[Resolved] ATI Radeon HD 6870 Help Required. - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 10, 2013, 08:49 AM   #1
Washac
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
ATI Radeon HD 6870 Help Required.

I have installed an ATI Radeon HD 6870 in my Mac Pro and installed kext file that came from Cindoris package and yes i did only install the kext file and nothing else.

Everything I have run has worked OK no problems at all, now I have run into a game that has issues.

A report of my machine was sent of to the games company who replied with that my machine shows a non official driver for my card and basically says until I fix this issue they cannot help me.

Any help would be good.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; May 11, 2013 at 01:45 PM. Reason: resolved
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 10:25 AM   #2
GP-SE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
what game? also what version of OSX?
is the 6870 flashed with EFI?
GP-SE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 11:12 AM   #3
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP-SE View Post
what game? also what version of OSX?
is the 6870 flashed with EFI?
The game is XCOM Enemy Unknown Elite for Mac
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
No flashing
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; May 10, 2013 at 11:35 AM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 01:44 PM   #4
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Flash the card and remove ATY_init.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 01:57 PM   #5
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Flash the card and remove ATY_init.
I have removed the ATY_init.kext

I used this - sudo kextunload /System/Library/Extensions/NAME_OF_THE_KEXT_FILE.kext

Do not know how to flash it, and a bit nervous about messing things up, any guidance would be good.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 02:18 PM   #6
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
I have removed the ATY_init.kext

I used this - sudo kextunload /System/Library/Extensions/NAME_OF_THE_KEXT_FILE.kext

Do not know how to flash it, and a bit nervous about messing things up, any guidance would be good.
There should be more than enough of the information needed on the site link below. Who knows perhaps you will get lucky like I was and there will be a pre-made ROM already there for your card for you to flash it with.

http://forum.netkas.org/index.php

Edit: Oh and you left out.
Code:
sudo rm -rf  /System/Library/Extensions/NAME_OF_THE_KEXT_FILE.kext
To actually remove the .kext not just unload like you did, your way left it there for it to reload on next boot.
__________________
MacPro 5,1 16gb HD6870; MacPro 4,1 5,1 12x2.66ghz 24gb GT120
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 02:26 PM   #7
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Do not know how to flash it, and a bit nervous about messing things up, any guidance would be good.
This is the specific link explaining everything about flashing the 6870. You need to register to see and download the necessary EFI portion of ROM attached to the first post.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 02:28 PM   #8
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacUser2525 View Post
There should be more than enough of the information needed on the site link below. Who knows perhaps you will get lucky like I was and there will be a pre-made ROM already there for your card for you to flash it with.

http://forum.netkas.org/index.php

Edit: Oh and you left out.
Code:
sudo rm -rf  /System/Library/Extensions/NAME_OF_THE_KEXT_FILE.kext
To actually remove the .kext not just unload like you did, your way left it there for it to reload on next boot.
Thanks for the link, been there before I just get lost, and do not know how to flash, I just seem to find blocks of coding stuff

I need it work under 10.6.8 - 10.8.3 and Bootcamp.

Read on Nektas that somebody flashed their ATI Radeon HD 6870 now it does not work right under 10.6.8

I'm confused.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; May 10, 2013 at 02:40 PM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 05:43 PM   #9
GP-SE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
post your original ROM from the card, do you have bootcamp installed?
if you have bootcamp\Windows then download "GPU-Z" and use that to extract the original bios.
Post it here and I'll convert it to EFI for you, then you can flash the card.
GP-SE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 02:22 AM   #10
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Probably should just use a card designed to work with a mac if you are unable or unwilling to learn how to flash the 6870.
ClassObject is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 02:53 AM   #11
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP-SE View Post
post your original ROM from the card, do you have bootcamp installed?
if you have bootcamp\Windows then download "GPU-Z" and use that to extract the original bios.
Post it here and I'll convert it to EFI for you, then you can flash the card.
Hey this sounds good, I do use Bootcamp so I will give this a go later today, thank you for this really appreciated

Edit: OK, first part done, had to change the . rom to .txt so I could attach it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt My-HD6870.txt (128.0 KB, 54 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; May 11, 2013 at 04:15 AM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 09:22 AM   #12
tomvos
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: TheStudio
Did you really remove the kext like MacUser2525 recommended? And then rebooted your system to 10.8.3?

Otherwise there might be a chance that you load some old driver like edddeduck estimated in the XCOM thread. Which would result in the problems, you described there.
tomvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 10:02 AM   #13
GP-SE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I made the ROM, check your PM.

Make sure the ati card is the only card installed, in the bottom slot (slot 1)
Also use the White DVI Port (beside the hdmi and mini display ports, don't use the DVI port that is alone on the top)

You can flash in OSX using Zeus 2.3 or in Windows using ATI_winflash

Zeus 2.3: http://groths.org/zeus/test/6870flasher.zip
ATI Winflash: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...inflash-2-3-0/

I would try Zeus in OSX first because it's easier.

In Zeus under the ATI section at the bottom just select the ROM I made, then for OS select Snow Leopard and hit flash.

For ATI Winflash here are instructions:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1353325/t...your-ati-cards

basically in Windows open a DOS prompt with admin rights (right click on CMD prompt -> Run as Admin

when the dos prompt opens, change directory to wherever AT_winflash is:
"cd\users\*user name*\desktop\ati_winflash_2.3.0" as an example

then run:
atiwinflash -f -p 0 6870EFI.ROM

it should flash, then shutdown and restart in OSX.

Also the .kext file you messed with, you didn't have to, it should work natively in OSX without messing with any .kext
When I had a flashed 6870 in Mountion Lion I had no issues, never had to touch at .kext, it worked out of the box.


I would put the .kext back and add\remove any .kext files you messed with when trying to make the card work. Then run the 10.8.3 combo update after to repair any .kext files.

I had steam, dvd player, all my games working without touching any .kext files.
GP-SE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 10:30 AM   #14
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP-SE View Post
I made the ROM, check your PM.

Make sure the ati card is the only card installed, in the bottom slot (slot 1)
Also use the White DVI Port (beside the hdmi and mini display ports, don't use the DVI port that is alone on the top)

You can flash in OSX using Zeus 2.3 or in Windows using ATI_winflash

Zeus 2.3: http://groths.org/zeus/test/6870flasher.zip
ATI Winflash: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...inflash-2-3-0/

I would try Zeus in OSX first because it's easier.

In Zeus under the ATI section at the bottom just select the ROM I made, then for OS select Snow Leopard and hit flash.

For ATI Winflash here are instructions:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1353325/t...your-ati-cards

basically in Windows open a DOS prompt with admin rights (right click on CMD prompt -> Run as Admin

when the dos prompt opens, change directory to wherever AT_winflash is:
"cd\users\*user name*\desktop\ati_winflash_2.3.0" as an example

then run:
atiwinflash -f -p 0 6870EFI.ROM

it should flash, then shutdown and restart in OSX.

Also the .kext file you messed with, you didn't have to, it should work natively in OSX without messing with any .kext
When I had a flashed 6870 in Mountion Lion I had no issues, never had to touch at .kext, it worked out of the box.


I would put the .kext back and add\remove any .kext files you messed with when trying to make the card work. Then run the 10.8.3 combo update after to repair any .kext files.

I had steam, dvd player, all my games working without touching any .kext files.
Many many thanks for doing the file and the above instructions very clear indeed

I have a couple things, the first one being the obvious.

Using the DVI means I need to buy a DVI to Mini Display Port adapter, not looked yet but I assume this does exist.

The card I have did/does work out of the box, I only added the .kext under recommendation in case some programs did not work, I have under your recommendation removed the kext, it was the only one I had installed or messed with.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomvos View Post
Did you really remove the kext like MacUser2525 recommended? And then rebooted your system to 10.8.3?

Otherwise there might be a chance that you load some old driver like edddeduck estimated in the XCOM thread. Which would result in the problems, you described there.
Yes I removed that kext file as recommemded by Macuser2525, not booted back into 10.8.3 since doing so yest, will try soon.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 10:56 AM   #15
GP-SE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
you can try using the Mini Display Port, I'm just not sure if you'll get boot screens, I know for sure the DVI port beside the Mini Display Port will show boot screens.

I just e-mailed you the ROM, let me know if it works!
GP-SE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 11:55 AM   #16
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP-SE View Post
you can try using the Mini Display Port, I'm just not sure if you'll get boot screens, I know for sure the DVI port beside the Mini Display Port will show boot screens.

I just e-mailed you the ROM, let me know if it works!
All done and all OK, sent you an e-mail

The game still freezes but not quite so much but I think that is down to playing with the game settings rather than my machine.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; May 12, 2013 at 03:48 AM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Radeon HD NI40 (6870) 92jlee Mac Pro 1 Dec 25, 2012 06:24 PM
Ati Radeon 5870 upgraded to Ati radeon 6950 dtechlogic Mac Pro 6 Dec 8, 2012 10:20 PM
Need Help to EFI Flash a Radeon HD 6870 Washac Mac Pro 14 Nov 10, 2012 11:03 AM
2008 Mac Pro and Radeon 6870... violst Mac Pro 21 Sep 21, 2012 04:11 PM
Which Radeon 6870? FreakIndeed Mac Pro 14 Jun 29, 2012 05:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC