Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2006, 09:24 AM   #1
speakerwizard
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
powermac dual2.7 for imac 24 inch hhmmmm

Hi peeps, thought id share some thoughts. i have a powermac dual 2.7ghz, indeed still a powerful machine by todays standards. boy did i want a mac pro as soon as they came out but they lacked one or two things (such as sli) that im sure rev 2 will have.

But i never thought that after turning pro (3d animatio) that i would be tempted back to an imac, with the new 24 incher! good processor, graphics card upgrade, 3gb ram, all sounds quite good, until i heard the front side bus is 667mhz doesnt sound too great does it! so unless these processors are so much faster than the G5 (which i doubt) there probably isnt a benefit, other than it could be handy to have windows also installed as 3D is kinda dominated on windows (and linus to a degree)

oh, i mention the mac pro but it is just too expensive for me at the moment.

im sure there is a lot of people in my kind of boat, wanting to go intel but finding it hard because of software, (im sure cs2 will work fine on a mac pro under rosetta but ive heard Maya struggles) oh boy, maybe im just being impatient but damn, that imac is sweet.

add your views or intel switching dilemmas, could be interesting!
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 09:26 AM   #2
speakerwizard
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
just as a comparison to the 667mhz frontside bus on the core2duo imac, my G5 has 1.35ghz (if i remember right) per processor.
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 11:29 AM   #3
TheFuzz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LA
i'd take the money you'd spend on the imac and save it for a mac pro, which wouldn't be that much more assuming you'd go for the upgraded 7600, ram, etc. on the imac. probably only a couple hundred bucks.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | work | flickr
TheFuzz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 12:21 PM   #4
Pressure
macrumors 68040
 
Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denmark
To put this gently, the Merom is quite competitive with your dual G5 setup.

The Front Side Bus only has a minor effect on the performance of Intels new offerings. You should rather be looking for the Instructions Per Cycle (IPC) of any given processor, which is much more meaningful.

You cannot directly compare processor designs on its features such as clock speed, front side bus, cache, memory controller etc.
__________________
Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Pressure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 12:57 PM   #5
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure
To put this gently, the Merom is quite competitive with your dual G5 setup.

The Front Side Bus only has a minor effect on the performance of Intels new offerings. You should rather be looking for the Instructions Per Cycle (IPC) of any given processor, which is much more meaningful.

You cannot directly compare processor designs on its features such as clock speed, front side bus, cache, memory controller etc.
Not quite true...
The front side bus speed does affect how much date the processor can move around. Now if what you are doing doesn't go past the bus speed of the processor in question, then it can be ignored.

Also, you need to look at the bus width in addition to the speed. If the bus is twice as wide but half the speed of another, they'll both be able to move about the same amount of data per second.

And the memory controller plays into this as well. But you need to look at the specs for each memory controller.

However, you are correct that absolute numbers don't necessarily mean much since they don't tell the full story. Saying a bus can move X amount of data per second means more than the spped is Y GHz, however, you still need to know what the processor can do with all that data in that a second.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 02:10 PM   #6
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
yeah.. can't wait for Barefeats to compare:

- iMac Core 2 Duo
- iMac Core Duo
- Power Mac G5 Dual Core.

Apps like:
FCP
Motion
QuickTime encoding (iPod H.264)
Quake 4
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.

Last edited by MacsRgr8; Sep 7, 2006 at 04:30 PM.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:21 PM   #7
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors 601
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
In native apps a 2.13Ghz CD2 probably performs roughly on a par with your G5. If I remember correctly, the 2.7Ghz Dual G5 is actually the fastest Mac available for Photoshop because Photoshop is only optimised for two processors (at the moment). IGary will know for sure though.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 04:40 PM   #8
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
If the Power Mac Dual 2.7 would have had the 7800 GT grfx card, it would beat the Quad G5 in Doom 3 too.

That's why I am very anxious to find out how well the new iMacs perform in the known UB territory.

Shootout:

iMac 24", 2.33 GHz, nVidia 7600 GT, 2 GB RAM vs. Power Mac G5, Dual 2.3 GHz, nVidia 7800 GT, 2 GB RAM.
Maybe throw in a Power Mac G5 Dual 2.7 GHz, nVidia 6800 Ultra, 2 GB RAM.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2006, 11:28 AM   #9
speakerwizard
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Yeah, i cant wait for bare feats to test the imacs too, oh and i do realise comparing different cpus mhz for mhz isnt really a smart way to compare but from the bare feats testing of quad intel to quad G5 they seem almost the same mhz for mhz, so it seems IBM were ahead of the game after all the debating at the time!

another reason im tempted by the imac is i have my powermac set up as media center to (i work out of my bedroom) i have a hacked front row, keyspan and alchemy tv, and dual 19" formac displays (a pretty sweet settup if i do say) but that 24" and the eyetv2 with this...
http://www.iospirit.com/index.php?mo...e70a2462140432
gets me hot under the collar
i wanna get good resale on my G5 while i still can, oh heck, i just wanna play around with an intel mac and dual booting and i know it lol
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
27 inch 2013 iMac with 27 inch Planar Helium touch screen as 2nd monitor. CochlearArch Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 1, 2014 08:41 PM
White intel imac 17 inch resurrection to a 23 inch L.E.D g4manimac iMac 0 Dec 25, 2013 01:11 AM
Should I sell my late 2012 21.5 inch iMac and early 2013 15 inch retina MacBook Pro? boombox15 MacBook Pro 8 Sep 2, 2013 11:44 PM
Shipping Estimates for 21.5-Inch and 27-Inch iMac Drop to 1-3 Days in US and Canada MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 98 May 10, 2013 01:47 AM
13 inch air + 27 inch iMac vs. Retina + Thunderbolt display Ardash MacBook Air 14 Aug 29, 2012 12:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC