Leopard Screenshots? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

View Poll Results: Are the screenshots real or fake?
Real 119 26.10%
Fake 337 73.90%
Voters: 456. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:18 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Leopard Screenshots?



Some supposed screenshots of OS 10.5 Leopard are gaining some traction on the Mac web. Originally posted on this Blogger blog, the screenshots depict the following features:

- Mac OSX ability to run Windows programs natively (with Windows installed). Beta of IE 7 for Windows depicted.
- A refined metal interface (iTunes 5+) for Finder (with tabs)
- Multiple Desktops, with "peephole" switching effect
- iCal icon change, or integration with Address Book?

There is, of course the debate about whether or not the screenshots are real. Some of the valid points for each side are:

It's Real
- The screen switching effect only applies to the desktop windows and icons, and does not effect the menubar or dock

It's Fake
- The Internet Explorer window does not have a shadow on the right-hand side like other application windows do.
- Typically under-development software will list OS versions with the build. The screenshots only say "Version 10.5."

Raw Data: The screenshots have been mirrored on our servers here and here.
MacRumors is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:21 AM   #2
longofest
Editor emeritus
 
longofest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Send a message via AIM to longofest
No, there isn't a virus in the pics
longofest is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:26 AM   #3
Cooknn
macrumors 68020
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
That would be IE 7 running in the background, correct? If it's real, this is going to be huge. Running Windows app's natively on OS X?!
Cooknn is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:27 AM   #4
Mac_Freak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
The second pic shows some kind of a transition to different desktop and the dock is not included in the transition as well as as the menu bar. This is just a background image that someone is using.


I do like the shortcuts idea in the Finder though. Tabs might be cool too.
Mac_Freak is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:29 AM   #5
aafuss1
macrumors 68000
 
aafuss1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Send a message via AIM to aafuss1 Send a message via MSN to aafuss1 Send a message via Yahoo to aafuss1
You should be able to rearrange tabs by say drag and drop-like FireFoc in Safari 3 & Finder. Maybe even have a My tab groups feature.
__________________
Mac mini and iPad: Mac mini (Mid 2011) Core i5 2.3 GHz 2GB RAM, Thunderbolt Display, Mac OS X 10.9, iPad Air 128GB (Wi-Fi), Apple TV (3rd gen)
aafuss1 is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:30 AM   #6
longofest
Editor emeritus
 
longofest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Send a message via AIM to longofest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac_Freak
The second pic shows some kind of a transition to different desktop and the dock is not included in the transition as well as as the menu bar. This is just a background image that someone is using.


I do like the shortcuts idea in the Finder though. Tabs might be cool too.
HAHA! I didn't even think about that!!!
longofest is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:31 AM   #7
huy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Don't forget that Intel Macs use DDR2 RAM, not DDR1.
huy is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:32 AM   #8
iGary
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Randy's House
What is this icon?
Attached Images
 
iGary is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:36 AM   #9
longofest
Editor emeritus
 
longofest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Send a message via AIM to longofest
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGary
What is this icon?
iCal and Address Book all in one?
longofest is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:37 AM   #10
uaaerospace
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGary
What is this icon?
Updated address book?
__________________
Two 27" 3.4 i7 2011 iMacs w/2/3 Monitors
Black Macbook C2D, 2.0, 160 GB HD, 2GB RAM (Looking rough, but still a decent machine)
Hackintosh Media Server, 2.66 Quad Core i7, 6 GB RAM, 13 TB HDs
uaaerospace is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:37 AM   #11
iGary
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Randy's House
Quote:
Originally Posted by longofest
iCal and Address Book all in one?
And Dictionary?

I think it is a hoax, but if it stirs attention for Leopard, that's cool. It's been too long since an exciting OS release...
iGary is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:38 AM   #12
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
It only has DDR RAM, not DDR2 RAM like most intel macs.

It would be awesome if it's real though!

EDIT: Oops, Huy beat me to it.
__________________
MacBook • 17" MacBook Pro • iPod Nano • Apple TV
PS4 • Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop • WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:39 AM   #13
Core Trio
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to Core Trio
Quote:
Originally Posted by huy
Don't forget that Intel Macs use DDR2 RAM, not DDR1.
I didnt notice that at first glance but very good point, I'm gonna go with a 'fake' vote on this one.
__________________
15" Al Powerbook G4: 1.67GHz, 1GB ram, 128MB vram, 80GB HD, 16x DL LightScribe DVD burner (FW), 200GB Maxtor FW800 External HD
Core Trio is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:41 AM   #14
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooknn
That would be IE 7 running in the background, correct? If it's real, this is going to be huge. Running Windows app's natively on OS X?!
= the end of native Mac development as we know it
kainjow is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:42 AM   #15
animefan_1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by huy
Don't forget that Intel Macs use DDR2 RAM, not DDR1.
Do the Intel Macs make that difference in the "About this Mac" window pane?
__________________
15" 2.66GHz i7 MacBook Pro and 32 GB iPhone 4. Pure Apple awesomeness.
animefan_1 is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:44 AM   #16
AndyR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGary
What is this icon?
iDiary?
__________________
Early 2011 15" MBP / White iPhone 5S / TV
AndyR is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:45 AM   #17
nbs2
macrumors 68030
 
nbs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: A geographical oddity
I'd like it to be real, and (more importantly), I'd like to think that mobody would spend the time to make up screen shots for fun.

Supposing it is real, what easy system level shortcuts are left that can be commandeered to switch desktops? And, more importantly, will there be a desktop expose feature (we need more corners!)?
__________________
IDKTFG
nbs2 is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:45 AM   #18
Yonizzle
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: pennsylvania
That "hole" effect for desktop switching is patently stupid. If you're going to have multiple desktops, chances are, you'll think of them as having some kind of side-by-side arrangement in 2-space. So if there's going to be a transition between them, something that shows an edge between them makes way more sense than the "hole", which implies that they're all stacked.

And it just looks dumber than any of Apple's eye candy thus far.
Yonizzle is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:45 AM   #19
Foocha
macrumors 6502a
 
Foocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
I think it's a fake, but there are some really great ideas here, and whoever produced it is clearly a serious Apple fan!

Ideas I really like include:

- multiple desktops (very handy in Linux)
- combining Address Book and iCal - about time
- a "classic environment" for Windows XP - wow!
- iLife '06 style user interface for Finder
- tabbed browsing for Finder - great for reducing screen clutter
- favourites in Finder

What's missing from this is an address field for the Finder, with "Go to Folder" command line style tab-completion. Also, keyhole effect is a bit daft - an Exposé style method of zooming out to view all your desktops at once would surely be more useful.
Foocha is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:46 AM   #20
mark!
macrumors 65816
 
mark!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: America
Quote:
Originally Posted by animefan_1
Do the Intel Macs make that difference in the "About this Mac" window pane?
yes
__________________
13" MacBook Pro | Sage iMac G3 | White iPhone 5c
mark! is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:47 AM   #21
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
For me they are definately fake because the 'peephole switching' effect is very lame and too complicated to be from Apple.

Apples graphical style is simple and concise. The peephole effect is too much eyecandy for very little reward.

Also the RAM is wrong!
MacBoobsPro is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:48 AM   #22
Vader
macrumors 65816
 
Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to Vader
Looks like a photoshopped Tiger screenshot.
The menu bar also did not change design with the "new os" as it usually has.
Vader is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:48 AM   #23
Cooknn
macrumors 68020
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejadedmonkey
It only has DDR RAM, not DDR2 RAM like most intel macs.
I guess that pretty much settles it then.
Cooknn is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:48 AM   #24
oldMac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Fake

Another reason why this is probably faked...

In the "About This Mac" window, the Windows version is listed as "XP with Service Pack 2".

Seems unlikely since the name of "Windows XP SP2" is never presented this way in Windows and this rendition doesn't provide more useful info about the Windows build number or even mention "Microsoft".

I think that Microsoft would insist that they get billing in that window.

Along with the version number being "10.5" with no build info, this is definitely fake.
__________________
software developer & Mac user
oldMac is offline   0
Old Jun 23, 2006, 07:50 AM   #25
mark!
macrumors 65816
 
mark!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: America
Yeah, they probably would have said :

XP Professional, Service Pack 2

I think...
__________________
13" MacBook Pro | Sage iMac G3 | White iPhone 5c
mark! is offline   0

Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Random Screenshots HankHowdy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Apr 20, 2014 03:48 AM
Questions about screenshots anon1234 OS X 2 Jun 14, 2013 02:38 AM
iOS 7 Screenshots utahman130 iOS 7 1 Jun 11, 2013 09:00 PM
iOS 7 Screenshots msz7 iOS 7 0 Jun 10, 2013 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC