Dell Printer with Mac? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Old Nov 4, 2005, 01:39 PM   #1
elhobbo
macrumors newbie

Dell Printer with Mac?

This might be a very stupid question but I am new to Macs. Is it possible to use my Dell A920 Inkjet printer with my Mac? I have gone to Dell's website and there are only XP and 2000 drivers available. Any help is appreciated.

El Hobbo
elhobbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 01:41 PM   #2
link92
macrumors 6502

If it has a USB cable, probably.
link92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 01:43 PM   #3
elhobbo
macrumors newbie

Yes it has a USB cable but connectin git isn't my problem, its getting the mac to recognise it. Is there a printer set up wizard or something?
elhobbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 01:46 PM   #4
link92
macrumors 6502

Quote:
Originally Posted by elhobbo
Is there a printer set up wizard or something?
Nope. Just plug it in and it should work.
link92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 01:53 PM   #5
Eluon
macrumors regular

Send a message via AIM to Eluon
we very rarely deal with drivers. plug it in and it will work.
Old Nov 4, 2005, 02:24 PM   #6
DaftUnion
macrumors 6502a

Send a message via AIM to DaftUnion
It's a mac. Plug it in. It works. End of story.
iPhone 8gb
DaftUnion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 03:01 PM   #7
cube
macrumors G3

This is a Dell printer. How would it work if Dell makes no Mac drivers that Apple can include with the system?
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 04:50 PM   #8
dmachine
macrumors member

Dell doesnt make their own printers, they just slap their name on it and sell it. I believe that Epson makes their printers, you might be able to try and Epson driver and have that work.
dmachine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2005, 04:55 PM   #9
liketom
macrumors 601