Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:41 AM   #1
Charlie Croker
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
MPEG Streamclip timeline skewed in Mountain Lion

I run MPEG Streamclip on my Snow Leopard installation all the time. But a colleague has asked me to install the latest version v1.9.2 on his 2013 MBP Mountain Lion. It runs, but the timeline under the video is skewed on any video codec. The start/end point can be mid-way instead of at the start/end, and the pointer can't be placed accurately to move the video through the minutes and seconds. If you resize the window, the timebar moves around in an unstable fashion. Has anyone seen this behaviour and know how to fix it or avoid it? Thank you.

Charlie Croker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:47 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
I have no such problems with either the latest MPEG Streamclip version or even the beta, but I also do not have ever seen the volume slider in MPEG Streamclip.
What is up with that?

simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:53 AM   #3
Charlie Croker
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
There is something unusual going on with the video transparency overlay perhaps. The codecs in the Quicktime folder are a mixture of Mountain Lion and some from Snow Leopard. I can't think if it is anything else. It is not my computer so it is tricky to do maintenance on it.
Charlie Croker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:55 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Croker View Post
There is something unusual going on with the video transparency overlay perhaps. The codecs in the Quicktime folder are a mixture of Mountain Lion and some from Snow Leopard. I can't think if it is anything else. It is not my computer so it is tricky to do maintenance on it.
Can you post a screenshot of the QuickTime Components folder then?

It looks like this on my two week old install of OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion using FCP X and Avid Media Composer 5:
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:59 AM   #5
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Croker View Post
... The codecs in the Quicktime folder are a mixture of Mountain Lion and some from Snow Leopard. I can't think if it is anything else. It is not my computer so it is tricky to do maintenance on it.
Codecs are not tied to the version of the OS. If you think that the issue is the currency of the installed codecs, then replace the versions of codecs with the most recent versions. See if that fixes the problem.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 09:36 AM   #6
Charlie Croker
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Here are his installed codecs:

Charlie Croker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 05:52 PM   #7
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
From the looks of them, there is nothing wrong with the versions of your installed codecs.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 10:01 AM   #8
boomhaueruk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I'm getting something similar. Retina 15" Macbook.

My timeline is all messed up and the window has a smaller window in it. Renders the program unusable.



If I take a screenshot the 'two windows' thing doesn't appear in it - is that telling?

Last edited by boomhaueruk; May 7, 2013 at 10:04 AM. Reason: Added image
boomhaueruk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 09:36 AM   #9
Jtan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Same issue.

Anyone have a solution for this yet?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 10.07.56 PM.png
Views:	24
Size:	462.3 KB
ID:	411812  
Jtan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2013, 01:21 PM   #10
Ritsuka
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
You could try to open it at low resolution, there is a check box in the info window in Finder.
Ritsuka is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2013, 04:30 AM   #11
Charlie Croker
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Still no solution here. Any one?
Charlie Croker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2013, 10:10 PM   #12
rgoble4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I'm seeing a similar issue with the 1.9.3b8 release on ML, but only on retina screens. I've managed to work around it by using one of those resolution switching apps to switch to non-HiDPI mode temporarily.

A bigger issue for me is Mavericks support. No idea if Squared5 will release another beta, but it no longer works for me on my 13" rMBP with the Mavericks GM.

I mainly use it for fast video trimming...are there other apps that could do the same thing? Squared5's recent update history is not encouraging...

Rob
rgoble4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2013, 12:22 PM   #13
deannnnn
macrumors 68000
 
deannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City & South Florida
I've been having this problem with MPEG Streamclip since I got my retina MBP last year. This whole time I've continued using the application because it's so great, but it's extremely difficult to work with under these conditions. I'm subscribing to this thread hoping we do eventually find a solution.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Retina) / iPhone 5S
deannnnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2013, 09:43 AM   #14
rylandd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritsuka View Post
You could try to open it at low resolution, there is a check box in the info window in Finder.
This worked for me. 13" MBP Retina running Mavericks:

Before and After:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 10.38.41 AM.png
Views:	37
Size:	534.4 KB
ID:	445779   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 10.42.12 AM.png
Views:	25
Size:	271.4 KB
ID:	445780   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 10.41.49 AM.png
Views:	46
Size:	269.5 KB
ID:	445781  

rylandd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2013, 04:58 AM   #15
adresavlad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Black screen result

Hello there! I am writing you from Romania and I'm glad to have find this community!
I encounter a strange behavior of MPEG Streamclip on MBP Maveriks: every time I set IN and OUT points, or I Trim or Cut a file, the export .mov file has no image, meaning is black.
The eddited clip is an .avi shot with the car camera „Prestigio RoadRunner 511”.
Any suggestions?
Thank you!
adresavlad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2013, 10:05 AM   #16
MichaelMcCool
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
I am having this problem too.

I don't want to open a film in low resolution, I want its full-resolution to be displayed.

Does anyone have any solutions or know if Squared 5 will release an update soon?

Thanks.
MichaelMcCool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 03:25 AM   #17
haaktu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rylandd View Post
This worked for me. 13" MBP Retina running Mavericks:

Before and After:
Sir, I registered just to say THANK YOU for this trick.

For the search engines: How to fix MPEG Streamclip problem in MBP retina OSX Mavericks.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelMcCool View Post
I am having this problem too.

I don't want to open a film in low resolution, I want its full-resolution to be displayed.

Does anyone have any solutions or know if Squared 5 will release an update soon?

Thanks.
Sir, you might want to give another player a try. VLC perhaps?
haaktu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPEG Streamclip help! keepoceansblue Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 21, 2014 01:11 PM
MPEG Streamclip settings w/ DVD kiwinavt Digital Video 0 Dec 2, 2013 11:51 AM
Handbrake vs MPEG Streamclip kiwinavt Digital Video 1 Nov 6, 2013 03:06 AM
Mpeg streamclip issue Supernerd Digital Video 2 Oct 4, 2012 01:05 PM
MPEG Streamclip Settings? !!11oneone Digital Video 1 Aug 16, 2012 08:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC