Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2003, 12:25 PM   #1
giovanni
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: manhattan
cd-rom for bw g3

does anyone know here what specs I have to look for in an internal cd-rom that I need to install in my bw g3 (I don't have the original anymore). When I look in the various stores I just have no idea whether there are any compatibility issues I need to know.

thx much !!

gio
giovanni is offline   0
Old Feb 22, 2003, 03:20 PM   #2
jefhatfield
Retired
 
jefhatfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
you could check with www.sunremarketing.com or you can ask a tech question on th forums of www.experts-exchange.com

i hope this helps
jefhatfield is offline   0
Old Feb 22, 2003, 07:01 PM   #3
giovanni
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: manhattan
thx ! well I ordered pretty much blind one drive (I don't even know what it is...), I have no idea whether it is going to work or not. If not I will check for sure the sites you suggested


gio
giovanni is offline   0
Old Feb 22, 2003, 09:35 PM   #4
giovanni
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: manhattan
when I try to go to www.experts-exchange.com
my safari unexpectedly quits, no matter how I try to get there.
giovanni is offline   0
Old Feb 23, 2003, 12:07 AM   #5
jefhatfield
Retired
 
jefhatfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Quote:
Originally posted by giovanni
when I try to go to www.experts-exchange.com
my safari unexpectedly quits, no matter how I try to get there.
when i go there on micrsoft IE, it works...but when i go to the homepage of macrumors.com and then click on "discussion forums", then IE quits unexpectedly...so i just click on a thread instead on the right hand side of the page...it's just one of those strange quirks

i was able to go to experts-exchange.com and login and log back off without any problem...i am not sure what version of IE i am using but it came with my ibook in late-'99 so it's an older version of IE
jefhatfield is offline   0
Old Feb 23, 2003, 12:58 AM   #6
giovanni
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: manhattan
I thought the solution would be to try IE, haven't done so yet.
giovanni is offline   0
Old Feb 23, 2003, 03:07 AM   #7
Kethoticus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
Hey Giovanni, I recently installed a so-called "superdrive" in my B&W, leaving the original CD/DVD-ROM drive homeless. I'll send it to you for the price of the postage. If interested, just email me. I can be reached through the Mac Rumors system (click on the mail icon at the bottom of each post).
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Feb 23, 2003, 09:58 AM   #8
giovanni
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: manhattan
Kethoticus,
damned !!!!! I ordered one at google gear since it was so cheap. It should get here on tuesday so if it does not work I will for sure take your offer. But whatever the case, thank you so much !
It is interesting, I did the same thing as you: install a pioneer A04 in my b&w G3 (it worked great !) but then after a few days I threw the old cd-rom away. These are things that happen a lot in manhattan where space is so valuable and there is never enough of it !

Anywas, I ordered a Sony CDU5211/CDU5221 52X Internal IDE CD-ROM Bare Drive, for $27 and I have no idea whether it will work at all or not in the g3.

thx again,
gio
giovanni is offline   0
Old Feb 23, 2003, 05:32 PM   #9
Kethoticus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
Quote:
damned !!!!! I ordered one at google gear since it was so cheap. It should get here on tuesday so if it does not work I will for sure take your offer. But whatever the case, thank you so much !
Not a problem.


Quote:
It is interesting, I did the same thing as you: install a pioneer A04 in my b&w G3 (it worked great !) but then after a few days I threw the old cd-rom away. These are things that happen a lot in manhattan where space is so valuable and there is never enough of it !
Why do you need to get a separate CD-ROM? The DVD burner acts as a perfectly capable CD-ROM drive.

Oh... move to Forest Hills. I lived there for 4 years, and what you pay in Manhattan for a small studio you could get a decent 1-bedroom for. And the E/F/R/G line will get you back into Manhattan within 40 minutes or so.


Quote:
Anywas, I ordered a Sony CDU5211/CDU5221 52X Internal IDE CD-ROM Bare Drive, for $27 and I have no idea whether it will work at all or not in the g3.
IDE is IDE. It's an industry standard. Just make sure that you got the master/slave thing correct.
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Feb 23, 2003, 06:21 PM   #10
giovanni
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: manhattan
Yes, the A04 I had was all I needed, except that I put it in a Dual 867 that I had which, in turn, I have now sold, superdrive included.
Now I realize my wife could make good use of the G3 when she brings work from the office. So I was thinking of possibly buy a G4 upgrade so that she could use OS X decently. But then I would need the cd-rom.

I know, manhattan is just too expensive, but the reason I am here is because I don't want to be elsewhere. I love this place too much. Of course, not being a millionaire I do have to give up on other things, including keeping extra hardware, presumably not needed. But geee is this place a money sucker, it really is crazy.

Ide is a standard yes, however there are other factors that affect compatibility. This I know from experience; what about all the burners that will not be recognized by the OS or by iTunes ?. All is relative, I guess.

ciao,
gio
giovanni is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create my own ROM rabidz7 PowerPC Macs 34 Feb 11, 2013 07:21 PM
Dump Rom rabidz7 MacBook Pro 0 Dec 19, 2012 10:25 AM
phones: JB ROM for SGS3? r.j.s Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 18 Oct 9, 2012 01:50 AM
Need help with a ROM. Southernboyj Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 14 Sep 30, 2012 11:09 PM
Custom rom help. Southernboyj Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 1 Sep 25, 2012 03:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC