Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2013, 12:50 PM   #1
BigRed1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Logic Pro 9 in Mavericks?

Does anyone have Logic Pro 9 working in Mavericks? Any new issues?
BigRed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 09:44 PM   #2
t434
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRed1 View Post
Does anyone have Logic Pro 9 working in Mavericks? Any new issues?
Not so far works perfectly! They just released the 10.0.4 for it too so I'm pretty sure its stable.
t434 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 10:47 PM   #3
BigRed1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by t434 View Post
Not so far works perfectly! They just released the 10.0.4 for it too so I'm pretty sure its stable.
Are you running 9 or X or both? Thanks!
BigRed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 09:24 AM   #4
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
i'd love to hear about 9 in mavericks. i'm not ready to switch to X yet - or even ML.

right now everything works… (10.7.5).
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 09:41 AM   #5
BigRed1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
It's not an immediate issue for me. My Mac mini won't run Mavericks, but I really don't want to have to spend another $200 on top of a computer upgrade just to keep my current software if Logic 9 won't run on the new machine.
BigRed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 03:43 PM   #6
t434
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRed1 View Post
Are you running 9 or X or both? Thanks!
I have both 9 and X and they both run fine on Mavericks. I don't know why, but I am always using Logic 9 more than X. I guess its just an issue with me adjusting to the new look (even though not much has changed except the transport bar).

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
i'd love to hear about 9 in mavericks. i'm not ready to switch to X yet - or even ML.

right now everything works… (10.7.5).
I would stick with 9 for a while...most of the things in 9 are still the same in X. Mavericks, on the other hand, is a rockin' for me - especially since it is a free download. It gave my MBP an extra hour of battery life from ML. :
t434 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 04:53 PM   #7
BigRed1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by t434 View Post
I have both 9 and X and they both run fine on Mavericks. I don't know why, but I am always using Logic 9 more than X. I guess its just an issue with me adjusting to the new look (even though not much has changed except the transport bar).

----------

Thank you! That's quite a relief for me...
BigRed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 01:10 AM   #8
djtech42
macrumors 65816
 
djtech42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Chester, OH
I can confirm 9 is working in Mavericks. Mavericks is awesome!
__________________
2012 15" rMBP, 16 GB RAM, OS X Mavericks ; 2009 24" iMac C2Duo, 8 GB RAM ; 32 GB Black Verizon iPhone 5 ; 32 GB White iPad rMini ; Apple TV (2nd Gen) ;
djtech42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2013, 07:11 PM   #9
MasterBlaster77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Logic Pro 9 Lagging in Mavericks

My Logic Pro 9 is really lagging in Mavericks...I can hear my production but cannot see any scroll in the arrangement area and no visual volume meters in the mixer area. GRRRR!!!!
I have an iMAC, 21.5-inch, Mid 2010, Processor 3.06 GHz Intel Core i3, Memory 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, Graphics ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB
Currently running Logic Pro 9 on OS X 10.9....Please Help!!!
MasterBlaster77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2013, 02:34 PM   #10
hi-q
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
I have Macbook Pro Late 2011, 8 Gb of RAM, and Logic 9 runs significantly worse under Mavericks. Say, I press "Sends" drop-down menu in the Channel Strip, the menu appears and gets frozen for 5-10 seconds, and I can't really do anything during this time and have to wait until it un-freezes. I also encountered problems with dragging notes in Piano Roll -- when I was dragging a note, it wasn't visible until it is released (very inconvenient). Same happened to audio and MIDI regions -- you start to copy-drag something and can't see where you're gonna drop it. I guess I would downgrade back to previous OSX version if it wasn't so much hassle, since the Logic 9 is the program I use really a lot (and I don't want to move on onto Logic X).
hi-q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2014, 05:31 PM   #11
Leekenn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Issues with Logic Pro 9 In Mavericks

Ahh... I wish it was smooth! Since 'upgrading' to Mavericks, Logic has started to exhibit a host of problems for me. After a certain amount of time using the program, I often get increasingly aggressive audio glitches until I have to restart my iMac. Once a project is using a large amount of CPU & RAM, I get the same 'freezing' problem as mentioned by another poster here. And once every few days, it randomly gives me a spinning beach ball of death, and I have to restart the computer.

I have already lost some work to this last problem, and as a whole these issues, combined with no actual improvements whatsoever from a professional standpoint, mean that using the new OSX has damaged my productivity.

Based on the really positive early feedback on Mavericks, I broke a crucial rule of using a computer for professional purposes; namely - NEVER update your OS without a few months of waiting, and some trusted opinions. I can see that not too many people are having these problems, but all that does is turn upgrading from suicide to Russian roulette.
Leekenn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2014, 06:15 PM   #12
Boyd01
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey Pine Barrens
I am still on Logic 9 and 10.8. No plans to upgrade either.
Boyd01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2014, 07:31 PM   #13
wingedwords
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
logic pro 9 in mavericks

upgraded last night to mavericks .all the sudden crazy latency issues..went from lowest buffer size to highest..everything seems like its lagging..mac book pro late 2012 model 8 gigs i5 64 bit
wingedwords is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2014, 10:02 PM   #14
BigRed1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingedwords View Post
upgraded last night to mavericks .all the sudden crazy latency issues..went from lowest buffer size to highest..everything seems like its lagging..mac book pro late 2012 model 8 gigs i5 64 bit
Strange, it's really working fine for me on a 2009 mac mini, base model 8 gigs, SSHD. I'm running an Apogee. Could it be a problem with your audio device?
BigRed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2014, 02:55 AM   #15
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I had a few issues with 9 under Mavericks but managed to wangle a free upgrade to X. No issues now
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2014, 11:48 AM   #16
Marty62
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin formerly London
I'm not going anywhere near "Mav" for a while, don't see the need.

I have L9 and LX working in ML 10.8.5 perfectly, in either 32 or 64bit
modes which is very cool.

Getting used to "X" won't take long, it's all there just looks a little different.

There is also the free "Logic Themes" which has become a bit of a cool thing.

"Theme switcher" was released from a clever guy in the US, so now Logic X
can look like an SSL or like pro tools or Ableton OR even Logic 9 !!

Here's a link : http://lts.coldpressgroup.com

I have tried around 8 themes and settled on one that was close to normal X
but just a little lighter and easier to read etc.

M.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6 Core 3,33ghz, 32Gb, 840 EVO 750gb, Apricorn V2 solo, Inateck Kt4004 USB3.0
Macbook Pro 8,2 Quad 2,4ghz, 8Gb, 840 EVO 750gb
iPad 1 64gb - iPad Mini 16gb - iPhone 3GS - iPhone 5
Marty62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks GUI response:Logic pro 9 & Logic Pro X? infoseeker OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Apr 3, 2014 12:21 PM
Updated to Mavericks and Logic Pro X restarts the Mac riggidy MacBook Pro 4 Nov 24, 2013 10:39 AM
Logic Pro 9 Lagging in Mavericks MasterBlaster77 Digital Audio 6 Nov 9, 2013 10:09 AM
Logic 9 on Mavericks Beatbeckham Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 23, 2013 07:09 AM
Logic X + Mavericks = ? patent10021 Digital Audio 8 Oct 10, 2013 07:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC