Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 23, 2014, 10:18 PM   #1
Armen
macrumors 68030
 
Armen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Hand Off and Continuity Setup

I searched the Internet for hours trying to figure out how to get Hand off and Continuity and phone calls to work. I thought I'd put all that stuff in one place and hopefully save someone the trouble of trying to collect this information themselves.

Initial Steps:

-On your Mac go to About this Mac > System Report. Under the Bluetooth Category your LMP version needs to be 0x6.. Anything lower And the hand off feature will not work. I have heard phone call do however.

-On Your Mac: Go to system preferences > General > and click the "allow handoff" box at the bottom.

-On your iDevice Go to settings > general > and enable hand off.

-On your Mac open FaceTime and go to preferences. Check the "allow iPhone calls" box.

Next few steps:

- Make sure Bluetooth and Wifi are turned on for both devices.
- Make sure you are logged in to the same iCloud account on both devices.
- Make sure that your FaceTime is also logged in to the same account (this is needed for the phone calls feature to work).
- Make sure you are on the same Wifi network. Especially if you have a dual band Router. Both devices need to be on the same band to work. Don't connect to 2.4ghz on on device and 5ghz on the other.

How to verify Hand off actually works or not:

- If you open a web page in Safari on your iDevice you should get a bouncing icon on your Mac computer dock that shows up on the left end of the dock (it will kind of look out of place).

- If you open a web page on your Mac with Safari the lock screen of your iDevice should show an icon opposite the camera icon. Swipe up to open it.

Making phone calls

Open the contacts app on your Mac IF you click the phone icon it should say calling using iPhone.

Hope this helps.

P.S. you do NOT need to pair your devices.

Forgot to add if Safari is in private mode it doesn't hand off.

Last edited by Armen; Aug 4, 2014 at 05:26 PM. Reason: Updated info
Armen is offline   18 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2014, 10:24 PM   #2
BasicGreatGuy
macrumors 68000
 
BasicGreatGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
I was going to install iOS8 on my iPhone 5 in hopes of pairing with my MBP late 2011. After reading your informative post, I see that that would have been a waste of time. My MBP doesn't have the right LMP. Thank you for the post.
__________________
The Bill of Rights is not a Bill of Loopholes.
BasicGreatGuy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2014, 10:32 PM   #3
E3BK
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NYC
Very helpful! I could not figure out how to get the phone calls to work now I'm all set so thanks!
E3BK is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2014, 11:25 PM   #4
lehman310
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I can get phone calls to work but I cannot get safari, messages and other handoff features to work. Any ideas on how to fix this?
lehman310 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2014, 11:29 PM   #5
Patriot24
macrumors 68020
 
Patriot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
It appears that Handoff has been hidden/disabled in DP4.

Edit: I saw the toggle in previous builds, but do not see it in Settings > General now. I'm on a mid-2011 MBA with the requisite LMP. Not sure why it isn't showing the option?
__________________
If you found this post to be insightful, read more at Thirty-Nine A.

Last edited by Patriot24; Jul 23, 2014 at 11:39 PM.
Patriot24 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 12:07 AM   #6
mikecwest
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Thanks for the tips.....You have me one step closer... I checked the box in FaceTime, and I try to make a call, it will say "using iPhone", however it never actually does it. The iPhone does not seem to even try.

The iPhone is not actually activated right now, (cracked screen, wife's old phone, I use it as a camera only) I would think that it would at least show the iPhone trying to dial.

I also do not hear anything out of the mac speakers....
mikecwest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 12:43 AM   #7
jameslmoser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I haven't looked at any of this as I haven't installed either the Yosemite DP or iOS 8 DPs, but I can't believe the number of posts on people trying to get this to work. Its pretty obvious that apple needs to make it clear what devices support what and how you use them if your device supports them.
jameslmoser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 12:49 AM   #8
lehman310
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameslmoser View Post
I haven't looked at any of this as I haven't installed either the Yosemite DP or iOS 8 DPs, but I can't believe the number of posts on people trying to get this to work. Its pretty obvious that apple needs to make it clear what devices support what and how you use them if your device supports them.

Yeah, there is no real help for setup besides a simple check box on both iOS and OS X. They need to implement some sort of setup process.
lehman310 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 01:09 AM   #9
petvas
macrumors 68040
 
petvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Send a message via AIM to petvas
Quote:
Originally Posted by lehman310 View Post
Yeah, there is no real help for setup besides a simple check box on both iOS and OS X. They need to implement some sort of setup process.
No, they don't. The should (and will) make it totally transparent for everyone to use, with no setup.
__________________
petvas is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 10:32 AM   #10
Armen
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Armen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot24 View Post
It appears that Handoff has been hidden/disabled in DP4.

Edit: I saw the toggle in previous builds, but do not see it in Settings > General now. I'm on a mid-2011 MBA with the requisite LMP. Not sure why it isn't showing the option?
That's strange because the toggle is there for me on DP4 with a Mid 2013 MBP. Have you tried restarting your Mac?
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB Space Gray; Mid 2013 Macbook Pro 8GB, 500GB; iPad Mini, 1st Gen Apple TV
Armen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 11:59 AM   #11
Patriot24
macrumors 68020
 
Patriot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armen View Post
That's strange because the toggle is there for me on DP4 with a Mid 2013 MBP. Have you tried restarting your Mac?
Yep, I restarted several times (Yosemite is booting from an external drive).
__________________
If you found this post to be insightful, read more at Thirty-Nine A.
Patriot24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 01:23 PM   #12
DarkCole
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
I thought I read somewhere that SMS wasn't suppose to work with iMessage yet? Well in the public build a text message that was sent to my phone shot to my iMessage on my Mac. I was unable to to reply though.

MBPr and 4S
DarkCole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 01:29 PM   #13
tooshaggy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SoCal
In the seed notes for DP4 the SMS messaging is disabled. It worked for the previous builds but is broken for this build.
The handoff toggle is still in System Prefs> General, near the bottom.
__________________
PPC G5 dual 2.5ghz, 3.5 gig ddr sdram, 1.4 TB of drive capacity, 30" Apple display, Early 2013 15" retina MBP with 16Gb ram, 705 gig SSD, iPhone6 64gb, iPad 1 32gig, 160 gig iPod
tooshaggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 01:37 PM   #14
E3BK
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot24 View Post
It appears that Handoff has been hidden/disabled in DP4.

Edit: I saw the toggle in previous builds, but do not see it in Settings > General now. I'm on a mid-2011 MBA with the requisite LMP. Not sure why it isn't showing the option?
They removed it in DP3 for the mid-2011 MBA, which I also have.
E3BK is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 01:41 PM   #15
Patriot24
macrumors 68020
 
Patriot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by E3BK View Post
They removed it in DP3 for the mid-2011 MBA, which I also have.
Thanks for the confirmation. We'll see what happens in future builds. I'm not all that concerned at this point.
__________________
If you found this post to be insightful, read more at Thirty-Nine A.
Patriot24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 01:52 PM   #16
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have both iphone and ipad connected to 2.4 ghz and the macs because they have wifi ac i have them connected to 5ghz to my time capsule and hand off works phone calls sms etc
__________________
27" iMac late 2013, Macbook Pro 15" late 2013, 13" Macbook Air late 2012,iPad Air,iPhone 5s Gold&Space grey
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 02:02 PM   #17
Donfor39
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lanarkshire Scotland
Ive never been able to get bluetooth working via iPhone os7 +mcbpro -mavericks/now Yosemite beta

Why doesn't my phone pair with macbook when the pairing code is confirmed it says connected for 2-3 secs then disconnected
__________________
13" Macbook(L2013) pro 8g ram i5 2.6 512 g ssd
500 GB WD Mypassport hdd
3rd gen Airport Extreme Apple t.v. 3
IPhone 6 64gb Gold Bose Airlink wifi speaker
Donfor39 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 02:19 PM   #18
DarkCole
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
I can somewhat get the calling to work on my mac. I can hear the other person but they can't hear me.

Edit: I'm stupid thought I had bluetooth on but I didn't

Thanks to the OP for this guide

Last edited by DarkCole; Jul 24, 2014 at 02:32 PM.
DarkCole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 03:35 PM   #19
langscinema
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
I have both iphone and ipad connected to 2.4 ghz and the macs because they have wifi ac i have them connected to 5ghz to my time capsule and hand off works phone calls sms etc
when you say handoff, sms, etc work........do you mean on every one of your devices or just certain devices
langscinema is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 03:38 PM   #20
E3BK
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooshaggy View Post
In the seed notes for DP4 the SMS messaging is disabled. It worked for the previous builds but is broken for this build.
The handoff toggle is still in System Prefs> General, near the bottom.
Yeah, I lost SMS when I upgraded to DP4. Calls still work though.
E3BK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 04:21 PM   #21
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by langscinema View Post
when you say handoff, sms, etc work........do you mean on every one of your devices or just certain devices
everyone
__________________
27" iMac late 2013, Macbook Pro 15" late 2013, 13" Macbook Air late 2012,iPad Air,iPhone 5s Gold&Space grey
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 04:28 PM   #22
langscinema
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
everyone
jealous!!!......havent been able to get handoff working since DP1, think it may be a lack of wifi ac issue with my MBA mid 2011
langscinema is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 04:37 PM   #23
menano
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Neverland
Is there any feature of this at all that somehow doesn't require iOS8? Because I got the public os x beta and don't have access to iOS8 as a non-dev
menano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 04:50 PM   #24
proshots4you
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
There may be some features that work but continuity and handoff defintely will not
proshots4you is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 04:54 PM   #25
menano
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Neverland
Quote:
Originally Posted by proshots4you View Post
There may be some features that work but continuity and handoff defintely will not
Yeah thanks, I meant features within continuity, like calls or sms. It would be possible to make it available since the account is already connected to the phone but apparently not. Thanks gain!
menano is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hand off and Continuity (Please see my setup thread for solutions) Armen OS X Yosemite (10.10) 23 Jul 29, 2014 04:36 PM
10.10 Yosemite Continuity and a few Q's Macs4u Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 5, 2014 05:59 PM
Continuity and Hand Off stevenamani iOS 8 1 Jun 18, 2014 11:29 AM
What are the requirement for continuity and hand off? MisakixMikasa iOS 8 2 Jun 10, 2014 04:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC