Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 29, 2003, 11:29 AM   #1
rayneg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I need help buying a cable modem

Hi,

I'm going to be getting a cable internet account through Comcast here in sunny Portland Oregon. I want to look into buying the modem myself. Can someone please point me to a reliable, bare-bones model?

Ideally, it will use firewire because all my USB ports are used up. I'm running 10.2.3. Thank you!
rayneg is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 11:44 AM   #2
conceptdev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I do not believe that such a thing as a firewire cable modem exists. You would want one with an ethernet port. Not a USB because that would be as slow as death.
conceptdev is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 12:05 PM   #3
rayneg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Yes, the ethernet port would be even better. I found USB port models on eBay and was concerned that might be the standard.
rayneg is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 12:39 PM   #4
DakotaGuy
macrumors 68030
 
DakotaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Dakota, USA
Radio Shack sells an RCA Cable Modem for $79.99 and I have a friend that bought one and it works well. It handles both USB and Ethernet, but the USB drivers are for PC only so you would have to use the Ethernet port for the Mac. Of course, I would recommend Ethernet as the way to go anyhow, USB would be slow and if you are running anything else through USB like a printer, camera, or an iSub it would be even slower.

I have a Toshiba PCX1100 that is an Ethernet only modem and it works well, it is not mine however. The Cable company here includes a cable modem with the cost of the service, so why buy one when you have to pay for theirs anyway.
__________________
Mac: 21.5" iMac Core i5 2.5 Ghz "Sandy Bridge"
iPad Air 16 GB WiFi - iPod Classic 80GB - Motorola Droid MAXX
DakotaGuy is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 01:45 PM   #5
Vlade
macrumors 6502a
 
Vlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Meadville, PA
Quote:
Originally posted by conceptdev
I do not believe that such a thing as a firewire cable modem exists. You would want one with an ethernet port. Not a USB because that would be as slow as death.
USB is more than enough, it runs at 12mbps, cable modems range from 256bps to 3mbps.

Most cable companies lend or give you the modem I thought, mine did.
Vlade is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 09:09 PM   #6
daniel77
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: seattle, wa
use the one the ISP gives you
daniel77 is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 10:10 PM   #7
ebow
macrumors 6502a
 
ebow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Trapped in a world before later on
Quote:
Originally posted by daniel77
use the one the ISP gives you
I'll second that, especially because some (many?) ISPs will charge you a higher rate if you use your own cablemodem. Sucks, but that's business, I suppose.
__________________
Just find a place where no one knows of your redneck past
Yeah, you can easily dispose of your redneck past
You'll show them all back home
ebow is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 10:48 PM   #8
alset
macrumors 65816
 
alset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East Bay, CA
Comcast only charges three dollars per month for modem rental. Use that.

Dan
__________________
alsetmusic.com
standing on the shoulders of giants....
alset is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 11:10 PM   #9
daniel77
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: seattle, wa
Quote:
Originally posted by ebow
I'll second that, especially because some (many?) ISPs will charge you a higher rate if you use your own cablemodem. Sucks, but that's business, I suppose.
yes, it is quite sad that you are locked into a monopoly when you move into an area, building etc. I am so happy that i switched to digital cable, especially since i get a discount on my HSI too through comcast
daniel77 is offline   0
Old Mar 29, 2003, 11:17 PM   #10
Xero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles
i agree with using the modem they supply. only only costs a few bucks a month extra, and you can use the money you save to buy a router with a built in firewall, as i would not recommend connecting to a broadband/static IP connection without some sort of hardware firewall.
Xero is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Macbook Air 2009 - Need Help twiggy0 Buying Tips and Advice 3 May 27, 2012 01:35 AM
Need help buying iPhone 4S for friend overseas Vulcan4770 iPhone 3 Dec 30, 2011 09:50 PM
Comcast screwing me, I need to buy a cable modem Mo Tiggas Buying Tips and Advice 2 Nov 19, 2009 01:07 PM
Need help faxing with ext modem on leopard Chryssa Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 12, 2009 02:27 AM
Need help with hdmi cable for my tv! viccles Community Discussion 2 Feb 16, 2008 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC