Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:29 AM   #1
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
need help with 1.67 powerbook!

i have the latest 15" ppc powerbook, and i added 2 gb of ram myself. i started off by adding just 1 gb, so i have 1.5 gb of ram myself. then, a few months later, i replaced the 512 with a 1 gb stick. now, about a month or so later, i'm having problems with my powerbook. i don't know if it's related to the ram or not. when i try to open word, i get this error:

application launch failure. the application "word" could not be launched because of a shared library error:"1<Microsoft Word><CarbonLib><CFMPriv_CarbonCore><>"

that's not the only problem. Quicken does the same thing.

also, last night i sent some files over my network. i left it transferring overnight and this morning it was frozen. but it looked like it was in sleep mode, and i couldn't wake it up. so i had to hold down the power button, and then turn it back on.

please help me
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:43 AM   #2
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
there definately seems like there is something wrong with my system.

i downloaded another program and it wouldn't open with a similar error
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:44 AM   #3
jer2eydevil88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Send a message via AIM to jer2eydevil88
I have the same PB,

Sounds like it could be a RAM issue and you can figure out if that is the culprit by removing the last stick you installed. If that fixes it then you found the problem.

From the sound of that file transfer though and by the error message of a library error it makes the problem sound hard drive or operating system related. To see if its a permission error on the operating system you can simply run Disk Utility and let it repair permissions. Then let it verify volume and see if it finds anything wrong.

If neither suggestion yields results you should bring it to an Apple store and let them run diagnostics on the notebook to find the problem for you.
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina (June 2012 Edition) | Founder @ Syntress an Enterprise Storage company.
jer2eydevil88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:59 AM   #4
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
suggestion....

Can i suggest you take out both 1GB sticks and put back in the 515MB stick supplied by Apple? Leave the x2 1GB's out, and run.

I think thats the first thing an Apple tech would do. Then work your way up from there.

F
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 11:13 AM   #5
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse
Can i suggest you take out both 1GB sticks and put back in the 515MB stick supplied by Apple? Leave the x2 1GB's out, and run.

I think thats the first thing an Apple tech would do. Then work your way up from there.

F
thanks for the reply. do you think i would be able to run word if i did that?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 11:14 AM   #6
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer2eydevil88
I have the same PB,

Sounds like it could be a RAM issue and you can figure out if that is the culprit by removing the last stick you installed. If that fixes it then you found the problem.

From the sound of that file transfer though and by the error message of a library error it makes the problem sound hard drive or operating system related. To see if its a permission error on the operating system you can simply run Disk Utility and let it repair permissions. Then let it verify volume and see if it finds anything wrong.

If neither suggestion yields results you should bring it to an Apple store and let them run diagnostics on the notebook to find the problem for you.
thanks for the reply. i've repaired permissions several times. it doesn't fix the program issue. and it's weird how it's only on certain programs. namely word and Quicken. i guess i need to "verify volume"
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 11:19 AM   #7
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
thanks for the reply. i've repaired permissions several times. it doesn't fix the program issue. and it's weird how it's only on certain programs. namely word and Quicken. i guess i need to "verify volume"
Did you bother taking out that ram like they suggested?
If you do that and still have no joy then take it to Apple. There is a problem for sure.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 11:35 AM   #8
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica.
Did you bother taking out that ram like they suggested?
If you do that and still have no joy then take it to Apple. There is a problem for sure.
not yet. i kinda wanted that to be a last resort. i'm going to try the other suggestions first.
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 12:54 PM   #9
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i did a verify disk, and it said Volum Header needs minor repair. the volume powerbook (the name of my harddrive) needs to be repaired.

then is said this:

Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit.

1 HFS volume checked
Volume needs repair

so what does this mean? disk utility couldn't fix it
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 01:18 PM   #10
ElectricSheep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Send a message via AIM to ElectricSheep
Its means you have some filesystem corruption. Disk Utility (and fsck for that matter) cannot repair the filesystem of the current startup disk when MacOS X is fully booted. You will need to either startup from the restore CDs that came with your PowerBook and run Disk Utility from there, or you will have to boot into Single User Mode and run fsck while the root filesystem is unmounted. I would strongly suggest the first option.

This does not preclude the possibility that you have bad RAM. Bad RAM can cause all kinds of problems, including filesystem corruption. Values becomes corrupted in memory, they get written back to disk, you now have corrupt data on your disk. Run the Hardware Test CD that came with your PowerBook, pull the suspect memory modules, and see how things go from there for a little while.
__________________
15'' MBP (early 2011) | i7 3770k Hackintosh | i7 Mac Mini (late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 (2012) | iPad mini | MacOS X 10.9.2
ElectricSheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 03:28 PM   #11
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricSheep
Its means you have some filesystem corruption. Disk Utility (and fsck for that matter) cannot repair the filesystem of the current startup disk when MacOS X is fully booted. You will need to either startup from the restore CDs that came with your PowerBook and run Disk Utility from there, or you will have to boot into Single User Mode and run fsck while the root filesystem is unmounted. I would strongly suggest the first option.

This does not preclude the possibility that you have bad RAM. Bad RAM can cause all kinds of problems, including filesystem corruption. Values becomes corrupted in memory, they get written back to disk, you now have corrupt data on your disk. Run the Hardware Test CD that came with your PowerBook, pull the suspect memory modules, and see how things go from there for a little while.
thanks for the reply. i'm running the Hardware Test CD right now. i guess it'll take awhile to test the 2 gb of ram. so far, the mass storage has passed, so i guess it can't be the hard-drive, right?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 04:02 PM   #12
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
thanks for the reply. i'm running the Hardware Test CD right now. i guess it'll take awhile to test the 2 gb of ram. so far, the mass storage has passed, so i guess it can't be the hard-drive, right?
Backup all essential documents.
Just in case.

Re-install OS X OR install OS X on an external FW drive to see if you gt the errors - assuming you still have the 2GB of ram. I still think you should test without....

F
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 04:08 PM   #13
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse
Backup all essential documents.
Just in case.

Re-install OS X OR install OS X on an external FW drive to see if you gt the errors - assuming you still have the 2GB of ram. I still think you should test without....

F
you think i should test with the standard 512 ram? why? if i test with the 2 gb, it'll tell me if that's the problem, right?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 04:11 PM   #14
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well the test is done, it took over an hour. everything passed though, so it must be a software issue, correct?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 06:04 PM   #15
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i repaired disk, with the install cd, and it says that it fixed the problem. but i still have the same error message with word.
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 06:24 PM   #16
Patmian212
macrumors 68020
 
Patmian212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
well i repaired disk, with the install cd, and it says that it fixed the problem. but i still have the same error message with word.
About the overnight transfer it just sounds like your powerbook ran out of battery and so it went to sleep and it was at 0% so it couldnt be woken up.
__________________
"It scrolls like butter" Steve Jobs
Patmian212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 06:40 PM   #17
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patmian212
About the overnight transfer it just sounds like your powerbook ran out of battery and so it went to sleep and it was at 0% so it couldnt be woken up.
it wasn't on battery. it was plugged in. and also, this isn't the first time that it happened
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 06:48 PM   #18
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
So, have you taken the RAM out yet? I reckon that should be your next step.

Also, was the OSX disk you used the same version of OSX as that on the PowerBook? In other words, was it a Tiger disk on a Tiger OS?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 08:40 AM   #19
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
hhmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc
application launch failure. the application "word" could not be launched because of a shared library error:"1<Microsoft Word><CarbonLib><CFMPriv_CarbonCore><>"

that's not the only problem. Quicken does the same thing.

please help me
hmmm, if the hardware test passed with the x2 1GB sticks of RAM - then you should be ok hardware wise. That shared library error is really odd. You mention it happens with Word and Quicken. Does it happen with any Apple software? eg iChat, iTunes or Safari?

This could be related to a bad install of non-Apple software. If you've backed up your docs, [in your position, I would] re-install OS X. Won't take an hour. Run the cumulative update to 10.4.5. Then start installing extra's like Office or Quicken. I take it all the extra non-Apple software is fully legal and not off BitTorrent.....
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 09:16 PM   #20
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
So, have you taken the RAM out yet? I reckon that should be your next step.

Also, was the OSX disk you used the same version of OSX as that on the PowerBook? In other words, was it a Tiger disk on a Tiger OS?
i haven't taken the ram out yet. i don't think that's the problem, but it could be. i really think it's a software issue.

yes, it was a Tiger disk on a Tiger OS
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 09:18 PM   #21
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse
hmmm, if the hardware test passed with the x2 1GB sticks of RAM - then you should be ok hardware wise. That shared library error is really odd. You mention it happens with Word and Quicken. Does it happen with any Apple software? eg iChat, iTunes or Safari?

This could be related to a bad install of non-Apple software. If you've backed up your docs, [in your position, I would] re-install OS X. Won't take an hour. Run the cumulative update to 10.4.5. Then start installing extra's like Office or Quicken. I take it all the extra non-Apple software is fully legal and not off BitTorrent.....
so far, those are the only 2 programs that do it. and i've had the occasional freeze. i even tried uninstalling word and then when i tried to reinstall it, i got that error again. (all i have to do to uninstall a program is delete it, right?)
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 10:44 AM   #22
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i got Word totally off my computer (i think) and then i tried to reinstall again, and i still got the same error. what to do?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 01:05 PM   #23
jblock
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
You seem to have an aversion to taking the RAM out and replacing it with the original RAM as some earlier responses suggested. It can't hurt to try that to once and for all determine that the RAM is not the culprit.
__________________
www.synthblock.com
jblock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 01:15 PM   #24
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblock
You seem to have an aversion to taking the RAM out and replacing it with the original RAM as some earlier responses suggested. It can't hurt to try that to once and for all determine that the RAM is not the culprit.
i guess i could, but it passed the hardware test. doesn't that mean that it can't be the problem?
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 06:32 PM   #25
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Hardware tests are notoriously bad at picking out problems.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook G4 stusipod4g PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 14, 2014 07:37 AM
PowerBook G4 Intelligent PowerPC Macs 13 Feb 3, 2014 06:47 AM
Just got a PowerBook G4! ifrit05 PowerPC Macs 7 Jan 11, 2014 07:30 PM
PowerBook G4? w00t951 PowerPC Macs 25 Sep 2, 2012 01:40 AM
What to do with an old powerbook? sim667 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 21, 2012 08:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC