Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2002, 10:00 PM   #1
starfleet4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: nyc,ny
Send a message via AIM to starfleet4
networking mac's and pc's

i have a four pc network at home and much to the dismay of my family members i have made the switch to a mac[performa 6116cd]. i have a space in my dsl router for another unit, i would like to add the mac. i know i could set it up to connect to the internet but can it be networked with the microsoft home network protocols?
starfleet4 is offline   0
Old Dec 14, 2002, 10:19 PM   #2
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Provided the Performa has the required hardware (ethernet), and software (OS 9), you should be able to use DHCP or TCPIP to add it to the network, no problem.

Of course, I haven't had any personal experience on those systems (or anything pre-G3, for that matter) so you might want to take my advice with a grain of salt.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Dec 15, 2002, 07:55 PM   #3
starfleet4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: nyc,ny
Send a message via AIM to starfleet4
Rower_CPU
thanks again rov. by the way, is that icon of yours a pic of kurt cobain? i really would like to know
starfleet4 is offline   0
Old Dec 15, 2002, 08:09 PM   #4
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by starfleet4
Rower_CPU
thanks again rov. by the way, is that icon of yours a pic of kurt cobain? i really would like to know
Actually, it's Owen Wilson in a scene from the movie Zoolander...but I can see the resemblance to Cobain...
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Dec 15, 2002, 08:47 PM   #5
starfleet4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: nyc,ny
Send a message via AIM to starfleet4
thanks. if it was i would have freaked. kurt cobains music changed it all for me and got me started on the guitar.peace
__________________
Mac user's are in a different class!
starfleet4 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printer Networking - Mac + old PC? RadDave Mac Peripherals 8 Aug 22, 2013 03:34 PM
Need Help with Mac Networking. A.Christopher Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 5 Mar 5, 2013 06:07 AM
Powerline Networking on Mac Pro frjonah Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 4 Feb 18, 2013 09:07 AM
Major networking problem between PC and Mac - HELP! bsmith6470 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 29 Sep 17, 2012 08:58 AM
Really basic networking help for new mac user tillsbury Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Jul 21, 2012 11:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC