Final Cut wont start please HELP! - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 30, 2005, 03:26 PM   #1
markjones05
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Final Cut wont start please HELP!

I've been loading about 9 hours of foootage into final cut for this project. Last night final cut froze and I had to force quit. Today it wont open, I double click the app icon and the loading screen comes up but it quits before it opens the program. I erased and reinstalled but the problem is still occurring. all of the other apps in the studio still work such as soundtrack and livetype. I tried repairing permissions on the drive where final cut is installed. I really dont want to reformat and in reality I dont have time to do so due to the quick turn around this job requires. Can anyone help me?
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:14 PM   #2
russed
macrumors 68000
 
russed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, England
Send a message via MSN to russed
have you tried trashing the .plist file for the app?
__________________
all the ducks are swimming in the water...
russed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:16 PM   #3
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by russed
have you tried trashing the .plist file for the app?
No. How do I do that? And what does it do?
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:25 PM   #4
russed
macrumors 68000
 
russed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, England
Send a message via MSN to russed
well the .plist file hold all of your preferences for that programme. if you have deleted the programme by just dragging the app to the trash, i beleive that the .plist file will still remain and when you have reinstalled the programme, it is stil using the same preferences file (which could be the root of the problem).

if you are on tiger, in spotlight search for final cut.plist (or what ever the proper name of the app is, or something like that).

the file you wil want will be something like com.apple.final cut.plist just drag this to the trash, and delete. then the nest time you start up the programme, it will create a new .plis file!

i hope this works for you!
__________________
all the ducks are swimming in the water...
russed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:33 PM   #5
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by russed
well the .plist file hold all of your preferences for that programme. if you have deleted the programme by just dragging the app to the trash, i beleive that the .plist file will still remain and when you have reinstalled the programme, it is stil using the same preferences file (which could be the root of the problem).

if you are on tiger, in spotlight search for final cut.plist (or what ever the proper name of the app is, or something like that).

the file you wil want will be something like com.apple.final cut.plist just drag this to the trash, and delete. then the nest time you start up the programme, it will create a new .plis file!

i hope this works for you!
Ok i did a spotlight search and about 12 results came up. How do I know which one to erase?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	33791  
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:37 PM   #6
russed
macrumors 68000
 
russed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, England
Send a message via MSN to russed
erm!!!

at the end of the day, deleting all of them would not be the end of the world, just the corresponding programmes will lose their preferences. this may cause an inconvenience in having to re set up programmes as you like them. i would say without seeing what they are called, try and take an educated guess on which one to delete first. maybe the one with the newest create/edit date
__________________
all the ducks are swimming in the water...
russed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:39 PM   #7
russed
macrumors 68000
 
russed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, England
Send a message via MSN to russed
sorry i have just seen the attached screen grab. i dont know basically which one to delete. maybe do one at once and inbetween try reopening the programme!
__________________
all the ducks are swimming in the water...
russed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 04:41 PM   #8
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by russed
erm!!!

at the end of the day, deleting all of them would not be the end of the world, just the corresponding programmes will lose their preferences. this may cause an inconvenience in having to re set up programmes as you like them. i would say without seeing what they are called, try and take an educated guess on which one to delete first. maybe the one with the newest create/edit date

It still wont open. Thanx anyway.

Nice lemon jelly reference.
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 09:00 PM   #9
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Anyone else have any clue? I really need to get the ball rolling on this.
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 09:18 PM   #10
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
did u try and restart the whole compute, that might clear out some kinks..
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
iPod Touch, 64 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 09:22 PM   #11
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193
did u try and restart the whole compute, that might clear out some kinks..
Yea...
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 10:13 PM   #12
MacFan25863
macrumors 6502a
 
MacFan25863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to MacFan25863
Try trashing the final cut cache in the Documents folder.
MacFan25863 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 10:16 PM   #13
mduser63
macrumors 68040
 
mduser63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Send a message via AIM to mduser63
I had this problem once, only for some reason it was confined to one user (mine). Repairing permissions, deleting plist files and clearing the cache did nothing. Took a reinstall to fix it, but to be honest that's not too big of a deal. You won't lose any projects or anything; it just takes a little time to reinstall.
mduser63 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 10:18 PM   #14
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by mduser63
I had this problem once, only for some reason it was confined to one user (mine). Repairing permissions, deleting plist files and clearing the cache did nothing. Took a reinstall to fix it, but to be honest that's not too big of a deal. You won't lose any projects or anything; it just takes a little time to reinstall.

I already reinstalled.
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 10:18 PM   #15
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFan25863
Try trashing the final cut cache in the Documents folder.

That didnt help either.
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 10:27 PM   #16
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
some of my other apps are acting up now as well. My photoshop wont open any previos projects... what can be causing these application errors?
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 01:34 AM   #17
MacFan25863
macrumors 6502a
 
MacFan25863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to MacFan25863
This is almost starting to sound like hard drive failure. Is your computer acting generally slow? Whats the S.M.A.R.T. status of your drive?

If I were you, I would start backing stuff up NOW.

Its more likely to be HD failure if you're on a laptop. Anything else weird about your computer (noises, etc)?
MacFan25863 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 08:36 AM   #18
markjones05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
markjones05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFan25863
This is almost starting to sound like hard drive failure. Is your computer acting generally slow? Whats the S.M.A.R.T. status of your drive?

If I were you, I would start backing stuff up NOW.

Its more likely to be HD failure if you're on a laptop. Anything else weird about your computer (noises, etc)?
No i dont have any clicking noises or any abnormal noises usually associated with a bad HD. Im not on a laptop im using a dual 1 ghz g4 powermac. I carbon copied my hd last night to my 2nd HD because it seems more and more likely that a reformat is neccesary. I'd still like to avoid that if its at all possible. More importantly even if i do have to reformat i just wanna know why this happened so i can prevent it in the future.
markjones05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2005, 02:36 AM   #19
RatVega
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern California
Immediate action drill (in escalating order, for most FCP bomb-outs):

1. Restart FCP.

2. Restart the entire system.

3. Repair permissions.

4. Use MacJanitor to run the cron scripts.

5. Use Disk Warrior to verify/repair directories.

6. Trash FCP prefs (instructions on www.kwnstone.net) then get FCP Rescue if you don't have it.

7. Reinstall FCP.

If you already tried all the other suggestions in this post, you may as well go straight to Step 7 since everything is probably in bad disarray.

FCP is a very demanding app that does a huge amount of work "under the hood." Sometimes it breaks, and random attempts to do a quick fix can cause unpredictable results. The good news is that it seldom loses data.

Good luck.
__________________
"PC free" since '88...
2.5GHz G5 dualie/5GB RAM/250GB + 1TB internal RAID/2TB external RAID/dual monitors. Lots of other gear.
RatVega is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Cut Pro - files wont relink yolatechno Digital Video 6 Dec 20, 2013 01:33 AM
Mac wont let me Run Final Cut Pro, help appreciated. Rimssky Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 May 13, 2013 10:40 PM
HD wont mount on start whywurry Mac Pro 0 Apr 23, 2013 01:38 PM
Final Cut mcsolas Mac mini 3 Jan 12, 2013 04:42 AM
Converting XML from Final Cut Pro 7 to Final Cut Pro X and visa versa MacintoshMan Digital Video 1 Oct 11, 2012 04:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC