Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 15, 2003, 01:04 PM   #1
usualkid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Digichat with mac

Hey there.

Basically i dont know if any of you chat at any sites that use digichat? Well my problem is, ive just bought this new mac powerbook G4 12 inch yada yada. Ive never used a mac before, but already got to grips with it.

One problem though. i cant access digichat for some reason, it loads the applet. but gets stuck at "connect" and does nothing. Now, there cant be something wrong with the java if it actually loads the applet, so im basing it on the inbuilt firewall, this machine uses.

Is there anyway to get around this? switching off the firewall?

Anyone else had the same problem?

Cheers
Uslkid.
usualkid is offline   0
Old Mar 15, 2003, 01:30 PM   #2
conceptdev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Did you install the Java update through Software Update in the Systems Preferences?
conceptdev is offline   0
Old Mar 15, 2003, 01:37 PM   #3
usualkid
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
no i didnt. but now im downloading

cross fingers it works...

thanks bud
uslkid
usualkid is offline   0
Old Mar 15, 2003, 02:45 PM   #4
beatle888
Banned
 
beatle888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
i dont think the firewall is on by default. go to system preferences (in the apple menu) and select sharing, i believe the firewall settings are under the second tab. turn it off if its on and see if that helps.

Last edited by beatle888; Mar 15, 2003 at 02:47 PM.
beatle888 is offline   0
Old Mar 16, 2003, 12:34 AM   #5
usualkid
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
hmm. i downloaded the new java update. no success unfortunatley.

Also went to firewall settings and checked them, switch it off. and yet still nothing. arghhh.

i guess its not compatible yet. damn you digichat.

uslkid.
usualkid is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Mac mini with AMD graphics HDMI scaling wrong with Windows 7 64 Bits DSpawnZ Mac mini 10 Dec 30, 2012 03:08 AM
Apple Remote with Mac Pro? futurevibe Mac Peripherals 6 Jul 25, 2011 06:31 AM
Apple TV works with Mac Pro? -BigMac- Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Jun 16, 2011 09:03 AM
Treo 650 with Mac or Treo 700w With Mac snackcakeofd00m Mac Peripherals 2 Mar 8, 2006 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC