Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 10, 2006, 11:54 PM   #1
AJ Muni
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
"About this Mac"..I cant click on it!!

Just got my mbp..and i cant click into it to see information...!!! any1 have any idea why??
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 12:40 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Is there an app named System Profiler in your Utilities folder? Have you tried repairing permissions?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 01:03 AM   #3
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
Have you tried repairing permissions?
I'm sorry I meant to say that I cant click on "More info...
AFTER clicking on "About this mac"..This mbp is about 4 1/2 hours old...i just got it today..i just repaired and nothing..
__________________
Go.Getta

Last edited by AJ Muni; Apr 11, 2006 at 01:10 AM.
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 01:13 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, that's what I assumed.

The More Info button is a link to System Profiler. I don't think it works if System Profiler has been removed from the Utilities folder which is why I asked if you could see yours there. If it is there, open it up to make sure it's working properly too.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 10:07 AM   #5
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
Yeah, that's what I assumed.

The More Info button is a link to System Profiler. I don't think it works if System Profiler has been removed from the Utilities folder which is why I asked if you could see yours there. If it is there, open it up to make sure it's working properly too.
yeap your right i went into utilities> but NOTHING is in there under system profiler any other suggestions?
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 01:32 PM   #6
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
any1?? please?
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 01:38 PM   #7
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Have you tried to find the program via Spotlight? This would be the easiest way to find it if it's somehow been misplaced. Then you can move it to the proper location.

Edit: Beat ya lilstewart
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 01:39 PM   #8
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Wait are you sure?

OK, just make sure it's no where else.

Spotlight it. If you can't find it, uh, you may have to reinstall the OS just to get that back.

Are you sure you didn't touch it?
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 02:04 PM   #9
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer
Have you tried to find the program via Spotlight? This would be the easiest way to find it if it's somehow been misplaced. Then you can move it to the proper location.

Edit: Beat ya lilstewart
Tried all solutions and nothing. I'm currently on the phone with an apple care specialist (you kno i gotta take advantage of the free 90 day phone support).. Yeah this is real weird.

Edit: Well they said i gotta reinstall the OS. w/e guess this is only solution...
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 02:50 PM   #10
Laser47
macrumors 6502a
 
Laser47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ Muni
Tried all solutions and nothing. I'm currently on the phone with an apple care specialist (you kno i gotta take advantage of the free 90 day phone support).. Yeah this is real weird.

Edit: Well they said i gotta reinstall the OS. w/e guess this is only solution...
Or you can use pacifist to get the system profiler app off your install disk.
__________________
iBook G4 14" 1.42ghz, 1.5gb RAM, 100gb 7200rpm Travelstar, 4G iPod 40gb
Laser47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 02:53 PM   #11
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laser47
Or you can use pacifist to get the system profiler app off your install disk.
Sounds like a plan...I will try it when i get home. Thanks laser
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 03:04 PM   #12
Dafke
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
pacifist will help you,
i once deleted my complete utilities folder and had already emptied my trash when i found out. with pacifist it was easily reinstalled.
good luck!
Dafke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 03:15 PM   #13
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafke
pacifist will help you,
i once deleted my complete utilities folder and had already emptied my trash when i found out. with pacifist it was easily reinstalled.
good luck!
But you needed to have the install disk in right?
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 03:33 PM   #14
Dafke
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
yep, you'll need the installation disc, pacifist can be found here, it's shareware.
Dafke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 03:46 PM   #15
ITASOR
macrumors 601
 
ITASOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oneida, NY
Send a message via AIM to ITASOR
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ Muni
Sounds like a plan...I will try it when i get home. Thanks laser
If you really didn't touch the missing app, I would not advise you to try and extract only that from the install DVD. You should do a full clean install. Who knows what else could be missing/corrupt that could cause problems in the future when you've got valuable files saved on the machine. I think it would be better to just reinstall the whole OS and have a fresh machine.
__________________
11.6" MBA | 4GB | 64GB
ITASOR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 04:02 PM   #16
supremedesigner
macrumors 6502a
 
supremedesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Take a snap shot so we all can see what it looks like!
supremedesigner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 04:45 PM   #17
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Well after calling apple support the tech said the best thing to do was reinstall the os, but in a certain way that all my information wouldnt get erased. the word he used started with the letter "A"..i wanna say acquire or something like that...But this pacifist solution seems much quicker and easier..
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 04:48 PM   #18
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Archive and install.

But as ITASOR points out, if you didn't delete System Profiler on your own, there could be something more seriously wrong with your system...it's a weird problem to have. It's not always about the quicker and easier way...it's about making sure your system is running correctly.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 04:58 PM   #19
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCowboy
Archive and install.

But as ITASOR points out, if you didn't delete System Profiler on your own, there could be something more seriously wrong with your system...it's a weird problem to have. It's not always about the quicker and easier way...it's about making sure your system is running correctly.
I dont kno but im thinking that i might of deleted something. After migrating all my information from my old pbook, i think i might have deleted something, but not too sure
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 06:50 PM   #20
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, I'd use Pacifist but keep in mind that you may have to reinstall at some stage. Still, I wouldn't bother doing reinstalling just yet.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:37 PM   #21
AJ Muni
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
well i reinstalled and now it works. thanx for all the support peeps!
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:51 PM   #22
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Go back and see what else is in your utilities folder...there was someone else who posted with an MBP who was missing a lot of utilities folder items. I'm wondering if there were some MBPs that were shipped with defective images of OS X on the drive? If there's more stuff missing, then going back and getting it, one item at a time, with Pacifist, seems like it would really suck. And that re-installing OS X would be advised......
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 09:31 PM   #23
asencif
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan
Go back and see what else is in your utilities folder...there was someone else who posted with an MBP who was missing a lot of utilities folder items. I'm wondering if there were some MBPs that were shipped with defective images of OS X on the drive? If there's more stuff missing, then going back and getting it, one item at a time, with Pacifist, seems like it would really suck. And that re-installing OS X would be advised......
Wow..Yet another issue with MBP's. Luckily this one can be fixed on the user end. I would definitely do a screen shot of the utilites folder and posted here. If you are missing more items then I would recommend a re-install like most have said. I personally do a clean of the HD when I get a new mac since I feel it's much better as I put back whatever I want. A lot of drivers and languages are just extra space for most. Just pick out what you will use.
asencif is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very occasional "click" sound - rMBP 13" 2013 severage MacBook Pro 9 May 7, 2014 01:26 PM
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 03:12 AM
Can't use the "Click to Tweet" and "Click to Post" in Notification Center jbcacdac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Feb 20, 2013 07:26 AM
Slow "Tap-to-Click" with "Dragging" enabled indshrty OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Oct 21, 2012 07:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC