New MacBook Air screen flickering

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Zac10, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #1
    okey so this is the 2nd day i got my macbook air and today i installed the adobe cs6 and while scrolling down editing pictures the screens started flickering.
    is there anything wrong with my settings or i just a bad air?

    thanks
     
  2. Guest

    falconeight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #2
    Adobe CS6 uses a lot of ram and processor power. I don't think the macbook air is a good choice for running that program smoothly. It will run it just won't run smoothly.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Mavericks

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #3
    I noticed that too while browsing on facebook via safari
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #4
    yeah but part of the reason i decided on air was that it will work fine with photoshop and other editing softwares.
    it is pretty disappointing.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    luisito

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #5
    A "CS", Creative Suite will always demand much more power than an individual editing software; it is not the same thing to render an image in photoshop and render a video on CS6 and due to the staggering amount of extra tools, you definitely picked the wrong machine.

    Still got time to return it and get the rMBP, make sure is the 15in; if you get the 13in rMBP will probably get worse than the MBA, since you are using a graphics intensive program which has a retina display on top of that without a graphics card powering them.
     
  6. Guest

    falconeight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #6
    I have a 13 inch rMBP and it runs cs6 fine.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #7
    The video below, Lisa demonstrates Photoshop running on a i7 MBA just fine. I believe one of the comments below, someone was asking if DW and PS would run fine and she states that the base model might even suffice.

    I guess you can take what she says with a grain of salt.

    http://youtu.be/bQvJUivX-3s?t=14m13s
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #8
    my 3 years old sony vaio i3 with 4gb ram was fine. it wasnt as fast as air is but atleast no screen flickring.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #9
    So, are you returning or exchanging?

    ----------

    To be fair, when in a thread, it seems that the boxes that separate each post flicker when scrolling. If that makes any sense.:rolleyes:
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #10
    so theres nothing wrong with my air?

    ----------

    based on what you are saying i should exchange it with another one.
    lets hope bestbuy has another one in stock soon.

    i dnt know if i should replace it with macbook pro or just stay with air
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #11
    Not sure what to tell you.. You mentioned in OP that its only your 2nd day with it, I say give it another day, test it out with other software..

    Curious, have you checked which display you're using, whether its LG or Samsung?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #12
    how do you find out? this is my first apple laptop.
    i doubt it would be samsung after all these court trials between the companies.

    i also wanted to know how to find ram usage for different softwares.

    ----------

    i am a premier silver member and i have 60 days to try it on :D
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #13
    In ref to my MBA, I'm not sure if its serious, though..

    I wish MBA was perfect, but its not. It so desires a Retina but man, I love the slim factor. This thing is light and just perfect when it comes to traveling. I've considered exchanging but I just don't know if I wanna add the extra weight (which isn't much) with a 13" rMBP.

    If I do stick with the MBA, I won't keep it for long; I plan on getting the updated rMBP when they're announced--which contradicts my previous statement, lol.. but whatever.

    but again, my primary machine is a Mac mini so, MBA is fine for my needs--for now.

    ----------

    If you don't have a primary machine, I think you're better off going rMBP.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    #14
    how long does ur battery last?

    my battery right now is at 91% and is showing only 5 hours.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #15
    I can't complain about my battery. My MBA has been on since Saturday afternoon and I'm at 35% with 4:46 remaining. :cool: not too shabby.
     
  16. Guest

    falconeight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #16
    If you are going to run graphic intense software and want the air to do it flawlessly, then you need the best processor and most ram. If the screen is flickering when not using adobe then something is wrong with the unit. I did notice that when scrolling on macbook air the screen does blur a little and it might be considered flickering by some people.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #17
    I've been dealing with the same issues on my mba 13" 8gb 512 new one too. I talked to a Apple rep and she concluded that since everything ran perfect on my machine other than Photoshop, it's a software issue with Adobe. I have yet to resolve this issue.

    If Adobe doesn't have a answer in two days, my machine is going back since I really bought it for photo use. Even if they do figure out something, I'm most likely to going to return and wait for the new Pros. I played with both the 13 and 15 inch versions today and now my big decision is which one to get as far as size. Retina is a drug!

    Here are two threads in addition to this one if you want to add to them.

    http://forums.adobe.com/message/5449199#5449199

    https://discussions.apple.com/message/22274219#22274219

    Hope this helps.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #18
    ^^ In the Apple Forums, 4th post, the poster says that when upgrading to Maverick, the problem went away. Could possibly software.
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #19
    I read that too, but I dont have access to Mavericks beta and I only have 2 days on my 14 day "trial" to decide to keep this machine.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #20
    If 2 days all you have and you want peace of mind, return it. You don't want to keep something without knowing what could be causing the flickering.

    ----------

    You can also contact that poster and see if you both share the same issue. Maybe he/she can be of some sort help.
     
  21. butch10x, Jun 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #21
    I agree. I was really hopeful that this MBA would be a decent photo machine. For Lightroom, it does run really good. Photoshop not running isn't gonna cut it. I should have waited for the MBP refresh anyway.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #22
    You could return the MBA and get a new one but on a new transaction so you can get another 15 days. The retailer should honor that.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #23
    Using a 2013 or 2012 MacBook Air is just fine with CS6, the performance is just fine. They are not optimized at all, except some filters in Photoshop, for using multiple threads, so barely no advantage with a MacBook pro.
    There is something wrong with the graphics drivers in the 2013 models however.
    When scrolling Instagram using Safari it is very jerky.
    Using Chrome or Firefox is just fine.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #24
    Hi,

    I experienced this problem on Photoshop CC as well. I just installed it after I saw your thread and when using brushes, etc it was having some issues. Then I got a notification that an update was available and I installed it. Seems to have fixed the problem. Can you try it?

    I have the 13 inch 2013 as well. i5/8 gigs mem
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #25
    Great to hear! Was the update from apple or adobe?
     

Share This Page