Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2003, 11:44 PM   #1
jmoore
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.B. Texas
Second bay options for Quicksilver?

Is it possible to somehow cram another optical drive in the second bay of a Quicksilver model or other earlier G4 models? I know it is only supposed to support a zip drive, but is there some homegrown modification that can be made to make another optical drive fit into this smaller bay?
jmoore is offline   0
Old Jan 29, 2003, 11:49 PM   #2
TyleRomeo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
Re: Second bay options for Quicksilver?

Quote:
Originally posted by jmoore
Is it possible to somehow cram another optical drive in the second bay of a Quicksilver model or other earlier G4 models? I know it is only supposed to support a zip drive, but is there some homegrown modification that can be made to make another optical drive fit into this smaller bay?
you can but it takes a lot fo work and only recomend it for proffesional modifiers.

Tyler
__________________
Mac Pro (Early 2008) Dual 2.8GHZ Quad 2GB RAM NVIDIA 8800GT 512MB
Dual 1.25 GHz PowerMac G4; 1.91TB; 2GB RAM ATI 9700 Pro 128MB; Airport
TyleRomeo is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 12:23 AM   #3
mnkeybsness
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
first i would test another drive by just plugging it in and seeing if the computer will recognize two drives...place a cd in the drive after you plug it in of course...but i assume it would considering the MDD...

second is to find a 5 1/2" harness to replace the 3"...probably the hardest part will be to find a way to get the outer casing door to flip down since it currently has no way of doing so

if you or anyone you know is going to do this or has, please post it as i would like to do it myself, but would like to know about success/failure
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 12:24 AM   #4
jmoore
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.B. Texas
I'm definitely interested. Is there a link you know of?
jmoore is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 12:28 AM   #5
jmoore
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.B. Texas
I'm trying to decide whether I want a noisy MDD model (which I don't) or find a refurb Quicksilver and add the second drive. Does this sound crazy? As crazy as the noise coming out of those MDD's!!!!! My God!!!!!
jmoore is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 12:35 AM   #6
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
Quote:
Originally posted by jmoore
I'm trying to decide whether I want a noisy MDD model (which I don't) or find a refurb Quicksilver and add the second drive. Does this sound crazy? As crazy as the noise coming out of those MDD's!!!!! My God!!!!!
Buy a new MDD they are supposed to be whisper quiet. Maybe even quieter then teh Quicksilvers.

If you had to add a second drive the easiest and best way to do it is to get an external firewire drive. Plain and simple if performance matters you will want a new DDR machine.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a second bay for a 2.5" SSD IN THE 2011 27" iMacs? hhaydenn iMac 1 Jun 17, 2011 10:06 PM
Can I install Windows 7 on an SSD in the optical bay? Cmd-the-World Mac Pro 17 Mar 23, 2011 02:52 AM
Whats the best option? no wow is not an option for me. danvan21 Mac and PC Games 10 Nov 17, 2008 03:43 PM
Second monitor option with the imac JW8725 Mac Pro 3 Feb 28, 2006 09:47 PM
Mac options for graphic design - 3 options cschell Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 11 Nov 25, 2004 05:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC