Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2007, 07:25 PM   #1
MBP123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Will this work with an ?TV?

http://www.shopping.com/xPF-Insignia...www.google.com

It says there is one component input

Rear Input Connectors S-Video x 1 Component x 1 Composite x 1 Audio (RCA) x 1 RF x 1

I get very confused with TVs and inputs and the like. I know the ?TV doesnt support composite, but i thought it needed 3 ports for component, yet that TV only has 1 component port. Any help is appreciated. Thanks
MBP123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 07:28 PM   #2
liketom
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
question is why would you ? but i would doubt that would work IMO

Warranty
Tube Warranty 90 Days
Overall Warranty 90 Days

you are kidding on the warranty right?
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 07:30 PM   #3
MBP123
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
why would i? because I have 700gb of music photo and videos on my laptop w/ external HD, that id like to watch in the living room (at college), instead of on my 15inch screen in my room

why wouldnt it work? i thought all it needed was component?
MBP123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 07:32 PM   #4
MBP123
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by liketom View Post
question is why would you ? but i would doubt that would work IMO

Warranty
Tube Warranty 90 Days
Overall Warranty 90 Days

you are kidding on the warranty right?
my roomate has the tv....i could care less about the tv, i am just curious as to if this would work or not
MBP123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 07:36 PM   #5
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I think it means one set of component ports. But...
Apple TV works with widescreen, enhanced-definition or high-definition TVs capable of 1080i, 720p, 576p, or 480p resolutions, including popular models from these manufacturers.
So I think it's not supported, as it's standard-def.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 07:39 PM   #6
MBP123
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
i just called up apple, and they said so long as it has the component (green blue red) on it, it will work.....just might be stretched imaged and so forth, but that it will display......
MBP123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPN by iPhone work but at MacBook doesn't work! why ? Jingol Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 12, 2013 05:40 PM
Macbook Pro fail to work/reinstall on Mac OS, but work on windows saqxank MacBook Pro 0 Feb 28, 2013 01:15 PM
Recognizing Work Number as Work Place in Caller ID falcon362 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 30, 2012 12:36 PM
Does iMessages still work in Lion? If I found it online, can I install it and work? HappyDude20 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Aug 15, 2012 11:46 AM
I use some website callled Outlook Web App at work to check work email.can I use push aliensarecool iPhone 3 Aug 11, 2012 12:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC