Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2007, 01:36 PM   #1
mbainz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
imac g3 runs fine. but no net connection

hi. i am just trying to get my old indigo g3 imac 350 working for my kids to use and everything seems to be working fine except that it wont hook up to the net through an ethernet cable. i have done a re-install and i can open either explorer or netscape which works fine but wont allow me access online. i can remember when i was using it that i just plugged it in and it hooked every thing up for me. I have run first aid and get " problem: invalid catalog, 4,0." . checking this out it looks terminal but i cant see why everything else works except allowing me access. any thoughts appreciated.
mbainz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 01:55 PM   #2
Dont Hurt Me
macrumors 603
 
Dont Hurt Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Yahooville S.C.
cmos chip that controls ethernet may be fried, I have a G3 500 that was hit by lightning through my cable modem and it has no ethernet. If that is your problem you do have alternatives like airport.
__________________
Those that give up Liberty to have temporary Security deserve Neither......Benjamin Franklin.
Dont Hurt Me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 02:05 PM   #3
mbainz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
thanks . do you know any i can test it before i fork out for a card.
mbainz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 02:08 PM   #4
Dont Hurt Me
macrumors 603
 
Dont Hurt Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Yahooville S.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbainz View Post
thanks . do you know any i can test it before i fork out for a card.
I dont and wish I did so I could be 100% certain thats my problem. You do have a modem built into that mac so you could use the phone line
__________________
Those that give up Liberty to have temporary Security deserve Neither......Benjamin Franklin.
Dont Hurt Me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 02:12 PM   #5
mbainz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
what about those wireless usb adapters. a lot cheaper than an airport card. any experiance?
mbainz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 02:37 PM   #6
mbainz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
tried hooking up through dial-up but it wouldnt let me set the tcp /ip numbers which it said i had to. alert came up saying that another program was using them or they were locked. but i wasnt running anything else and i cant see how to unlock them????????
mbainz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This is odd: MP 3,1 Cold Boots fine, runs fine, can't reboot MacPhotog Mac Pro 6 Nov 22, 2013 03:16 AM
iPad: No Tetherme USB connection, Wifi connection is fine labear Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jun 16, 2013 04:12 PM
Faster net connection or ATV3? Boomish69 Apple TV and Home Theater 18 Jun 11, 2013 12:56 AM
Program Runs Incorrectly When Triggered via AppleScript, fine when opened normally. JonHimself Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 May 28, 2013 07:53 AM
iPad: iPad connected to the net and working fine, but no signal bars. Why? kdum8 iPad 3 Dec 22, 2012 03:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC