Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2006, 12:58 AM   #1
xiaoxu5101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Francisco
Firewire port won't work on my PowerMac G4

I have a PowerMac G4, AGP model. I connect one external hard drive and one external DVD writer to my computer through the two built-in firewire ports.

However, the computer mount any of my firewire devices on the afternoon (they still working fine on the morning). I had try three way to fix this problem. I did try reinstall the external devices, I did try un-plug every thing include the power of the computer and reconnect them back, and I also reinstall my OSX.

However, all three ways still not fix that problem. Both of my external hard drive and DVD writer have USB port. I did try to connect them with the USB, and they work find.

So my question is does this problem cause to the firewire port or the mother board of the computer (I don't think this problem is cause by my devices because they still work with USB). How can I find out which part cause this problem? And also how can I fix?

Thank you very much.
xiaoxu5101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 01:40 AM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Reset the Power Management Unit
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=95037

or

Boot into Open Firmware (Command-Option-O-F)

Type "reset-nvram" at the prompt followed by "reset-all". Restart

Does this wake the ports up?
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 09:03 PM   #3
xiaoxu5101
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
Reset the Power Management Unit
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=95037

or

Boot into Open Firmware (Command-Option-O-F)

Type "reset-nvram" at the prompt followed by "reset-all". Restart

Does this wake the ports up?

No, both ways still won't wake the ports. What should I do next?

Thank you.
xiaoxu5101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 09:07 PM   #4
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
Reset the Power Management Unit
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=95037

or

Boot into Open Firmware (Command-Option-O-F)

Type "reset-nvram" at the prompt followed by "reset-all". Restart

Does this wake the ports up?
Hey mate, I've done a couple of PMU resets and I still can't get my Firewire port to work. Will the Open Firmware thing do anything else to my computer? I hadn't know about this method till now I just want to know what I should expect?
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 09:34 PM   #5
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yu might just lose your clock settings until you reconnect to the 'net, but that's unlikely. Here's more on resetting the PRAM/NVRAM.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 09:38 PM   #6
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Yu might just lose your clock settings until you reconnect to the 'net, but that's unlikely. Here's more on resetting the PRAM/NVRAM.
Yeah, gave it a burl, no dice.

Reckon the thing's just buggered.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 10:13 PM   #7
xiaoxu5101
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Francisco
no, reset the NRVAM with Command-Option-P-R keys or open to Fireware Command-Option-O-F still won't wake the ports.

Should be the bettery dead? or still something wrong with the logic board? If the problem cause by the logic board, will a firewire PCI card work?
xiaoxu5101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 10:21 PM   #8
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Sounds like fried FireWire ports. A PCI card will work just fine.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 11:28 PM   #9
xiaoxu5101
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Sounds like fried FireWire ports. A PCI card will work just fine.
Does any kind of PCI card will wrok with PowerMac G4 AGP? or is there any particular PCI card that can work with? Any suggestion?
xiaoxu5101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Firewire Port/Cat/Salad Dressing Disaster nevynnoir MacBook Pro 13 Apr 13, 2014 12:26 PM
G5 PowerMac Power Consumption - In Firewire Mode? cosmichobo PowerPC Macs 12 Jan 27, 2014 04:09 PM
Use my firewire port for USB? jrm27 Mac Basics and Help 7 May 22, 2013 05:21 AM
Can't see FireWire 800 port iTundra Mac Pro 8 Feb 15, 2013 08:36 PM
firewire port on macbook pro, uses? LeeM MacBook Pro 4 Aug 20, 2012 05:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC