Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 13, 2013, 08:44 AM   #1
Yixian
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Europe
Current major bugs in Mavericks?

Hey guys just wondering what the current major issues you have had with Mavericks are, I'm talking issues that will prevent this from being your daily OS in it's current DP1 form.

So far I know that Adobe Flash doesn't seem to work, but other than that I've not heard of any major bugs and it seems to be very stable..
__________________
MacMystic - Forecasts, predictions and suggestions for Apple Inc
Yixian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 08:52 AM   #2
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
No major bugs (Flash works btw.), just some applications don't work (e.g. Parallels), which can be annoying
leman is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 08:53 AM   #3
bjpom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
After waking from sleep or screen saver it doesn't ask for your password to gain access. Even with 'Require Password Immediately after sleep or screen saver begins' is ticked.

Anyone else experiencing this?
bjpom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 08:54 AM   #4
MacReloaded
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Flash works.

Using full screen apps on multiple displays is very buggy. Couldn't get the menu bar to show up to exit full screen. The dock wouldn't show up. Used the keyboard shortcut to get out of full screen but the window simply disappeared.
__________________
iMac (24-inch, Mid 2007) | iPad 2, Air | iPhone 3G, 4, 4S, 5 | MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012) (Retina, 15-inch, Early 2013)
MacReloaded is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 09:02 AM   #5
joenj07087
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
does anyone know if Logic Pro 9 and Ableton Live 9 work with Mavericks Beta?
joenj07087 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 09:40 AM   #6
Yixian
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Europe
I have seen YouTube vids where people are prompted to upgrade Flash despite having the latest version and get the "plug in needed" error over Flash videos.. Maybe it's an isolated problem.
__________________
MacMystic - Forecasts, predictions and suggestions for Apple Inc
Yixian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 12:00 PM   #7
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Safari and other apps freeze a lot for me. For up to 5-10 seconds. Not sure but I believe "App Nap" has some issues - at least for me.
Krazy Bill is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 12:23 PM   #8
JohnDoe98
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy Bill View Post
Safari and other apps freeze a lot for me. For up to 5-10 seconds. Not sure but I believe "App Nap" has some issues - at least for me.
The only thing I noticed with App Nap that I hope they tweak, is let's say you have many desktops or full-screen apps open and you four finger swipe across them to quickly get to one you want further down in the list. Well, all the Apps in the windows that you swiped across will wake up. If you go directly there through Mission Control, they stay napping. So perhaps Apple should setup a slight delay in how App Nap re-activates apps when you are swiping through desktops (and only under this condition since otherwise we'd want them to speedily resume).
JohnDoe98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 12:44 PM   #9
ValkyrieLenneth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Anyone got hotkey problem in Photoshop CS 6 ?
__________________
 Macbook Pro 17"
 Macbook Pro 13.3" Core i5 + 2x SSD 128GB @ RAID-0.
 iPhone, Super Desktop PCs.
ValkyrieLenneth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 02:19 PM   #10
MichaelDT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yixian View Post
I have seen YouTube vids where people are prompted to upgrade Flash despite having the latest version and get the "plug in needed" error over Flash videos.. Maybe it's an isolated problem.
You just need to go into the Flash control panel and click software update it will download a new version or same version or whatever and then it works. The installer (.dmg) on adobe's site the blocked plugin error directs you too will not work.
MichaelDT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 02:27 PM   #11
rafamarrone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I noticed that my bluetooth had stopped working since I updated tô Mavericks.

I use a rMBP.
rafamarrone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 03:17 PM   #12
ncrypt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
No major bugs (Flash works btw.), just some applications don't work (e.g. Parallels), which can be annoying
Parallels have a fix: http://kb.parallels.com/en/116259
__________________
13" rMBP Early 2013, 2.6GHz, 256GB SSD ; 21.5 iMac Mid 2011, 2.7GHz, 1TB
ncrypt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 03:32 PM   #13
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncrypt View Post
Parallels have a fix: http://kb.parallels.com/en/116259
Nice, thanks!
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 03:41 PM   #14
Yixian
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Europe
Has anyone found something that makes Mavericks unsafe/unsuitable as a daily OS yet?

I have one of the new MBAs and I can just feel it whispering "Mavericks... Mavericks..." to me, just doesn't feel right having ML on this bad boy
__________________
MacMystic - Forecasts, predictions and suggestions for Apple Inc
Yixian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 04:08 PM   #15
techn0lady
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yixian View Post
Has anyone found something that makes Mavericks unsafe/unsuitable as a daily OS yet?
You mean aside from the fact that it is a Beta ? (ahem)
techn0lady is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 04:32 PM   #16
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by techn0lady View Post
You mean aside from the fact that it is a Beta ? (ahem)
Most of the software I use for living is beta, never stopped me
leman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 04:59 PM   #17
Yixian
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by techn0lady View Post
You mean aside from the fact that it is a Beta ? (ahem)
Let's not pretend this isn't MacRumors.com.
__________________
MacMystic - Forecasts, predictions and suggestions for Apple Inc
Yixian is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 05:56 PM   #18
mentalcase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by joenj07087 View Post
does anyone know if Logic Pro 9 and Ableton Live 9 work with Mavericks Beta?
I can confirm that logic is running just fine.

Last edited by mentalcase; Jun 13, 2013 at 06:07 PM.
mentalcase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 07:06 PM   #19
myxomatosis
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montréal
Send a message via Skype™ to myxomatosis
Only problem I’ve encountered so far: Mail won’t display new mail notifications in the Notifications Center.
__________________
Sorry for my English, not my primary language

• Retina MacBook Pro (2012)
CPU: 2.3GHz・RAM: 16GB・SSD: 256GB・OS X 10.9
myxomatosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 07:42 PM   #20
activate
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Had my first system freeze when I clicked not on this url:http://www.oldapps.com/mac/skype.php?old_skype=11978
but the download link within that page.

Then clicked it on another mac running 10.8.3, no dramas.
activate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 09:12 PM   #21
clunkmess
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yixian View Post
I have seen YouTube vids where people are prompted to upgrade Flash despite having the latest version and get the "plug in needed" error over Flash videos.. Maybe it's an isolated problem.
I have this problem on Mavericks for my MBA. It says "blocked plug-in" and won't let me watch YouTube
clunkmess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 09:22 PM   #22
jozeppy26
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St. Louis
Considering installing this to a partition. Anyone have any rMBP issues beyond certain apps not working (illustrated on the "broken apps" forum)?
__________________
Sign the petition! http://wh.gov/h5TJ
jozeppy26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 09:52 PM   #23
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clunkmess View Post
I have this problem on Mavericks for my MBA. It says "blocked plug-in" and won't let me watch YouTube
You are using the wrong version of Flash. Adobe gives OSX 10.9 the wrong one.

Go here, select OSX 10.8 and version 11
Krazy Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 10:44 PM   #24
1BadMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy Bill View Post
Safari and other apps freeze a lot for me. For up to 5-10 seconds. Not sure but I believe "App Nap" has some issues - at least for me.
I was noticing this quite frequently. Specifically, for Safari. But noticed that it would "lag" when un-minimizing an app. Once the app was open again, it would run fine.

I finally disabled AppNap across the board. Runs much more like 10.8.4 -but at the trade off of some battery. I'm going to look into a toggle / script / GUI to do this on an app by app basis.
__________________
1BadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 03:49 AM   #25
Yixian
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Europe
Freezes on the whole pretty rare?
__________________
MacMystic - Forecasts, predictions and suggestions for Apple Inc
Yixian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC