space

It clearly indicates Direct X 9.0c and makes no mention of Direct X 10.

I am glad to hear it runs fine on Parallels though as that is what I use myself.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 09:04 AM   #5
iF34R
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
I think you are mistaken about this game requiring DX10. Here are the system requirements from the Steam Store page:

System Requirements
Minimum:

OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 Pro+
Processor: 1.2GHZ CPU
Memory: 1 GB RAM
Graphics: Direct X 9.0c Capable GPU
DirectX®: 9.0c
Hard Drive: 2 GB HD space

It clearly indicates Direct X 9.0c and makes no mention of Direct X 10.

I am glad to hear it runs fine on Parallels though as that is what I use myself.
I may have just worded that wrong. I was basically saying that Parallels does use DX10.
__________________
| 27" Late 2012 iMac | 3.4GHz i7 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | GTX 680MX 2GB | 1TB Fusion Drive |
iF34R is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC