Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 6, 2006, 09:46 PM   #1
Star Destroyer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
URGENT! Macbook only boots to a blue screen!

HELP!
I just bought my 1.83 1Gb macbook about 3 weeks ago, and it was perfect. I havent touched the hardware in it. No upgrades or fiddling, i have never even taken the battery out. Tonight however it wont start!

I push the button, it seems normal, i hear all the little clicks and noises as normal, but instead the screen remains that apple blue, where it would load and start OSX it just stops!

i have no idea what to do! I tried calling, but its past business hours, and the closest apple store is over 4 hours away!

Any ideas? pleease!
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2006, 10:16 PM   #2
After G
macrumors 68000
 
After G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Send a message via AIM to After G Send a message via Yahoo to After G
Few options here:

1) Put in the install CD that came with your Mac, reboot, hold down the letter C after you hear the chime, and when it boots to the installer, pick a language, and then run Disk Utility by finding it in the top menu.

2) Instead of holding down C at startup, hold down the letter D and make sure all your hardware's okay.
After G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 09:51 AM   #3
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
ok, heres the thing.. It doesnt chime....

I push the power button, everything seems fine, and then instead of chiming it just sits on a blueish gray screen... and thats the end of it.

I tried reseting the PRAM from what apple had on thier website, and for some reason it starts up only after i reset that. If i just push the power button it wont start, but if i go through that whole thing with the PRAM it will start up....

Maybe this system log will help.. This is from this morning when it happened again:
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Copyright (c) 1982, 1986, 1989, 1991, 1993
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: using 2572 buffer headers and 2572 cluster IO buffer headers
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Enabling XMM register save/restore and SSE/SSE2 opcodes
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 0:23
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Started CPU 01
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: ACPI: System State [S0 S3 S4 S5] (S3)
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Security auditing service present
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: BSM auditing present
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: disabled
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: rooting via boot-uuid from /chosen: 989A9054-B202-43D4-BA85-F5B91A08F7C2
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Waiting on <dict ID="0"><key>IOProviderClass</key><string ID="1">IOResources</string><key>IOResourceMatch</key><string ID="2">boot-uuid-media</string></dict>
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: USB caused wake event (EHCI)
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: FireWire (OHCI) Lucent ID 5811 PCI now active, GUID 0016cbfffeddea08; max speed s400.
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Got boot device = IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/SATA@1F,2/AppleAHCI/AppleAHCIPort@2/IOAHCIDevice@0/AppleAHCIDiskDriver/IOAHCIBlockStorageDevice/IOBlockStorageDriver/ST96812AS Media/IOGUIDPartitionScheme/Customer@2
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: BSD root: disk0s2, major 14, minor 2
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: jnl: replay_journal: from: 5691904 to: 6817280 (joffset 0xa701000)
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: CSRHIDTransitionDriver:robe:
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: CSRHIDTransitionDriver::start before command
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: CSRHIDTransitionDriver::stop
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: IOBluetoothHCIController::start Idle Timer Stopped
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Jettisoning kernel linker.
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Resetting IOCatalogue.
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Matching service count = 4
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Matching service count = 4
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Matching service count = 4
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Matching service count = 4
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Matching service count = 4
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPILPC:: waiting for platform plugin
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPILPC:: register successful
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: mac 10.3 phy 6.1 radio 10.2
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: IPv6 packet filtering initialized, default to accept, logging disabled
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost memberd[38]: memberd starting up
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost mDNSResponder-108 (Jan 14 2006 02: 59:21)[31]: starting
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost lookupd[42]: lookupd (version 369.5) starting - Mon Aug 7 10:26:03 2006
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost DirectoryService[43]: Launched version 2.1 (v353.2)
Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost diskarbitrationd[37]: disk0s2 hfs 44759B91-3E12-3F57-B93B-4F5FECCECD35 Macintosh /
Aug 7 10:26:04 localhost kernel[0]: yukonosx: Ethernet address 00:16:cb:cc:91:f0
Aug 7 10:26:04 localhost kernel[0]: AirPort_Athr5424: Ethernet address 00:16:cb:bc:5c:fc
Aug 7 10:26:04 localhost kernel[0]: [HCIController][setupHardware] AFH Is Supported
Aug 7 10:26:04 Tosh configd[35]: setting hostname to "Tosh.local"
Aug 7 10:26:05 Tosh kernel[0]: display: Not usable
Aug 7 10:26:05 Tosh lookupd[60]: lookupd (version 369.5) starting - Mon Aug 7 10:26:05 2006
Aug 7 10:26:05 Tosh /System/Library/CoreServices/loginwindow.app/Contents/MacOS/loginwindow: Login Window Application Started
Aug 7 10:26:05 Tosh loginwindow[62]: Login Window Started Security Agent
Aug 7 10:26:07 Tosh mDNSResponder: Adding browse domain local.
Aug 7 10:26:59 Tosh /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Resources/airport: Error: WirelessAssociate2() = 88001006 for network default
Aug 7 10:27:07 Tosh /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Resources/airport: Error: WirelessAssociate2() = 88001006 for network default
Aug 7 10:27:15 Tosh /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Resources/airport: Error: WirelessAssociate2() = 88001006 for network default
Aug 7 10:27:28 Tosh /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Resources/airport: Error: WirelessAssociate2() = 88001006 for open network "default" after prompt
Aug 7 10:36:37 Tosh configd[35]: executing /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/Kicker.bundle/Contents/Resources/enable-network
Aug 7 10:36:37 Tosh configd[35]: posting notification com.apple.system.config.network_change
Aug 7 10:36:37 Tosh lookupd[141]: lookupd (version 369.5) starting - Mon Aug 7 10:36:37 2006
Aug 7 10:36:41 Tosh configd[35]: target=enable-network: disabled


I dont know what any of that means, but perhaps it could help, and due to the holiday i cant call apple, soooo you guys are my only help!


So theres no chime, it stays on a solid blueish grey screen, it SOUNDS like its working, yet nothing comes up on the screen.. Usually i just hold the power button to turn it off then restart and try again..

anything i could do to fix this?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:19 AM   #4
bbrosemer
macrumors 6502a
 
bbrosemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to bbrosemer
Are you sure you didnt mess with anything becasue according to that the login window kernel has already started, a suggestion that I have is booting into safe mode, and seeing if that works, also you could try a fresh install if there is nothing all that important, and was this after the security update?
__________________
Can't we all just get along and where Windows and Mac can coexist, ... O wait we already have, thanks Apple
bbrosemer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:27 AM   #5
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I am sure, i was actually showing my granparents pictures from a trip i went on on Front Row then came home shut it off and hours later all of this happened. Yes it was after the new security update, oddly enough it has never had problems before the update. The reason i am asking for help so dramatically is because this is my first mac, so i dont know all the tricks. For example in windows teh whole control-alt-delete and starting in safe mode, and things like that. I dont know how to start macs in safe mode, or what the Startup Disk is..ect...

What it seems like is that the computer is starting but its not loading to the screen, because i can hear the CPU going and the HDD and all the normal loading sounds, but nothing seems to be happening..
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:30 AM   #6
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Have you tried After G's suggestion regarding the Install CDs?

It's possible that the update adversely affected your system. It's at least as likely that there is a firmware or hardware issue. If you can boot to the Install CD and run diagnostics or even "Archive and Install" the OS again, you'll know it's software and not hardware. I'd try the diagnostics first, then use a reinstall of the OS as a last-ditch option (note that it won't erase the drive unless you tell it to, merely reinstall system software).
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:31 AM   #7
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
oh, and after looking through the log i noticed a couple things, but dont know what they mean, and i am curious :

Aug 7 10:26:05 Tosh kernel[0]: display: Not usable

Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Matching service count = 4

Aug 7 10:26:03 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3

These are the three i am wondering about, anyone know what they mean?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:33 AM   #8
krestfallen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Send a message via ICQ to krestfallen
you say that you reseted the PRAM and it booted up but on the next boot the same problem happens?

you could try to reset the PRAM again to boot into mac os and reset the permissions with the disk utility (applications - utilities). this could help you out perhaps.
__________________
.15" PowerBook G4, 1,67GHz, 1GB, 160GB, HiRes
.AMD64 3200+, 1GB, X800PE, 19" Acer TFT w/ Ubuntu 6.10
.iPod nano 4GB 1st Gen.
krestfallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:35 AM   #9
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Ok, i am super new to macs.. So what exactly is Diagnostics? and how do i run it?

and if i reinstall OS X it WON'T erase all of my files (homework etc..)?

Just being careful...
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:38 AM   #10
krestfallen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Send a message via ICQ to krestfallen
if you insert the install disc while booting up the mac os installation appears. you also can do various of other tasks, too - like running a diagnostic tool that will check you system.

edit: if you chose "archive and install" all your stuff will be backed up so nothing will be lost and the os will be installed again.
__________________
.15" PowerBook G4, 1,67GHz, 1GB, 160GB, HiRes
.AMD64 3200+, 1GB, X800PE, 19" Acer TFT w/ Ubuntu 6.10
.iPod nano 4GB 1st Gen.
krestfallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:39 AM   #11
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Yes, i went to apple.com, and under the trouble shooting they had a section that was "Macbook won't start" sooo they had some options, i tried them all and nothing worked. Then i tried the PRAM one, and i reset that and the computer restarted and it ran fine, smooth startup and everything. So to check i shut it down, and powered it up again, and it wouldnt start again. So then i reset the PRAM again, and it restarted and powered up fine.. sooo now everytime i need to start my macbook i have to first reset the PRAM or it wont start...It seems anyway.. i really dont know what PRAM is, or why i would need to reset it so much, or whats causing anything. This is a basic "it starts when i do this, so now i do this everytime" type situation.
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:43 AM   #12
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Sounds like hardware or firmware, then.

You have a workaround for now. I'd backup any data you need to, just in case, then I'd look into the diagnostics/OS re-install options.

If a recent firmware update has caused an issue, an OS reinstall won't help. This really is the sort of thing you should call Apple about, but, as I said, backup important info first, and, if you return the system for repairs, be sure to de-authorize iTunes Music Store first, in case they replace your system.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:47 AM   #13
krestfallen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Send a message via ICQ to krestfallen
the pram is a memory where various preferences are stored in (like start up resolution, volume etc...). the pram will be saved every time you shut the system down.

perhaps starting the mac with the resetted pram and then repairing the disc permissions will help (try applications/utilities/disc utility, select your harddrive and hit "repair disc permissions" (don't know the exact text cause i'm german)).
__________________
.15" PowerBook G4, 1,67GHz, 1GB, 160GB, HiRes
.AMD64 3200+, 1GB, X800PE, 19" Acer TFT w/ Ubuntu 6.10
.iPod nano 4GB 1st Gen.
krestfallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:56 AM   #14
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Well, i reset the PRAM, and i started up the disk utility and i repaired all disk permissions, and it actually had somethings to repair... So it repaired them, and now it seems that everything works ok, no problems yet. I have started it up about 4 times and nothing seems out of the ordinary...

I also checked the hardware and preformed the exteneded test as well as the normal one, and no trouble was found. Then when i clicked shutdown, it ejected the CD and hung on that bright blue screen... sooo i shut it down, and powered it up again, and it worked fine..

So today will be a day to watch it, and see if something wierd happends...I dont have anything terrible important on here. I havent boughten anything from Itunes, and all the music on here is transfered from my PC as well as all teh movies and photos.. Everything on here is also on my PC except some little assignments but i cant open them anyway since TestDrive expired haha

Thank you eveyone for your help, your the ones that make this the best Mac forums on the web! thank you again.
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:01 AM   #15
krestfallen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Send a message via ICQ to krestfallen
no problem, mate!

when you shut the system down, ejected the cd and hang up... perhaps the macbook had to take some time. i don't know how long you have waited though...

well nice that it works again and hopefully will for the next few years. and welcome to the appleworld by the way
__________________
.15" PowerBook G4, 1,67GHz, 1GB, 160GB, HiRes
.AMD64 3200+, 1GB, X800PE, 19" Acer TFT w/ Ubuntu 6.10
.iPod nano 4GB 1st Gen.
krestfallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:02 AM   #16
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Oh snap!

ummm yes well, i am back......



So i noticed something i wasnt sure if its related.. but in my system profiler under power it says:
Battery Information:

Battery Installed: Yes
First low level warning: No
Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 4804
Remaining Capacity (mAh): 1482
Amperage (mA): 2775
Voltage (mV): 11652
Cycle Count: 36

This is when it is connected to the charger......
i dont know what the Voltage and amps are spossed to be but 11.6 volts seems high, even 2.7 amps might be high to me....

Is this normal? could this be causing the trouble?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:06 AM   #17
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Destroyer
ummm yes well, i am back......



So i noticed something i wasnt sure if its related.. but in my system profiler under power it says:
...
Is this normal? could this be causing the trouble?
That's all fine. Those numbers are normal, and you're apparently charging the battery now.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:08 AM   #18
krestfallen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Send a message via ICQ to krestfallen
this are just "mA" and "mV" not "A" or "V". 1mA is 0.001A...

edit: sorry, you said the right numbers already... have overseen it.

like jsw said it seems like normal
__________________
.15" PowerBook G4, 1,67GHz, 1GB, 160GB, HiRes
.AMD64 3200+, 1GB, X800PE, 19" Acer TFT w/ Ubuntu 6.10
.iPod nano 4GB 1st Gen.
krestfallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:08 AM   #19
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I am charging! how did you know? hahaha

and the numbers remain about teh same even when i take the magsafe off..

Battery Information:

Battery Installed: Yes
First low level warning: No
Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 4817
Remaining Capacity (mAh): 1823
Amperage (mA): 2768
Voltage (mV): 11721
Cycle Count: 36
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:08 AM   #20
atticus1178
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Send a message via AIM to atticus1178 Send a message via Yahoo to atticus1178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Destroyer
ummm yes well, i am back......



So i noticed something i wasnt sure if its related.. but in my system profiler under power it says:
Battery Information:

Battery Installed: Yes
First low level warning: No
Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 4804
Remaining Capacity (mAh): 1482
Amperage (mA): 2775
Voltage (mV): 11652
Cycle Count: 36

This is when it is connected to the charger......
i dont know what the Voltage and amps are spossed to be but 11.6 volts seems high, even 2.7 amps might be high to me....

Is this normal? could this be causing the trouble?
my powerbook G4 1.5 ghz, displays this:

Battery Installed: Yes
First low level warning: No
Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 4255
Remaining Capacity (mAh): 4241
Amperage (mA): 0
Voltage (mV): 12506
Cycle Count: 95

so i would guess yours is normal
__________________
Desk- Mac Pro | 2.66 Ghz | 4 GB RAM | 250 GB HD | SD
Lap- MacBook Pro | 15" | 1.83 Ghz CD | 1.5 GB RAM | 80 GB HD | SD
Fun- Wii | 30GB iPod Blk
atticus1178 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:14 AM   #21
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
see its the amperage that was worrying me, yours says 0 mine says 2775....

its a taaad bit higher.. hahaah

But my macbook is ok?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:16 AM   #22
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Destroyer
see its the amperage that was worrying me, yours says 0 mine says 2775....

its a taaad bit higher.. hahaah

But my macbook is ok?
That just means it's discharging the battery (or charging... I forget). It's fine. Note that the numbers aren't updated in real time, so they lag.

But yes, at least your power setup seems fine. The PRAM thing is an issue, though.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:27 AM   #23
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
The PRAM issues i beleive to be subsiding...
I had to reset it three times, once last night, once again this morning to post, and the last time was when i got it to start and load the disk utility on the install CD which then repaired my disk permissions, and since then i havent had a problem.. I have shut it down properly, and powered it up about 10 times now, and it hasnt had a problem as of yet.. i will however call apple tommorow, and then closer to the end of 90 day coverage period purchase the 3 year apple care... just incase...
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 12:00 PM   #24
T-Stex
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Destroyer
The PRAM issues i beleive to be subsiding...
I had to reset it three times, once last night, once again this morning to post, and the last time was when i got it to start and load the disk utility on the install CD which then repaired my disk permissions, and since then i havent had a problem.. I have shut it down properly, and powered it up about 10 times now, and it hasnt had a problem as of yet.. i will however call apple tommorow, and then closer to the end of 90 day coverage period purchase the 3 year apple care... just incase...
I'm glad to hear that everything worked out well. The first things I try any time I've got a problem I can't seem to figure out are restarting and repairing permissions. I'd say most of the time, that's worked for me.

Also, remember that you've got 1 year of AppleCare coverage with your MacBook, so no need to rush to buy the extra two years.
T-Stex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 06:57 PM   #25
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
are you sure its one year? i thought it was only 90 days? and it was kinda limited....

1 year eh!?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Air 08 boots to white screen (no apple logo/folder question mark?) Mikey323 MacBook Air 6 Dec 29, 2013 12:05 AM
Macbook 7,1 2010. White Flash on Screen at Boot. Bit boots fine. Evostar* MacBook 11 Nov 23, 2013 03:25 AM
MacBook Pro only boots in safe mode with pink vertical stripes across screen alyssaisrad93 MacBook Pro 2 Jul 15, 2013 02:36 PM
URGENT !! Blue screen on login, user account on imac won't work NickVal72 Mac Basics and Help 1 Mar 29, 2013 04:41 AM
MacBook boots into grey screen utahman130 Mac Basics and Help 8 Jun 21, 2012 04:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC