Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:57 PM   #1
Zac10
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
New MacBook Air screen flickering

okey so this is the 2nd day i got my macbook air and today i installed the adobe cs6 and while scrolling down editing pictures the screens started flickering.
is there anything wrong with my settings or i just a bad air?

thanks
Zac10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 10:02 PM   #2
falconeight
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac10 View Post
okey so this is the 2nd day i got my macbook air and today i installed the adobe cs6 and while scrolling down editing pictures the screens started flickering.
is there anything wrong with my settings or i just a bad air?

thanks
Adobe CS6 uses a lot of ram and processor power. I don't think the macbook air is a good choice for running that program smoothly. It will run it just won't run smoothly.
falconeight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 10:04 PM   #3
Mavericks
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I noticed that too while browsing on facebook via safari
Mavericks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 10:10 PM   #4
Zac10
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconeight View Post
Adobe CS6 uses a lot of ram and processor power. I don't think the macbook air is a good choice for running that program smoothly. It will run it just won't run smoothly.
yeah but part of the reason i decided on air was that it will work fine with photoshop and other editing softwares.
it is pretty disappointing.
Zac10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 10:18 PM   #5
luisito
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac10 View Post
yeah but part of the reason i decided on air was that it will work fine with photoshop and other editing softwares.
it is pretty disappointing.
A "CS", Creative Suite will always demand much more power than an individual editing software; it is not the same thing to render an image in photoshop and render a video on CS6 and due to the staggering amount of extra tools, you definitely picked the wrong machine.

Still got time to return it and get the rMBP, make sure is the 15in; if you get the 13in rMBP will probably get worse than the MBA, since you are using a graphics intensive program which has a retina display on top of that without a graphics card powering them.
__________________
Happy to own my first Apple product: Mid 2013 MBA i5, 8GB, 256GB SSD. (:
Happy to own my second Apple product: Blue iPod Shuffle 4th Generation. (:
luisito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 10:30 PM   #6
falconeight
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by luisito View Post
A "CS", Creative Suite will always demand much more power than an individual editing software; it is not the same thing to render an image in photoshop and render a video on CS6 and due to the staggering amount of extra tools, you definitely picked the wrong machine.

Still got time to return it and get the rMBP, make sure is the 15in; if you get the 13in rMBP will probably get worse than the MBA, since you are using a graphics intensive program which has a retina display on top of that without a graphics card powering them.
I have a 13 inch rMBP and it runs cs6 fine.
falconeight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:12 PM   #7
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by luisito View Post
A "CS", Creative Suite will always demand much more power than an individual editing software; it is not the same thing to render an image in photoshop and render a video on CS6 and due to the staggering amount of extra tools, you definitely picked the wrong machine.

Still got time to return it and get the rMBP, make sure is the 15in; if you get the 13in rMBP will probably get worse than the MBA, since you are using a graphics intensive program which has a retina display on top of that without a graphics card powering them.
The video below, Lisa demonstrates Photoshop running on a i7 MBA just fine. I believe one of the comments below, someone was asking if DW and PS would run fine and she states that the base model might even suffice.

I guess you can take what she says with a grain of salt.

http://youtu.be/bQvJUivX-3s?t=14m13s
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:18 PM   #8
Zac10
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
my 3 years old sony vaio i3 with 4gb ram was fine. it wasnt as fast as air is but atleast no screen flickring.
Zac10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:22 PM   #9
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac10 View Post
my 3 years old sony vaio i3 with 4gb ram was fine. it wasnt as fast as air is but atleast no screen flickring.
So, are you returning or exchanging?

----------

To be fair, when in a thread, it seems that the boxes that separate each post flicker when scrolling. If that makes any sense.
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:26 PM   #10
Zac10
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
so theres nothing wrong with my air?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
So, are you returning or exchanging?

----------

To be fair, when in a thread, it seems that the boxes that separate each post flicker when scrolling. If that makes any sense.
based on what you are saying i should exchange it with another one.
lets hope bestbuy has another one in stock soon.

i dnt know if i should replace it with macbook pro or just stay with air
Zac10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:28 PM   #11
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac10 View Post
so theres nothing wrong with my air?
Not sure what to tell you.. You mentioned in OP that its only your 2nd day with it, I say give it another day, test it out with other software..

Curious, have you checked which display you're using, whether its LG or Samsung?
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:32 PM   #12
Zac10
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
Not sure what to tell you.. You mentioned in OP that its only your 2nd day with it, I say give it another day, test it out with other software..

Curious, have you checked which display you're using, whether its LG or Samsung?
how do you find out? this is my first apple laptop.
i doubt it would be samsung after all these court trials between the companies.

i also wanted to know how to find ram usage for different softwares.

----------

i am a premier silver member and i have 60 days to try it on
Zac10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:36 PM   #13
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac10 View Post
so theres nothing wrong with my air?

----------


based on what you are saying i should exchange it with another one.
lets hope bestbuy has another one in stock soon.


i dnt know if i should replace it with macbook pro or just stay with air
In ref to my MBA, I'm not sure if its serious, though..

I wish MBA was perfect, but its not. It so desires a Retina but man, I love the slim factor. This thing is light and just perfect when it comes to traveling. I've considered exchanging but I just don't know if I wanna add the extra weight (which isn't much) with a 13" rMBP.

If I do stick with the MBA, I won't keep it for long; I plan on getting the updated rMBP when they're announced--which contradicts my previous statement, lol.. but whatever.

but again, my primary machine is a Mac mini so, MBA is fine for my needs--for now.

----------

If you don't have a primary machine, I think you're better off going rMBP.
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:37 PM   #14
Zac10
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
how long does ur battery last?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
In ref to my MBA, I'm not sure if its serious, though..

I wish MBA was perfect, but its not. It so desires a Retina but man, I love the slim factor. This thing is light and just perfect when it comes to traveling. I've considered exchanging but I just don't know if I wanna add the extra weight (which isn't much) with a 13" rMBP.

If I do stick with the MBA, I won't keep it for long; I plan on getting the updated rMBP when they're announced--which contradicts my previous statement, lol.. but whatever.

but again, my primary machine is a Mac mini so, MBA is fine for my needs--for now.

----------

If you don't have a primary machine, I think you're better off going rMBP.
my battery right now is at 91% and is showing only 5 hours.
Zac10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:39 PM   #15
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
I can't complain about my battery. My MBA has been on since Saturday afternoon and I'm at 35% with 4:46 remaining. not too shabby.
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:42 PM   #16
falconeight
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
If you are going to run graphic intense software and want the air to do it flawlessly, then you need the best processor and most ram. If the screen is flickering when not using adobe then something is wrong with the unit. I did notice that when scrolling on macbook air the screen does blur a little and it might be considered flickering by some people.
falconeight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:45 PM   #17
butch10x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I've been dealing with the same issues on my mba 13" 8gb 512 new one too. I talked to a Apple rep and she concluded that since everything ran perfect on my machine other than Photoshop, it's a software issue with Adobe. I have yet to resolve this issue.

If Adobe doesn't have a answer in two days, my machine is going back since I really bought it for photo use. Even if they do figure out something, I'm most likely to going to return and wait for the new Pros. I played with both the 13 and 15 inch versions today and now my big decision is which one to get as far as size. Retina is a drug!

Here are two threads in addition to this one if you want to add to them.

http://forums.adobe.com/message/5449199#5449199

https://discussions.apple.com/message/22274219#22274219

Hope this helps.
__________________
2010 3.2 Quad Core Mac Pro, 12GB OWC Ram, 27" NEC /calibrated
http://500px.com/butch10x
www.bpatelphoto.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/butch10x/
butch10x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:50 PM   #18
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
^^ In the Apple Forums, 4th post, the poster says that when upgrading to Maverick, the problem went away. Could possibly software.
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 11:56 PM   #19
butch10x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
^^ In the Apple Forums, 4th post, the poster says that when upgrading to Maverick, the problem went away. Could possibly software.
I read that too, but I dont have access to Mavericks beta and I only have 2 days on my 14 day "trial" to decide to keep this machine.
__________________
2010 3.2 Quad Core Mac Pro, 12GB OWC Ram, 27" NEC /calibrated
http://500px.com/butch10x
www.bpatelphoto.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/butch10x/
butch10x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:06 AM   #20
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by butch10x View Post
I read that too, but I dont have access to Mavericks beta and I only have 2 days on my 14 day "trial" to decide to keep this machine.
If 2 days all you have and you want peace of mind, return it. You don't want to keep something without knowing what could be causing the flickering.

----------

You can also contact that poster and see if you both share the same issue. Maybe he/she can be of some sort help.
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:08 AM   #21
butch10x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
If 2 days all you have and you want peace of mind, return it. You don't want to keep something without knowing what could be causing the flickering.
I agree. I was really hopeful that this MBA would be a decent photo machine. For Lightroom, it does run really good. Photoshop not running isn't gonna cut it. I should have waited for the MBP refresh anyway.
__________________
2010 3.2 Quad Core Mac Pro, 12GB OWC Ram, 27" NEC /calibrated
http://500px.com/butch10x
www.bpatelphoto.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/butch10x/

Last edited by butch10x; Jun 26, 2013 at 12:13 AM.
butch10x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:36 AM   #22
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by butch10x View Post
I agree. I was really hopeful that this MBA would be a decent photo machine. For Lightroom, it does run really good. Photoshop not running isn't gonna cut it. I should have waited for the MBP refresh anyway.
You could return the MBA and get a new one but on a new transaction so you can get another 15 days. The retailer should honor that.
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 03:35 AM   #23
kave
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sweden
Using a 2013 or 2012 MacBook Air is just fine with CS6, the performance is just fine. They are not optimized at all, except some filters in Photoshop, for using multiple threads, so barely no advantage with a MacBook pro.
There is something wrong with the graphics drivers in the 2013 models however.
When scrolling Instagram using Safari it is very jerky.
Using Chrome or Firefox is just fine.
kave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:29 PM   #24
plasticsman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac10 View Post
okey so this is the 2nd day i got my macbook air and today i installed the adobe cs6 and while scrolling down editing pictures the screens started flickering.
is there anything wrong with my settings or i just a bad air?

thanks
Hi,

I experienced this problem on Photoshop CC as well. I just installed it after I saw your thread and when using brushes, etc it was having some issues. Then I got a notification that an update was available and I installed it. Seems to have fixed the problem. Can you try it?

I have the 13 inch 2013 as well. i5/8 gigs mem
plasticsman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:32 PM   #25
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticsman View Post
Hi,

I experienced this problem on Photoshop CC as well. I just installed it after I saw your thread and when using brushes, etc it was having some issues. Then I got a notification that an update was available and I installed it. Seems to have fixed the problem. Can you try it?

I have the 13 inch 2013 as well. i5/8 gigs mem
Great to hear! Was the update from apple or adobe?
__________________
Computers: Late 2009 Mac Mini, Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (AT&T) ROM: Danvdh 4.4.4
HiDEF is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Tearing/flickering 2013 Macbook Air SimonUK5 MacBook Air 5 May 1, 2014 04:39 PM
2012 MacBook Air screen flickering jarroyo1031 MacBook Air 3 Nov 5, 2013 12:41 PM
Apple Releases MacBook Air Software Update to Fix Photoshop Screen Flickering and Wi-Fi Connection Issues MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 50 Jul 22, 2013 05:55 PM
MacBook screen flickering supernova8610 MacBook 0 Feb 1, 2013 12:16 PM
MacBook Screen Flickering ATLCarGuy MacBook 3 Jun 2, 2012 08:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC