Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Old Jan 13, 2003, 08:44 PM   #1
Todd Clark
macrumors newbie

Question IMAC Internal Modem not found

I am new to MAC's and need some help form some pro's.
I just upgraded my IMAC DV 400 to OS 9.1 (had 8.6) and my modem is not found. It worked fine before I upgraded so I dont think its a hardware problem. As far as updates go, I downloaded Apples Modem Update 2.0 but it wont install, because it cant find the modem.
I have tried to change the modem properties (Connect via) to "Internal Modem", but I can not change it! Its set to "No serial port available".
Please help!
Todd Clark is offline   0
Old Jan 13, 2003, 09:58 PM   #2
iJon
macrumors 604

Re: IMAC Internal Modem not found

Quote:
Originally posted by Todd Clark
I am new to MAC's and need some help form some pro's.
I just upgraded my IMAC DV 400 to OS 9.1 (had 8.6) and my modem is not found. It worked fine before I upgraded so I dont think its a hardware problem. As far as updates go, I downloaded Apples Modem Update 2.0 but it wont install, because it cant find the modem.
I have tried to change the modem properties (Connect via) to "Internal Modem", but I can not change it! Its set to "No serial port available".
Please help!
well this could be a number of problems. the first thing i would do if i were you is go upgrade from 9.1 to 9.2.2. dont worry, they are free upgrades and you can find them at versiontracker.com. I would also run software update, there are bound to be some firmare updates out there. start with 9.2.2 first.

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2003, 11:22 AM   #3
Todd Clark
macrumors newbie

Thank you, I will try that.
Todd Clark is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2003, 11:46 AM   #4
TEG
macrumors 604

Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG