Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2003, 08:27 PM   #1
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Xserve dual 1.33GHz: waiting...

Anyone else out there in MacRumorsland waiting for Apple to start shipping the new Xserves?

We've got one coming in at work in "late March" according to Apple shipping schedule, and I'm frothing at the mouth already.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 08:53 PM   #2
MrMacMan
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Re: Xserve dual 1.33GHz: waiting...

Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Anyone else out there in MacRumorsland waiting for Apple to start shipping the new Xserves?

We've got one coming in at work in "late March" according to Apple shipping schedule, and I'm frothing at the mouth already.
That is gonna be one sweet machine.

You putting it to fold when it gets tired.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 09:03 PM   #3
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Like rower needs any more machines....

With the current 970 rumors, you a little concerned?

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 09:07 PM   #4
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Well, since it's going to be our main web/file server, no folding.

It's gonna be running PHP/MySQL stuff, streaming video, etc. and I don't want to slow it down. Although, our bandwidth is the real limiting factor at this point (only 100 Mbit )...
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2003, 09:10 PM   #5
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet
Like rower needs any more machines....

With the current 970 rumors, you a little concerned?

D
Nah, I'm not concerned for a couple of reasons:

1) We barely got the money in for the purchase with the budget being what it is. Later there is less likelihood of getting the funding.

2) We needed the new server last year already, so a delay doesn't save us anything in that respect either.

Besides, as we all know, the 970s are nothing but a rumor until they get announced by Steve.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 11, 2003, 03:16 PM   #6
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Well, since it's going to be our main web/file server, no folding.

It's gonna be running PHP/MySQL stuff, streaming video, etc. and I don't want to slow it down. Although, our bandwidth is the real limiting factor at this point (only 100 Mbit )...
Only?

Try using my bandwidth, 28.8k tops! Friggin SBC!
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0
Old Mar 11, 2003, 03:24 PM   #7
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally posted by iShater
Only?

Try using my bandwidth, 28.8k tops! Friggin SBC!
Are you running a server on that?
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Mar 11, 2003, 03:43 PM   #8
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Are you running a server on that?
hehehe

it would be interesting if I tried eh? I am almost tempted to get a T1 in the house to get broadband!
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 Xserve dual 2.3ghz G5 question Old Mac Geezer PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 12, 2009 10:50 AM
Logic Studio: Dual Core or wait for Nehalem derek1984 MacBook Pro 6 Dec 31, 2008 09:39 AM
Quad, dual core? Can't wait for Macintel Monyx Buying Tips and Advice 31 Oct 30, 2005 04:16 PM
Quad, dual core? Can't wait for Macintel Monyx Wasteland 0 Oct 25, 2005 02:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC