Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2003, 08:27 PM   #1
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Xserve dual 1.33GHz: waiting...

Anyone else out there in MacRumorsland waiting for Apple to start shipping the new Xserves?

We've got one coming in at work in "late March" according to Apple shipping schedule, and I'm frothing at the mouth already.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 08:53 PM   #2
MrMacMan
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Re: Xserve dual 1.33GHz: waiting...

Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Anyone else out there in MacRumorsland waiting for Apple to start shipping the new Xserves?

We've got one coming in at work in "late March" according to Apple shipping schedule, and I'm frothing at the mouth already.
That is gonna be one sweet machine.

You putting it to fold when it gets tired.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 09:03 PM   #3
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Like rower needs any more machines....

With the current 970 rumors, you a little concerned?

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 09:07 PM   #4
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Well, since it's going to be our main web/file server, no folding.

It's gonna be running PHP/MySQL stuff, streaming video, etc. and I don't want to slow it down. Although, our bandwidth is the real limiting factor at this point (only 100 Mbit )...
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 09:10 PM   #5
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet
Like rower needs any more machines....

With the current 970 rumors, you a little concerned?

D
Nah, I'm not concerned for a couple of reasons:

1) We barely got the money in for the purchase with the budget being what it is. Later there is less likelihood of getting the funding.

2) We needed the new server last year already, so a delay doesn't save us anything in that respect either.

Besides, as we all know, the 970s are nothing but a rumor until they get announced by Steve.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 11, 2003, 03:16 PM   #6
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Well, since it's going to be our main web/file server, no folding.

It's gonna be running PHP/MySQL stuff, streaming video, etc. and I don't want to slow it down. Although, our bandwidth is the real limiting factor at this point (only 100 Mbit )...
Only?

Try using my bandwidth, 28.8k tops! Friggin SBC!
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0
Old Mar 11, 2003, 03:24 PM   #7
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by iShater
Only?

Try using my bandwidth, 28.8k tops! Friggin SBC!
Are you running a server on that?
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 11, 2003, 03:43 PM   #8
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Are you running a server on that?
hehehe

it would be interesting if I tried eh? I am almost tempted to get a T1 in the house to get broadband!
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Xserve dual processor or not? jezzy Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Mar 2, 2014 05:22 PM
MacBook Pro late 2007 startup problem 2.33ghz dual core 4gb Gareth86 MacBook Pro 0 Nov 14, 2013 01:40 AM
Nanosaur2 won't play on Dual 1,8GHz, but on 1,33GHz??? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 3 Dec 21, 2012 03:45 AM
Siri: Waiting, waiting, waiting. . . avanpelt iOS 6 27 Oct 16, 2012 12:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC