Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 2, 2013, 08:47 AM   #1
sk3pt1c
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
Just got a new LaCie Blade Runner, can't copy files onto it :(

Hello,

I just got a brand new LaCie Blade Runner 4TB.

Trying to transfer files onto it from other smaller external drives and i get the "this item is in use" error message.

I have no other apps open when i'm doing this, just finder.

The copy then aborts and when I try to delete the file I get a -50 error.

I then have to eject the drive, re-connect it and delete the file and try again.

It doesn't do it with all files, but I have more than 3TB to transfer to it so this is a pain in the ass!

Should i take the drive back or is this an OS X bug?

HELP!
__________________
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 08:49 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Have you checked Finder > select external HDD >> GET INFO >>> Format and Sharing & Permissions yet?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 09:02 AM   #3
sk3pt1c
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Have you checked Finder > select external HDD >> GET INFO >>> Format and Sharing & Permissions yet?
Image
I have re-formatted the drive into MacOS extended journaled so that's not it.

Also, some files do copy so it can't be the lock.

There's an "Ignore ownership on this drive" that's checked, should i uncheck that?

Also, should i add the system as read/write too? now it's just me there and read only for staff and others
__________________
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 09:26 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3pt1c View Post
I have re-formatted the drive into MacOS extended journaled so that's not it.

Also, some files do copy so it can't be the lock.

There's an "Ignore ownership on this drive" that's checked, should i uncheck that?

Also, should i add the system as read/write too? now it's just me there and read only for staff and others
It can't hurt to add System to it but you won't be able to do it from the info panel.
I am not sure about this but I think the system already has R/W permissions on it because you already have those right, the system is higher on the ladder, again, I could be wrong here.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 09:30 AM   #5
sk3pt1c
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
It can't hurt to add System to it but you won't be able to do it from the info panel.
I am not sure about this but I think the system already has R/W permissions on it because you already have those right, the system is higher on the ladder, again, I could be wrong here.
i added "admin" to the read/write, couldn't add system.

also unchecked the ignore ownership checkbox and applied to enclosed items.

it managed to copy a file it couldn't before, i'm trying with the aperture library now that it wouldn't copy before, fingers crossed.
__________________
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 09:38 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3pt1c View Post
i added "admin" to the read/write, couldn't add system.

also unchecked the ignore ownership checkbox and applied to enclosed items.

it managed to copy a file it couldn't before, i'm trying with the aperture library now that it wouldn't copy before, fingers crossed.
I just checked one of my drives, it has Admin in it, so I guess it will make a difference.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 09:42 AM   #7
sk3pt1c
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I just checked one of my drives, it has Admin in it, so I guess it will make a difference.
i hope so

thanks!!!
__________________
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 01:16 PM   #8
sk3pt1c
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
ok, best i can figure it out is that the source and destination drive need to have the same permissions on them, so if one has admin and the other one doesn't, it won't copy
__________________
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 06:46 AM   #9
sk3pt1c
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
overall it seems to work ok but i've still got files that won't copy...

i ignored the last one cause i didn't care about copying it but i'm copying one at a time now and will inspect the offending file more closely.

any other thoughts, anyone??
__________________
Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 06:51 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3pt1c View Post
overall it seems to work ok but i've still got files that won't copy...

i ignored the last one cause i didn't care about copying it but i'm copying one at a time now and will inspect the offending file more closely.

any other thoughts, anyone??
Ignore ownership as suggested might do the trick.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 04:30 PM   #11
Silverlode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
resolution?

sk3pt1c,

Any resolution to this? I have the exact same problem with my LaCie Blade Runner. Even sent it in to them, they returned it saying the drive was working properly. I've seen this in the console, wonder if it might be related, but unsure how to fix:

kernel[0]: disk1s2: alignment error

So just wondering if you got your drive working.

Thanks.
Silverlode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:26 PM   #12
sk3pt1c
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: a simulacrum
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverlode View Post
sk3pt1c,

Any resolution to this? I have the exact same problem with my LaCie Blade Runner. Even sent it in to them, they returned it saying the drive was working properly. I've seen this in the console, wonder if it might be related, but unsure how to fix:

kernel[0]: disk1s2: alignment error

So just wondering if you got your drive working.

Thanks.
Hey, i managed to copy all the files over little by little, making sure to mirror the permissions of source-destination folders. It's working OK now.
It has autoejected once and not let me copy a file once more but other than that, it's working fine.
Dunno if this helps you.
To be honest, i wish i could afford a Drobo
sk3pt1c is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD in a LaCie Blade runner? ABCDEF-Hex Mac Peripherals 0 Dec 28, 2013 05:54 AM
Lacie Blade Runner dtbadsjw Mac Peripherals 1 Feb 12, 2013 10:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC