Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2013, 04:02 PM   #1
AXs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Skype- No camera detected 10.8.5

Anyone else have this issue with the 2013 Air?

Facetime works fine.

But no camera detected on skype.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 04:08 PM   #2
Idarzoid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
So I'm not the only one.

Worked fine in 10.8.4 but not anymore after I updated to 10.8.5.
__________________
MacBook Air (13", 2014)
i5-4260U | Intel HD 5000 | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Idarzoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 04:13 PM   #3
AXs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
GrrrrrrrrrrrRRR.





god damn Apple. Stop ***** my first time mac experience. I use skype everyday for work. lotsa international clients.

So If I enter time machine does it go back to 10.8.4 ?
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 04:16 PM   #4
Mr. Zarniwoop
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXs View Post
Anyone else have this issue with the 2013 Air?

Facetime works fine.

But no camera detected on skype.
Yes, and it happens with all 32-bit applications that use the FaceTime HD camera on the MacBook Air 2013. More on the reason for the issue here on the Skype forums: OS X 10.8.5 Broke Skype Video - Page 2 - Skype Community.

The same thread has a workaround on page 4: revert to the 32-bit/64-bit CoreMedia AppleCamera.plugin from 10.8.4 instead of the 64-bit-only one in 10.8.5.

Last edited by Mr. Zarniwoop; Sep 15, 2013 at 04:18 PM. Reason: add link to workaround
Mr. Zarniwoop is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 04:25 PM   #5
AXs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
cheers for the reply.

Gonna figure out how to restore.

Sad experience here for first time Mac User. didn't expect something like this.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:01 PM   #6
AXs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Restored to 10.8.4, Fixed.

Sigh.

Cheers people. Don't upgrade if you use skype frequently.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:22 PM   #7
jmoore5196
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Isn't Skype a Microsoft product?

If for no other reason, I imagine you can expect compatibility issues. Many of us refuse to use it on principle.
jmoore5196 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:23 PM   #8
Mr. Zarniwoop
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXs View Post
Don't upgrade if you use skype frequently.
Or just use this universal binary (32/64-bit) AppleCamera.plugin from OS X 10.8.4 instead of the 64-bit-only one from 10.8.5 and place it in your /Library/CoreMediaIO/Plug-Ins/DAL folder.
Mr. Zarniwoop is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:27 PM   #9
ItHurtsWhenIP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 'Merica!
I just swapped out the AppleCamera.plugin from the Skype forum post and restarted, checked video in Settings and it's working.

http://community.skype.com/t5/Mac/OS...ht/true#M58252

Then followed the instructions from 2 posts above it..
ItHurtsWhenIP is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:37 PM   #10
AXs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoore5196 View Post
Isn't Skype a Microsoft product?

If for no other reason, I imagine you can expect compatibility issues. Many of us refuse to use it on principle.
unfortunately in the export industry, they really don't care what OS we use.

Just gotta be able to skype.

This was the fastest fix. I'll look into solutions for 10.8.5 and explore when I have time.

If anyone has a confirm fix, please share... and if you don't mind explain
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:46 PM   #11
Mr. Zarniwoop
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXs View Post
If anyone has a confirm fix, please share... and if you don't mind explain
Sorry I wasn't clear. There is a fix, and it works on my MacBook Air 13-inch, Mid 2013 model. which I explained at a high-level and linked to the file. The posts I reference include much more information in case you are interested.
Mr. Zarniwoop is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 05:48 PM   #12
ItHurtsWhenIP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 'Merica!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXs View Post

If anyone has a confirm fix, please share... and if you don't mind explain
Read the posts in this thread, it's been confirmed and explained.
ItHurtsWhenIP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 06:01 PM   #13
AXs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Thanks guys.

will surely get it done later at night after work.

Will provide feedback.

Thanks for the great help. Owe you guys 1, cheers.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 06:34 PM   #14
m98custom1212
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Wait I thought windows only had issues with updated software?
__________________
3930K O/C 4.4ghz | 64gb Ram | (2) 256gb SSD| 770 |(3) 1080P IPS | WIN 8 | MNT LION| Surface Pro 128gb
HTC ONE| HomeServer 4X3TB
m98custom1212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2013, 08:36 PM   #15
Mr. Zarniwoop
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by m98custom1212 View Post
Wait I thought windows only had issues with updated software?
Well, it may have been a bug where some Apple developer forgot to tick "universal binary" in Xcode, but it just as easily may be a "feature."

Apple seems willing to forsake compatibility in favor of looking forward towards the future. So, perhaps they intended the CoreMedia plug-ins were only going to be 64-bit moving forward? I tend to think it was an oversight and there will be a quick fix.
Mr. Zarniwoop is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera doesn't work for skype residenthalo OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Oct 23, 2013 07:58 PM
FaceTime camera not detected on 15" rMBP mid2012 printz MacBook Pro 0 Oct 6, 2013 02:42 AM
10.8.5- Skype doesn't detect camera AXs OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 17, 2013 08:07 AM
Skype Rolls Out Free Video Messaging to Skype for Mac and iOS MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 28 Jun 19, 2013 10:17 AM
HD not detected? Need some help! Fairlyawesome MacBook Pro 12 Nov 27, 2012 09:02 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC