Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:27 PM   #1
jesso
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Will an i7 MBA run snow leopard

Howdy.
Looking at an i7 MBA to replace i5 2010 MBP.
I need to run snow leopard from time to time, which I currently have installed on a partition on my main drive.
If I got a MBP, the plan would be to have the Snow Leopard drive on a USB 3 external drive.
Will the MBA happily boot into snow leopard from a bootable carbon copy cloner drive over usb 3?
How would it run?
I will probably take a drive into the mac store to give it a try myself, but I thought someone here could save me some time!
Thanks.
jesso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:30 PM   #2
macalec
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I do not believe you will be able to run Snow Leopard on a current system. It wont have the drivers necessary to work the onboard equipment appropriate. Even if you do find a way to load it on or clone it onto the drive, there could be problems down the line for you....

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesso View Post
Howdy.
Looking at an i7 MBA to replace i5 2010 MBP.
I need to run snow leopard from time to time, which I currently have installed on a partition on my main drive.
If I got a MBP, the plan would be to have the Snow Leopard drive on a USB 3 external drive.
Will the MBA happily boot into snow leopard from a bootable carbon copy cloner drive over usb 3?
How would it run?
I will probably take a drive into the mac store to give it a try myself, but I thought someone here could save me some time!
Thanks.
macalec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:32 PM   #3
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
No. It will kernel panic upon booting the system, if you even get it installed.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:48 PM   #4
jesso
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Even if you do find a way to load it on or clone it onto the drive, there could be problems down the line for you....
But I do already have it installed on an external USB drive. I used Carbon Copy cloner. I've used it on a couple of 2010 / 2011 i5 machines.
Aren't all the necessary boot files etc contained on the Carbon Copy drive?

I have a friend who has a 2012 i7 27 inch iMac, and he has snow leopard running perfectly on a Carbon Copy drive, but I'm wondering if anyones tried it on an i7 macbook air.
jesso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:53 PM   #5
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesso View Post
But I do already have it installed on an external USB drive. I used Carbon Copy cloner. I've used it on a couple of 2010 / 2011 i5 machines.
Aren't all the necessary boot files etc contained on the Carbon Copy drive?

I have a friend who has a 2012 i7 27 inch iMac, and he has snow leopard running perfectly on a Carbon Copy drive, but I'm wondering if anyones tried it on an i7 macbook air.
Snow Leopard does not boot on 2012 iMacs. I've tried. It kernel panics within a few seconds of booting with an error about missing CPU and Thunderbolt extensions. Snow Leopard doesn't even work very well or at all on the 2011 Macbook Air. It runs very slowly and is extremely unstable.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 05:06 PM   #6
jesso
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Snow Leopard does not boot on 2012 iMacs. I've tried. It kernel panics within a few seconds of booting with an error about missing CPU and Thunderbolt extensions. Snow Leopard doesn't even work very well or at all on the 2011 Macbook Air. It runs very slowly and is extremely unstable.
Thanks for that.
Wonder how my friend has his working so well... I've seen it first hand. It's a first gen 27 inch i7.... and he does most of his audio work in snow leopard. Maybe he added the missing extensions somehow?
jesso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 05:09 PM   #7
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesso View Post
Thanks for that.
Wonder how my friend has his working so well... I've seen it first hand. It's a first gen 27 inch i7.... and he does most of his audio work in snow leopard. Maybe he added the missing extensions somehow?
Unless he recompiled the kernel to work with it and made his own kexts for the Thunderbolt, video card, and chipset, it isn't Snow Leopard or a 2012 iMac.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 05:15 PM   #8
jesso
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Sounds complicated...
When was the 27 inch introduced? I could've sworn he got it about a year ago, but I could be wrong.
I shall ask him.
Thanks for the input!
jesso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 05:17 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesso View Post
Sounds complicated...
When was the 27 inch introduced? I could've sworn he got it about a year ago, but I could be wrong.
I shall ask him.
Thanks for the input!
the 2012 iMac is the newly designed thin one that lacks an optical drive. They came out in October.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 05:17 PM   #10
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesso View Post
Sounds complicated...
When was the 27 inch introduced? I could've sworn he got it about a year ago, but I could be wrong.
I shall ask him.
Thanks for the input!
If he got it about a year ago, it's a 2011. The 2012 iMacss were released at the end of 2012.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 05:21 PM   #11
macalec
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesso View Post
Sounds complicated...
When was the 27 inch introduced? I could've sworn he got it about a year ago, but I could be wrong.
I shall ask him.
Thanks for the input!
I would be very surprised if he got snow leopard on a new 2012 iMac- if he got it a year ago it would be a 2011 based mac since they did not come out with new hardware until october 2012.
macalec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 06:26 PM   #12
MrGimper
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Couldn't you just use VMware Fusion or Parallels to run SL in a VM?
__________________
iP6+ 128GB Silver | iPad Air 64GB White | iPad rMini 128GB 4G White | Early 2011 MB Pro i7 2.2/16GB 15" Hi-Res Glossy | Mid 2012 MB Air 13" i7 2.0/8GB/512GB | Late 2012 iMac 27" i7 3.4/32GB/1TB FD
MrGimper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 06:28 PM   #13
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGimper View Post
Couldn't you just use VMware Fusion or Parallels to run SL in a VM?
Yes, but only Snow Leopard Server.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 06:31 PM   #14
MrGimper
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Yes, but only Snow Leopard Server.
Legitimately, yes......
__________________
iP6+ 128GB Silver | iPad Air 64GB White | iPad rMini 128GB 4G White | Early 2011 MB Pro i7 2.2/16GB 15" Hi-Res Glossy | Mid 2012 MB Air 13" i7 2.0/8GB/512GB | Late 2012 iMac 27" i7 3.4/32GB/1TB FD
MrGimper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 05:32 AM   #15
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
[MOD NOTE]
Please stay on topic, this is not the thread to start discussing Snow Leopard's EULA.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 12:18 PM   #16
MichaelLAX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGimper View Post
Couldn't you just use VMware Fusion or Parallels to run SL in a VM?
Yes: You can install Snow Leopard Server into either. Apple is now selling Snow Leopard Server for $19.99 + sales tax & shipping costs at 1.800.MYAPPLE (1.800.692.7753) - Apple Part Number: MC588Z/A (telephone orders only).

If you are outside of the USA or Canada, get someone to purchase SLS for you and ship it to you as with this 95% discount in price, it may not be on sale forever!

If you cannot obtain SLS you can install Snow Leopard client into Parallels 8 by following the instructions on this thread.

[click on images to enlarge]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photoshop red flag in SLS.png
Views:	25
Size:	809.7 KB
ID:	409579   Click image for larger version

Name:	Appleworks in SLS.png
Views:	21
Size:	1.86 MB
ID:	409580   Click image for larger version

Name:	Aldus Freehand.png
Views:	17
Size:	436.3 KB
ID:	409581  

MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 12:30 PM   #17
MrGimper
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post
Yes: You can install Snow Leopard Server into either. Apple is now selling Snow Leopard Server for $19.99 + sales tax & shipping costs at 1.800.MYAPPLE (1.800.692.7753) - Apple Part Number: MC588Z/A (telephone orders only).

If you are outside of the USA or Canada, get someone to purchase SLS for you and ship it to you as with this 95% discount in price, it may not be on sale forever!

If you cannot obtain SLS you can install Snow Leopard client into Parallels 8 by following the instructions on this thread.

[click on images to enlarge]
You can also install SL client on Fusion. I won't say how, but I'd bet if you google the words "Donk" and "Unlocker" you may find something....
__________________
iP6+ 128GB Silver | iPad Air 64GB White | iPad rMini 128GB 4G White | Early 2011 MB Pro i7 2.2/16GB 15" Hi-Res Glossy | Mid 2012 MB Air 13" i7 2.0/8GB/512GB | Late 2012 iMac 27" i7 3.4/32GB/1TB FD
MrGimper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 12:34 PM   #18
MichaelLAX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I am not familiar with these products for use in VMWare Fusion, but there is no reason to be "cagey" about it.

It is a common Urban Myth that Apple prohibits Snow Leopard client to be virtualized in Lion or Mountain Lion on a Mac. That myth has been largely debunked over the last 18 months.

Apple rendered the issue largely moot with it rerelease of Snow Leopard Server at a 95% discount; so the debate (for those few left to debate it) is over!

My thread, linked earlier by me, to installing Snow Leopard client into Parallels has been open and notorious, so to speak, for quite a long period of time here and on the Apple Communities Support Forum.
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iMac: Can I run Snow Leopard in another partition? rabsparks OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 7 Feb 6, 2014 04:02 PM
Will Snow Leopard run on newer MBAs? Udi MacBook Air 9 Jan 8, 2014 10:06 PM
How to Run both Snow Leopard and Mountain Lion? parbar OS X 2 Sep 7, 2013 12:54 PM
Will rMBP run Snow Leopard (Mac OS X 10.6.x)? majordude MacBook Pro 42 Aug 3, 2012 07:37 AM
Can I Run Snow Leopard and Have Mountain Lion In A VM? PBG4 Dude MacBook Air 0 Jul 25, 2012 11:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC