Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mac000

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 6, 2005
I've downloaded eclipse for mac, but I cannot get any of my programs to run properly. I suspect i need some other program to go along with eclipse bc i've compied programs out of my text book so it is not a compiler error.

I am totally new to programming but I need to compile and run programs for a class at my University.

Can someone please tell me what all I need to have a ECLIPSE/JAVA enviornment run properly on OS X?

Once again, i have only downloaded Eclipse and it is verion 3.2.1

THank you!

mrichmon

macrumors 6502a
Jun 17, 2003
mac000 said:
I've downloaded eclipse for mac, but I cannot get any of my programs to run properly. I suspect i need some other program to go along with eclipse bc i've compied programs out of my text book so it is not a compiler error.

I am totally new to programming but I need to compile and run programs for a class at my University.

Can someone please tell me what all I need to have a ECLIPSE/JAVA enviornment run properly on OS X?

Once again, i have only downloaded Eclipse and it is verion 3.2.1

Have you installed Apple's Developer Tools? These come on your OS X install disk but a more recent version is available from the Apple web site. The download is a few hundred MB so you will want a fast connection before you download.

Developer Tools installs the Java SDK so if you do not have it installed you will have problems using Eclipse.

mac000

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 6, 2005
mrichmon said:
Have you installed Apple's Developer Tools? These come on your OS X install disk but a more recent version is available from the Apple web site. The download is a few hundred MB so you will want a fast connection before you download.

Developer Tools installs the Java SDK so if you do not have it installed you will have problems using Eclipse.