Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2007, 12:19 PM   #1
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Visual tab Switching? (Firefox)

Anyone know of an expose sort of way to switching between tabs in Firefox? I do use the Command-1...2....3 to go directly what tab I want (which is quite useful) but there has got to be a better way.

I like the way that Opera moves about tabs with its small menu that pops-up, but Opera sucks at everything else. Anyone know of a Greasemonkey script or add-on or something?
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 12:40 PM   #2
TDM21
macrumors 6502a
 
TDM21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
If you want the expose visual look for viewing tabs, then Mozilla's extensions page has a few: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/extensions/

Here is what I found.

Firefox Showcase
Tab Catalog
Viamatic foXpose
Ctrl Tab Preview
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Pro/2.7GHz i7/4GB Ram/500GB HD
12" PowerBook/1.33GHz/1.25GB RAM/160GB HD/ComboDrive
PowerMac G4/2x1.8GHz/1.5GB RAM/ATi 9800Pro/Poineer 111D
Newton 2100
TDM21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 12:48 PM   #3
Stratification
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Something like this?
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1457/

Inspired by the Mac Expose functionality if I'm not mistaken. (Hence the name I suppose).

EDIT: Dang, just a touch too slow.
Stratification is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 12:55 PM   #4
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
i second TDM21's idea

the best one is reveal, which officially doesn't support 2.0.0.x, u need some tricks to install it. goto https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1942/ see the comment for details

if even has a magnification lens, lol
and u can drag the previews to rearrange the tab positions, with animation

Last edited by clevin; Jan 16, 2007 at 01:17 PM.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 01:06 PM   #5
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Is there a way to make any of those add-ons respond to a gesture? I've gotten so used to using hot corners for Exposť... if I could get a tabsposť with gestures of some kind, that'd be perfect!
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 01:19 PM   #6
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
Is there a way to make any of those add-ons respond to a gesture? I've gotten so used to using hot corners for Exposť... if I could get a tabsposť with gestures of some kind, that'd be perfect!
good question, i would imagine that need two extensions to cooperate, mouse gesture+tab previews.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 01:22 PM   #7
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
I've been using Tab Catalog for a while. It works, but I can't say anything further.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 01:28 PM   #8
GimmeSlack12
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
Is there a way to make any of those add-ons respond to a gesture? I've gotten so used to using hot corners for Exposť... if I could get a tabsposť with gestures of some kind, that'd be perfect!
In conjunction with Quicksilver I bet this is possible.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 01:31 PM   #9
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
guess what, ha

install mouse gesture and reveal
then in mouse gesture's preference, add a new gesture, choose customize (default is build-in), it will need u to input a javascrip, just input
Quote:
Reveal.toggle();
done.

Im setting up as a big triangle, "1R7", kool

this is from reveal's author
Quote:
Javascript Interface

If you want to use Reveal with extensions like mouse gestures, you can use some Javascript:

* Reveal.toggle(); - Toggle Reveal open or closed.
* Reveal.openReveal(); - Opens Reveal if not already open.
* Reveal.closeReveal(); - Closes Reveal if not already closed.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 02:28 PM   #10
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
reveal doesn't really work flawlessly, sometime it lost tabs , i hope the author would update this to 2.0.0.x ASAP

Last edited by clevin; Jan 16, 2007 at 04:26 PM.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 03:06 PM   #11
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by clevin View Post
guess what, ha
Wow, nice work, Clevin! I will have to try this out!
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 03:14 PM   #12
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
Wow, nice work, Clevin! I will have to try this out!
if reveal doesn't work for u as u want
check here
http://en.mousegestures.org/gesture-...?mappingID=127
mouse gesture work with foXpose
and
http://en.mousegestures.org/gesture-...?mappingID=185
mouse gesture work with firefox Showcase

Last edited by clevin; Jan 16, 2007 at 04:26 PM.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command + Tab not switching between spaces eldivo Mac Basics and Help 1 May 30, 2013 09:57 PM
Annoying tab switching in Chrome Semester iPad Apps 0 Mar 26, 2013 07:41 AM
Problem when switching applications with Alt+Tab papantonis OS X 1 Mar 3, 2013 10:15 AM
General: A tweak to implement Command-tab app switching? kylera Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 6, 2013 05:55 AM
Safari tab switching GrandPhrase Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 19, 2012 06:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC