Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion > Current Events

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2003, 01:40 PM   #1
peter2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Logic 6 for Mac OS X, 9 only

Logic 6 for Mac OS X and 9 coming Feb. 2003. Has some new cool features. PC users will not be pleased. But Mac users will be delighted.

http://www.emagic.de/english/news/20...ic6/index.html

Pete

Last edited by peter2002; Jan 17, 2003 at 08:47 AM.
peter2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 03:11 PM   #2
atodd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: between yourself
Send a message via AIM to atodd
Probably because Apple bought eMagic.
atodd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 04:37 PM   #3
julzmon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
What a great application.

Just love that thing.
__________________
Julz
julzmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 04:41 PM   #4
JupiterZen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Reality Maingrid 23 Subjunction 42A
Re: Logic 6 for Mac OS X, 9 only

Why is it that everybody seems to think that the company is called eMagic. Is it because of the eBussiness, eCommerce and the eEverythingElseTheseDays.

The company is named Emagic. With just a normal capital E. And I am sure the name has nothing to do with the internet hype, because the company already existed before that went out of control and everything was eWhatevered.

Just had to correct this, as a long time computer musicmaker.

__________________
>--
'do not adjust your mind ... it is reality that is malfunctioning' - Robert Anton Wilson
JupiterZen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 05:25 PM   #5
alset
macrumors 65816
 
alset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East Bay, CA
I'm so happy! The new Arrange Channel Strip is a welcome addition, as is the new Channel EQ plugin. Time-stretching and grouping features have been missing the part for too long, and are more than ready to rock my world.

For those interested in recording/sequencing (a thread was running a week ago) this is it.

Dan
__________________
alsetmusic.com
standing on the shoulders of giants....
alset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 05:35 PM   #6
jholzner
macrumors 65816
 
jholzner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
I don't use Logic or any music program for OS X but was wondering why Apple didn't absorbe Emagic? Why did they keep it simply as a subsidiary. I assume that Apple's name and logo are not on the package. I know they did something similar with Shake. It just seems to me that it would be better for them to market it as an Apple product. That way...their "whole solution" concept seems more visable.
__________________
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
-Terry Pratchett.
http://homepage.mac.com/jholzner
jholzner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 05:56 PM   #7
orl770
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Send a message via AIM to orl770
I just bought Logic Platinum 5.5!

Boy, that was fast. They just released a OS X version of Logic Platinum (5.5) not even 3 months ago - I hope I get a free upgrade (yeah, right).

Anyway, I have to admit, I have never been SO CLUELESS about how a program works like I am with Logic. I managed to figure out how to play my Midi keyboard thru a built-in Audio Instrument in Logic, and I was able to import some Midi sequences I had from way back, but I am totally overwhelmed by this app.

Does anyone know how I can get some help with the mountainous learning curve of Logic? I have the manual (Chinese to me), I even have a tutorial video they sent me, but I still can't seem to get a handle on it. There used to be a Mars Music near me that would hold clinics on it, but they went bankrupt and now that I own the program, there are no more clinics! HELP! PLEASE! Thanks.
orl770 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 06:12 PM   #8
nickgold
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Learning Logic

Check out the Logic Forum at www.sonikmatter.com. Read your manual no less than 3 times cover to cover. Join the Logic-users group on yahoogroups.com. Immerse yourself in the world of Logic. Let it creep into your dreams. Soon you will be one with Logic...



Man, I'm pumped for v6! Beenw itht he app since v4, and it has progressed so much, it's not funny. Logic Control kicks some booty, too!
nickgold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 06:22 PM   #9
RowdyBacon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Now were talking! With Emagic's resources now devoted exclusively to the Mac...and probably before too long only to OS X...this application is going to evolve at a rapid pace. Who would have thought 6.0 would be coming out so soon after they released 5.0? And with so many new features and performance improvements too boot.
RowdyBacon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 07:32 PM   #10
springscansing
Banned
 
springscansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York
Re: Re: Logic 6 for Mac OS X, 9 only

Quote:
Originally posted by JupiterZen
Why is it that everybody seems to think that the company is called eMagic. Is it because of the eBussiness, eCommerce and the eEverythingElseTheseDays.

The company is named Emagic. With just a normal capital E. And I am sure the name has nothing to do with the internet hype, because the company already existed before that went out of control and everything was eWhatevered.

Just had to correct this, as a long time computer musicmaker.

Thank you, finally. :-)
springscansing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 08:05 PM   #11
Kal-EL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Compatible with OS 9.x and OSX

What's with making it compatible with OS 9.x? If Steve Jobs is so concerned with OS9 being dead and buried in a coffin, why still have products coming out of Apple owned interests work with that OS? I thought Steve wanted everyone to migrate to OSX. Won't this slow down potential migration? ...just a thought...
__________________
I own 11 Macs, a browncoat, and have an Apple sitcker on my Jeep...
We've done the impossible, that makes us mighty---Malcolm Reynolds
Kal-EL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 08:10 PM   #12
cr2sh
macrumors 68030
 
cr2sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: downtown
The best news of all is that they're offering the FULL line of Logic for osX now! Not just that platinum nonsense, we get our choice between all three! A week ago there was nothing available for osX.. now we've got this and DigitalPerformerX! Choices eh?
__________________

MBP (early' 11/2.2/16GB/500GB/hi-res-ag)
cr2sh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 08:52 PM   #13
RowdyBacon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by cr2sh
now we've got this and DigitalPerformerX! Choices eh?
Are you sure about DP? Supposedly, MOTU was only going to be showing a pre-release version of DPX at NAMM. And I haven't yet seen any mention that they revealed any information about it today.

For that matter, MOTU still doesn't have all of its audio drivers up to speed on OS X. I think they're going to need to address that in advance of officially releasing DPX.
RowdyBacon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 09:41 PM   #14
cr2sh
macrumors 68030
 
cr2sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: downtown
Quote:
Originally posted by RowdyBacon


Are you sure about DP? Supposedly, MOTU was only going to be showing a pre-release version of DPX at NAMM. And I haven't yet seen any mention that they revealed any information about it today.

For that matter, MOTU still doesn't have all of its audio drivers up to speed on OS X. I think they're going to need to address that in advance of officially releasing DPX.
True that the audio drivers aren't all up to date but the firewire based 828 and 896 do now have full osX drivers. The newer highdef products I believe are shipping with osX drivers already, which leaves only the PCI systems.. one driver should effectively cover that card.

Again you are correct, according to the MOTU site, DPX was going to be previewed this week at NAMM. I haven't seen it yet, but from what I gathered from the site its there. We will not see copies of Logic in stores till February by that time I'm sure we'll know the short term future of DPX. So I have to ask myself, DPX or Logic to compliment that 17" Powerbook?
__________________

MBP (early' 11/2.2/16GB/500GB/hi-res-ag)
cr2sh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 10:17 PM   #15
RowdyBacon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by cr2sh
True that the audio drivers aren't all up to date but the firewire based 828 and 896 do now have full osX drivers. The newer highdef products I believe are shipping with osX drivers already, which leaves only the PCI systems.. one driver should effectively cover that card.
Yes, the 896 and 828 OS X drivers are finally available, and for the most part perform quite well. Unfortunately, they still lack some of the functionality of their ASIO counterparts. I use an 896 with Logic, and was about to give up on MOTU after nearly 7 months of waiting for them get their act together with regard to OS X driver compatibility.

Now however, they seem to be exhibiting the same slovenly pace with regard to the OS X PCI drivers. Neither the PCI-324 nor the new PCI-424 audio interfaces will currently function natively in OS X. I was actually giving serious thought to upgrading to one of the new 24 I/O units ever since MOTU released information about it. But I refuse to give any more of my money to a company that seems to be so far off the mark when it comes to their OS X priorities. Or perhaps I should say their OS X capabilities!

It's really pretty embarrassing for a company with MOTU's pedigree on the Mac to be so far behind so many other developers when it comes to OS X. They're kind of like the Quark of DAW's. Even Digidesign beat them to the OS X finish line with Pro Tools. Were I in your position at this point...considering either DP or Logic...I'd certainly be weighing that fact very heavily! Given Emagic's ties to Apple, I hardly think there's any doubt as to which application is likely to evolve and improve more rapidly.
RowdyBacon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2003, 02:32 PM   #16
guitpicker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Holland, MI
Send a message via AIM to guitpicker Send a message via Yahoo to guitpicker
The BEST thing about Logic 6...

DV output through a firewire port!!! How cool is that? (Can you tell I'm primarily a video editor?) Before, if you wanted to do sound for picture, you could view a tiny quicktime movie on your screen, or you could slave your DAW to a video deck using a time code of some sort. What a hassle. Now you can just plug a firewire into a DV video converter and then plug it's composite or component video outs into a 50" HDTV. :-) Oh Yeah, Baby!
__________________
"Then I ram my ovapositor down your throat and lay my eggs in your chest... but I'm not an alien." - MST3K
guitpicker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2003, 03:15 PM   #17
nickgold
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
AU plugins

Did anybody notice how many AU plugins got announced today at NAMM? Unfortunately, no word on AU versions of some older NI plugins, such as Absynth, Battery, etc.
nickgold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2003, 06:53 PM   #18
guitpicker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Holland, MI
Send a message via AIM to guitpicker Send a message via Yahoo to guitpicker
RE: AU plugins

NI announced AU versions of Reaktor 4 and Reaktor Session.

Traktor seems to be ready for OS X, but I could find no info on AU, so it must be VST.

They also released Vokator, a vocoder plug, Intakt, a Rhythm/groove plug, and another sampler plug called Kompakt at NAMM, but I could't find info on AU availability for these.
__________________
"Then I ram my ovapositor down your throat and lay my eggs in your chest... but I'm not an alien." - MST3K
guitpicker is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion > Current Events

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic X on Mac Pro 1 1 ninjasuperstar8 Mac Pro 15 Aug 24, 2013 05:00 PM
cMBP 13.3" Display - 4GB Memory - 500GB for Logic 9 / Logic X macman70 Digital Audio 0 Jul 18, 2013 09:28 AM
Which Mac For Logic Pro 9? jerrydpi Digital Audio 4 Jul 14, 2013 01:31 AM
Which Mac For Logic Pro 9? jerrydpi MacBook Pro 6 Jul 11, 2013 12:58 PM
New to Mac, Logic pro and Logic studio lstar4ever Digital Audio 9 Feb 16, 2013 10:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC