Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 4, 2006, 11:23 PM   #1
findpankaj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
XTerm application on MacOS X

I need an Xterm type of interface to do my development work. Is something included in X11SDK? I installed the package but the application is not getting invoked from /usr/X11R6/bin/Xquartz
I am getting the following error:

dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/X11R6/lib/libfreetype.6.dylib
Referenced from: /usr/X11R6/bin/./Xquartz
Reason: image not found
Trace/BPT trap
==========

Any idea about this?
What are the tools you guys use for your work. I normally use humming bird software on my office PC. It provides a great interface to Unix servers.

Even a basic Xterm type of application would also help. I don't like terminal software which my Mac has.

Thanks.
__________________
14" iBook 1GB SD
iPod shuffle 1GB,nano 2 GB,video 30GB
Mini 1.5GB
iPhone
findpankaj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2006, 11:26 PM   #2
grapes911
Moderator
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
X11 is great. It should be on your OS X install disk.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2006, 11:29 PM   #3
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
I think that you will need to reinstall X11 from your OS X disc, X11 should just start on double-click and xterm should be there.

(then again, if the only part you want is xterm, why not just use Terminal?)
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2006, 11:29 PM   #4
findpankaj
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes911
X11 is great. It should be on your OS X install disk.

Thanks. But is it included in X11SDK or another Software?
I can't find on my OS Disk.
__________________
14" iBook 1GB SD
iPod shuffle 1GB,nano 2 GB,video 30GB
Mini 1.5GB
iPhone
findpankaj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2006, 11:31 PM   #5
grapes911
Moderator
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
You do not want the SDK, you just want X11. I'm not sure where it is on the disk. Maybe try pacifist?

http://www.charlessoft.com/
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2006, 11:33 PM   #6
findpankaj
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes911
You do not want the SDK, you just want X11. I'm not sure where it is on the disk. Maybe try pacifist?

http://www.charlessoft.com/
Ok. I will try once more. Thanks Guys!
__________________
14" iBook 1GB SD
iPod shuffle 1GB,nano 2 GB,video 30GB
Mini 1.5GB
iPhone
findpankaj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 12:04 AM   #7
mrichmon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by findpankaj
Ok. I will try once more. Thanks Guys!
On Tiger install disks, X11 is an option during the installation of OS X. If you did not select this when you installed OS X then you can download the installer for PPC from http://www.chemistry.ucsc.edu/~wgscott/xtal/x11.html
mrichmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 05:56 AM   #8
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrichmon
On Tiger install disks, X11 is an option during the installation of OS X. If you did not select this when you installed OS X then you can download the installer for PPC from http://www.chemistry.ucsc.edu/~wgscott/xtal/x11.html
you don't have to reinstall OS X to add X11, you just do a custom install of just that.
__________________
If they have to tell you every day they are fair you can bet they arent, if they tell you they are balanced then you should know they are not - Don't Hurt me
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 08:53 AM   #9
slooksterPSV
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
When I install my X11 its like on Optional or Additional Installs off of the Mac OS X DVD.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 09:27 AM   #10
dr_lha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by slooksterPSV
When I install my X11 its like on Optional or Additional Installs off of the Mac OS X DVD.
Yes. To install X11, stick in your Tiger DVD, open up the disk in Finder and click on "Optional Installs". After clicking "OK", "Agree" etc, you should be faced with a list with check boxes. Click on the arrow next to "Applications" to expand the list, then click the check box next to "X11" and click "Install".
__________________
Me: 1Ghz 12" PB and Mac mini Intel Core Solo 1.5Ghz, The Wife: 1.86Ghz CD MacBook, Me@Work: 2.66Ghz Mac Pro and a 2.33Ghz C2D 15" Mac Book Pro
dr_lha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 09:37 AM   #11
demallien
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by findpankaj
I don't like terminal software which my Mac has.
Why ever not? A terminal is a terminal is a terminal. You type text in, it spits text back out... About the only worthwhile innovation that I have ever seen in a terminal program on Mac/Linux/BSD is the ability to have multiple sessions open as child windows of the terminal app, rather than having to run a root window each time. And even that "improvement" wouldn't be enough for me to bother changing the default on my system...
demallien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 09:39 AM   #12
grapes911
Moderator
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by demallien
Why ever not? A terminal is a terminal is a terminal.
The OP mentioned Humming Bird Software. Humming Bird is known (at least to me) for it's tunneling capabilities. Terminal lacks this, but X11 does not.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 09:49 AM   #13
plinden
macrumors 68040
 
plinden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by findpankaj
I I normally use humming bird software on my office PC. It provides a great interface to Unix servers.
When I discovered VNC, I stopped using Hummingbird Exceed. Exceed worked fine, but any kind of flakey connection (e.g. from home) meant I lost the session.

VNCserver on your Unix servers keeps the session information on the server itself, so if you lose a connection you can reconnect to exactly the same session.
plinden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 09:54 AM   #14
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by findpankaj
Even a basic Xterm type of application would also help. I don't like terminal software which my Mac has.
Uhhh.. it's the same thing as an xTerm? Except no X11.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 10:11 AM   #15
mrichmon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by findpankaj
Even a basic Xterm type of application would also help. I don't like terminal software which my Mac has.
If all you want is an xterm then installing X11 is rather a heavy-weight approach.

Personally, I don't have any problems with the OS X terminal program but there are some alternatives out there:

iTerm
MacWyse
mrichmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 10:12 AM   #16
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow
Uhhh.. it's the same thing as an xTerm? Except no X11.
Except for tunnelling (Apparently, though i've never succeeded on my Mac) which lets you run applications with a GUI on your Mac remotely...
__________________
If they have to tell you every day they are fair you can bet they arent, if they tell you they are balanced then you should know they are not - Don't Hurt me
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 10:24 AM   #17
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eraserhead
Except for tunnelling (Apparently, though i've never succeeded on my Mac) which lets you run applications with a GUI on your Mac remotely...
That would be covered under the 'no X11' clause of my post.. as it allows you to run X11 GUI apps from a remote UNIX box.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 11:05 AM   #18
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Fair point, though I think thats probably what he want's to do, especially after mentioning eXceed which lets you do that on Windows...
__________________
If they have to tell you every day they are fair you can bet they arent, if they tell you they are balanced then you should know they are not - Don't Hurt me
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 12:30 PM   #19
savar
macrumors 68000
 
savar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: District of Columbia
Send a message via AIM to savar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eraserhead
Except for tunnelling (Apparently, though i've never succeeded on my Mac) which lets you run applications with a GUI on your Mac remotely...
I've been able to SSH tunnel X11 on my mac. I connected to my Roomate's x86 running Gentoo...some apps didn't work, but I was able to run Firefox, plus all the goofy standards like Xeyes, etc. Never tried it across the internet though.
__________________
Mehce
savar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 01:07 PM   #20
slooksterPSV
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
Quote:
Originally Posted by savar
I've been able to SSH tunnel X11 on my mac. I connected to my Roomate's x86 running Gentoo...some apps didn't work, but I was able to run Firefox, plus all the goofy standards like Xeyes, etc. Never tried it across the internet though.
I've SSH'ed to the Server at my school, but like you said, never with X11 though... Hmmm... I wanna try.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 01:27 PM   #21
dr_lha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by savar
Never tried it across the internet though.
It works across the internet, I've even done it across the Atlantic (i.e. In Europe connecting to a computer in US), although that was a bit painful!
__________________
Me: 1Ghz 12" PB and Mac mini Intel Core Solo 1.5Ghz, The Wife: 1.86Ghz CD MacBook, Me@Work: 2.66Ghz Mac Pro and a 2.33Ghz C2D 15" Mac Book Pro
dr_lha is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
brushed aluminum trim on MacOS X Panther? diehldun Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion 9 Nov 29, 2003 02:27 PM
pppoe on macos 9.2x? LordiCe Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Mar 3, 2003 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC