Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2006, 03:04 AM   #1
erkanasu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Macbook Pro Ram: Where to Buy!?!?

holy ****, the prices skyrocked on crucial( went from $115 - $175)! I want to boost my new macbook pro( when it arrives) from 512 - 1.5 gb, so I need a cheap 1 gig stick. Im sure lots of us are in the same boat. Anyone find 1 gig sticks cheap (no crap brands)?!?! please post some links

-paul
erkanasu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 05:01 AM   #2
sw1tcher
macrumors 6502a
 
sw1tcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
1GB chip is $129 at http://www.datamem.com/

1GB chip is $139 at http://www.ramjet.com/

1GB chip is $115 at http://www.macsales.com/

1GB chip is $129 at http://www.18004memory.com/
sw1tcher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 12:38 PM   #3
mac.head.high
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Check out New Egg. I bought 8 gigs of Crucial RAM for my G5 there for much cheaper than Crucial actually sells it. With 2 day shipping and taxes it came to 764. They are just about the cheapest on the web for RAM. Also, I once bought a NEC dual-layer internal DVD burning drive there for 43 dollars. So yeah.

Otherwise I would check Crucial. They make/sell a grip of memory to some of the biggest names. As well, they guarantee compatibility with whatever you Mac model is.

www.newegg.com

www.crucial.com

Last edited by mac.head.high; Feb 5, 2006 at 12:43 PM.
mac.head.high is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 01:03 PM   #4
Winstonp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston
Send a message via AIM to Winstonp
I got the data systems memory for 108 each,

I bought them as soon as I heard about them.

The price is INSANE now adays. It's like everyone thinks they can get like 15-70 dollars more profit just because!
__________________
iPod Shuffle 1GB
Lenovo X230 Tablet
Droid Razr
Winstonp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 01:09 PM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.head.high
Check out New Egg. I bought 8 gigs of Crucial RAM for my G5 there for much cheaper than Crucial actually sells it. With 2 day shipping and taxes it came to 764. They are just about the cheapest on the web for RAM. Also, I once bought a NEC dual-layer internal DVD burning drive there for 43 dollars. So yeah.

Otherwise I would check Crucial. They make/sell a grip of memory to some of the biggest names. As well, they guarantee compatibility with whatever you Mac model is.
And if you buy it from NewEgg, Crucial do NOT guarantee compatibility, because NewEgg only sell the generic Crucial part numbers -- so you take the job of testing for compatibility on yourself. May work, may not, depending on the Mac model and the RAM offered. I am also critical of any company that allows for charging you 15% restocking fee if you want your money back on incompatible RAM.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 10:15 PM   #6
mac.head.high
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
And if you buy it from NewEgg, Crucial do NOT guarantee compatibility, because NewEgg only sell the generic Crucial part numbers -- so you take the job of testing for compatibility on yourself. May work, may not, depending on the Mac model and the RAM offered. I am also critical of any company that allows for charging you 15% restocking fee if you want your money back on incompatible RAM.
True. If you buy Crucial RAM from New Egg, Crucial will not guarantee it's compatibility. But before I spent a lot of money, I spoke to Crucial 2 times specifically to make sure that the RAM New Egg is selling IS EXACTLY THE SAME. The only difference is the product number. Crucial is wired that way. They have multiple product numbers for the same RAM. The only reason for that is they have product numbers for each hardware company. So the same exact RAM has two product numbers. One for PC's and one for Mac. It's just for categorization purposes.

It tripped me out, but I made sure that it was the same. I'm worrier so it was important to me that I was getting a compatible product.

Good luck in your endeavors.
mac.head.high is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 10:35 PM   #7
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
fwiw i've returned to memory to newegg...very easy but had to pay a 15% restocking fee. and yes, my exact line wsa "it didnt work in my computer." no questions asked. and i suppose if you buy uber-cheap ram twice to get the right stuff, even with the fee it's still cheaper

__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 06:18 AM   #8
Vaglin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Hi Guys

has anyone had any problems using Kingston ram in their intel macs?

Thanks
Vaglin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 09:34 AM   #9
AJBMatrix
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Send a message via AIM to AJBMatrix
Cheapest yet

I found a guy that sold me 2 x 1GB for 80 per stick of Crucial. It as all he had left but I found it from his ebay store. Brand new and never used.

EDIT: I just looked back at his ebay store...well he has some left if anyone wants it.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1

Last edited by AJBMatrix; Feb 6, 2006 at 09:48 AM.
AJBMatrix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 02:51 PM   #10
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaglin
Hi Guys

has anyone had any problems using Kingston ram in their intel macs?

Thanks
I've used kingston memory before and got burnt.. In fact the only probelms I've ever encountered with memory in macs came from the kingston mem I used.. Since that day I've alway's used CRUCIAL and found them to be perfect, no trouble at all with any of my computers..

Obviously my experience may not be indicative of the quality of Kingston in general...
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 02:54 PM   #11
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJBMatrix
I found a guy that sold me 2 x 1GB for 80 per stick of Crucial. It as all he had left but I found it from his ebay store. Brand new and never used.

EDIT: I just looked back at his ebay store...well he has some left if anyone wants it.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1
He is advertising a generic chip in this auction, not Crucial.
Auction terms have somewhat predatory shipping prices - US$15 for two RAM modules sent through US Mail to US destination.

Quote:
has anyone had any problems using Kingston ram in their intel macs?
The Kingston KTA-MB667/1G isthe correct model for the MacBook Pro.

Any Kingston ValueRAM KVR- series RAM is iffy in a Mac, and as noted in a previous post, it is not indicitive of Kingston's quality that their generic ValueRAM doesn't work -- Kingston never intended for it to be used in Macs.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.

Last edited by CanadaRAM; Feb 6, 2006 at 02:59 PM.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2006, 02:21 PM   #12
psibe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkanasu
I want to boost my new macbook pro( when it arrives) from 512 - 1.5 gb
-paul
I would want to do the same thing, but if I get applecare with my Mackbook Pro, would this void it?
psibe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2006, 02:24 PM   #13
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by psibe
I would want to do the same thing, but if I get applecare with my Mackbook Pro, would this void it?
FYI, a search (or a new thread as a last resort) would have been a better option than dragging up a six month old thread.

But no, upgrading RAM is a do-it-yourself project. It does not void the standard warranty or AppleCare unless you really screw up the rest of your computer in the process, which is pretty hard to do. (i.e. Don't use a blowtorch at any point in the process of installing RAM.)
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 12:21 AM   #14
Locatel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Crucial sucks!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.head.high
True. If you buy Crucial RAM from New Egg, Crucial will not guarantee it's compatibility. But before I spent a lot of money, I spoke to Crucial 2 times specifically to make sure that the RAM New Egg is selling IS EXACTLY THE SAME. The only difference is the product number. Crucial is wired that way. They have multiple product numbers for the same RAM. The only reason for that is they have product numbers for each hardware company. So the same exact RAM has two product numbers. One for PC's and one for Mac. It's just for categorization purposes.

It tripped me out, but I made sure that it was the same. I'm worrier so it was important to me that I was getting a compatible product.

Good luck in your endeavors.
Please take your time and check this thread and then decide if it is worth getting any RAM from Crucial. Try OWC or Datamem.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=218162
Locatel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 12:30 AM   #15
Locatel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkanasu
holy ****, the prices skyrocked on crucial( went from $115 - $175)! I want to boost my new macbook pro( when it arrives) from 512 - 1.5 gb, so I need a cheap 1 gig stick. Im sure lots of us are in the same boat. Anyone find 1 gig sticks cheap (no crap brands)?!?! please post some links

-paul
Believe me, depending on the browser or machine you use to access Crucial online, you'll get different prices for the same memory module...
Take your time and check this thread...
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=218162
Locatel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 02:10 PM   #16
Blown284
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena, Maryland
Send a message via AIM to Blown284 Send a message via Yahoo to Blown284 Send a message via Skype™ to Blown284
What about this? for my macbook pro?
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" | 120gig hd | 2gb RAM
Imac 24 | 4gb RAM
Blown284 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 07:43 PM   #17
andrewdale
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Wow, the prices that are stated above are hilarious!

The prices not long ago were just amazing compared to now!
__________________
Lots of Apple gear, nothing that impressive. My money goes towards music gear.
andrewdale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 08:12 PM   #18
Phrasikleia
macrumors 68040
 
Phrasikleia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Over there------->
Anyone see anything wrong with this option:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148087

??

Someone posted there that those chips work with his MBP.
Phrasikleia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 09:30 PM   #19
andrewdale
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Should work, as far as I know:

PC2-5300 - check
667MHz - check
DDR2 - check
200 pin - check

Should work!
__________________
Lots of Apple gear, nothing that impressive. My money goes towards music gear.
andrewdale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 09:37 PM   #20
natharvey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
macsales.com is where i always get my ram
natharvey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 02:29 PM   #21
Mitch Brown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
http://www.aememory.co.uk/Apple-MacB...LL-memory.html

This seems to cheap to me.........

or have prices dropped big time (UK)
__________________
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2GHZ 1024MB RAM 7200rpm HDD

http://www.mitchbrown.co.uk
http://www.myspace.com/djmitchbrown
Mitch Brown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 01:53 AM   #22
PHONIK535
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I was looking to bump my RAM in my Pro up to 4 gigs and i purchase two 2gig sticks by Transcend (jm667qsu-2g)....and i am not pleased at all.....i use my mac book to run multiple audio programs live on stage...i'm a dj.....and about one hour into my the computer started to glitch and i totally lost sound....horrible...

it seems that this is a tell tale sign of bad , low end RAM......is Transcend not the greatest match for my macbook pro intel......its less than 6 months old......i have not really had running these programs with the 2 gigs it came with, but i am just really trying to ensure my saftey up on stage ya know......it came with Micron from Mac...should i just stick with that brand?? or can someone recommend something better.?

thanks again....

a novice in need of help!!
PHONIK535 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 03:58 PM   #23
pinktank
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
just look at newegg, the reviews will tell if it'll work in a mbp
pinktank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 04:11 PM   #24
Neil321
macrumors 68040
 
Neil321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
Crucial RAM guy myself
__________________
stuff
people who care use MRoogle
Neil321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 04:19 PM   #25
design-is
macrumors 65816
 
design-is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London / U.K.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil321 View Post
Crucial RAM guy myself
I second this! My 4GB running beautiful
__________________
design-is.co.uk - freelance projects
dougbarned.co.uk - personal site & blog - twitter
feralinteractive.com - designer day job - twitter
design-is is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Macbook Pro should I buy? And Ram upgrade? oscartroop1 MacBook Pro 6 May 11, 2014 11:50 AM
Macbook Pro what ram and ssd disk to buy teigas MacBook Pro 3 Sep 17, 2013 11:21 AM
Best place to buy 8gb ram for my macbook pro mikesta99 MacBook Pro 10 May 1, 2013 11:49 AM
What Ram To Buy For My MacBook Pro (Mid 2009) 2.26GHZ Jake.Arsenault MacBook Pro 2 Jan 13, 2013 04:39 PM
17inch Macbook Pro i5 2.54 ghz, 4gb RAM. $999 on craigslist...Good Buy? iJustinCabral Buying Tips and Advice 6 Jul 8, 2012 12:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC