Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2006, 08:38 AM   #1
iCeQuBe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
iMac G3 500 installation troubles..

Help! I have an iMac G3-500 that I got for my daughter to use. I have my old retail copy of Panther that I was going to install on there but when I try it gives me an error that only states there were errors during installation please try again. Not very specific. I try and try but keep getting that error. I also tried installing Tiger just to see if it was the discs but that gave me the same error. Now here is the wierd part when I use the iMac restore discs everything works fine but i am left with OS 9 and OS X 10.0.4 bleh.... What is going on? Any help would be appreciated. I have tried resetting PRAM and using different install discs as I stated. Don't know what else to do. Thanks in advance for any help!
__________________
Live like it's your last day on earth....
iCeQuBe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 08:41 AM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Have you updated the firmware to support 10.2 or later?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75130
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 08:52 AM   #3
iCeQuBe
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian
Have you updated the firmware to support 10.2 or later?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75130

Sorry I should have noted that I did update the firmware. Any other ideas?
__________________
Live like it's your last day on earth....
iCeQuBe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 08:53 AM   #4
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCeQuBe
Sorry I should have noted that I did update the firmware. Any other ideas?
Not really. I doubt the installation discs are bad and it's a 500 MHz model so it is supported.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 09:00 AM   #5
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
The Tiger discs are DVDs so they won't work on the iMac I don't think. Are the 10.3 discs DVD as well? They certainly were here in Aus.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 09:21 AM   #6
rjphoto
macrumors 6502a
 
rjphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Sounds like he got the installer to work so:
A. He has CD's
or
B. The iMac has DVD-rom (I didn't think that ver. came with DVD?)

Make sure you installed the iMac Firmware Update 4.1.9. Double check the steps. If you missed one little thing it doesn't work right. All the way down to the number of gongs.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75130
__________________
2007 MacBook Pro 2.4, 2008 Macbook Air, iMac 2006 (wife's), Macmini Core Duo
rjphoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 09:41 AM   #7
iPhil
macrumors 68030
 
iPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A$$hat free location,and helping Mac bring back teh sexy-ness era back
Send a message via AIM to iPhil
the Version year of that iMac will dicate if the iMac did have dvd-rom or not:

Summer 2000: july 2000 to feb. 2001 <<production period.. Did have dvd-rom

Early 2001: feb. 2001 to july 2001 didn't have an option of dvd-rom

Summer 2001: july 2001 to March 2003 didn't have option of dvd-rom either

the info is from: here
iPhil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 09:45 AM   #8
iCeQuBe
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjphoto
Sounds like he got the installer to work so:
A. He has CD's
or
B. The iMac has DVD-rom (I didn't think that ver. came with DVD?)

Make sure you installed the iMac Firmware Update 4.1.9. Double check the steps. If you missed one little thing it doesn't work right. All the way down to the number of gongs.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75130

Panther is on 3 CD's and Tiger is on 1 DVD. The iMac has a CDRW drive so with the Tiger install I am using an external firewire DVD-RW drive and holding down the option key at boot to boot from the external DVD-RW drive. I can try the firmware update again but if the firmware wasn't up to date wouldn't it not even boot tiger even the installer?
__________________
Live like it's your last day on earth....
iCeQuBe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 09:52 AM   #9
iPhil
macrumors 68030
 
iPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A$$hat free location,and helping Mac bring back teh sexy-ness era back
Send a message via AIM to iPhil
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCeQuBe
Panther is on 3 CD's and Tiger is on 1 DVD. The iMac has a CDRW drive so with the Tiger install I am using an external firewire DVD-RW drive and holding down the option key at boot to boot from the external DVD-RW drive. I can try the firmware update again but if the firmware wasn't up to date wouldn't it not even boot tiger even the installer?

the firmware won't allow you to boot into installer if the system needs the updated firmware.. the firmware update is here is the update page the iMacs i listed earlier
iPhil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 01:34 PM   #10
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
It could be the result of a scratch. I recently had the same exact problem with my PowerBook during installation ("There were errors during installation please try again"). I brought it into the bar, and we determined that a small scratch on the DVD caused the error. I paid $20 to get genuine replacement PowerBook restore disks.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 01:38 PM   #11
iCeQuBe
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphil
the firmware won't allow you to boot into installer if the system needs the updated firmware.. the firmware update is here is the update page the iMacs i listed earlier

Right and I get the installer so I believe that I have the correct firmware.
__________________
Live like it's your last day on earth....
iCeQuBe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 01:47 PM   #12
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
iCeQuBe, you can try this alternate method of installation:

Connect the iBook G4 in your sig to your iMac via a Firewire cable. Boot the iBook in target disk mode (hold down the "T" key after you hear the boot tone), insert the Panther install disk into the iBook's disk drive, and start the iMac while holding the "option" key. It will take a minute for the iMac to find all available boot disks, then select the Panther install disk and click the right arrow.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2006, 03:04 PM   #13
iCeQuBe
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquajet
iCeQuBe, you can try this alternate method of installation:

Connect the iBook G4 in your sig to your iMac via a Firewire cable. Boot the iBook in target disk mode (hold down the "T" key after you hear the boot tone), insert the Panther install disk into the iBook's disk drive, and start the iMac while holding the "option" key. It will take a minute for the iMac to find all available boot disks, then select the Panther install disk and click the right arrow.
Thats a great idea. I didn't know that you could use the target pc's dvd drive. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
Live like it's your last day on earth....
iCeQuBe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 07:55 AM   #14
iCeQuBe
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Thanks to all for the help. I figured it out last night. It was a bad RAM chip. It stopped the install of panther but let me install OS 9 and OS 10.0.4 via the restore discs since it is an image that gets copied to the hard drive from the restore disc. Anyway I am just gld that I got it figured out and running. Thanks again all!!!
__________________
Live like it's your last day on earth....
iCeQuBe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac early 2009 troubles...Is it time for a new one? rhaeny iMac 9 Oct 5, 2013 06:38 PM
Chromecast troubles from iMac - anyone else? rusty2192 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 26, 2013 03:50 PM
SSD installation into optical drive troubles... iDragster MacBook Pro 10 Apr 28, 2013 04:26 AM
New iMac, password troubles baxlobs Mac Basics and Help 7 Dec 11, 2012 11:16 AM
Windows 8 pro installation Troubles, with rEFIt. JeffEdgar Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 3, 2012 11:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC