Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

5150 Joker

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 24, 2006
Davis, California
I'm new to the Mac/OSX platform and I haven't seen any mention of a popular disk defragment program yet. Anyone here have some suggestions?

Warbrain

macrumors 603
Jun 28, 2004
Chicago, IL
I was reading that once the disk reaches around 80% full things start slowing down and a disk defrag program becomes neccessary even for OSX.

Part of the reasoning that I think that could be right is that there isn't as much space for virtual memory then. But I've never read that anywhere. Someone might have more knowledge on that than me.

ghall

macrumors 68040
Jun 27, 2006
Rhode Island
I use iDefrag, though defrag is not really necessary unless your working with large files (I think it's over 40MB). OS X does have a built-in defragmenter, but even that needs a little help sometimes.

markw10

macrumors 6502
Sep 4, 2006
Do you have to defragment Hard Drives?

I am used to having to Defragment hard drives on the PC. Is this necessary on the Mac and if so is there a good program to buy to do it or does this come with the computer?

mleary

macrumors regular
Sep 13, 2006
I was reading that once the disk reaches around 80% full things start slowing down and a disk defrag program becomes neccessary even for OSX.

You only have to worry if you get down to 1GB or so available space so the OS can create new swap files if it needs to. OS X creates swap files in 80MB increments so even 1GB of available space should be fine.

knome

macrumors 6502
Sep 7, 2006
onyX does optimizations but i think i heard somewhere that it is not necessary because of UNIX.

WildCowboy

Administrator/Editor
Staff member
Jan 20, 2005
Wow...it's the day of defrag. A similar question was last asked an hour ago.