Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 28, 2007, 07:35 AM   #1
timmyb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Odd Handbrake issue

I am trying to rip Casino Royale to my laptop so that i can watch it on my iPod. I have ripped many dvds without problems in the past, but something strange is happening this time round. I make all the necessary settings, choosing the main feature, (about 2h18min,) and set the target size to 750mb etc and then click 'rip'. All things start well, but the ripping stops after about a minute. Upon playing the .mp4 file, all it has on it is the traditional MGM & Colombia introductions and that is it.

I have repeated the process 3 times with the same outcome. Does anyone have any idea about what on earth is going on?
timmyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 08:14 AM   #2
epochblue
macrumors 68000
 
epochblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyb View Post
I am trying to rip Casino Royale to my laptop so that i can watch it on my iPod. I have ripped many dvds without problems in the past, but something strange is happening this time round. I make all the necessary settings, choosing the main feature, (about 2h18min,) and set the target size to 750mb etc and then click 'rip'. All things start well, but the ripping stops after about a minute. Upon playing the .mp4 file, all it has on it is the traditional MGM & Colombia introductions and that is it.

I have repeated the process 3 times with the same outcome. Does anyone have any idea about what on earth is going on?
It could be an issue with newer "tricks" on the disc. Newer discs have some newer things on them (like intentionally bad segments, for example) that can trip up some rippers. It's likely that you're running into one of those. Submit the bug to the Handbrake project so they can get a fix for it into the next version
__________________
-- 13" MacBook Air (Mid-2012), iPhone 5, iPad Mini
epochblue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 08:48 AM   #3
livingfortoday
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Msp
Yeah, it's most likely some security thing built into the DVD. Companies will purposely put in bad sectors and fake parts into DVD's to stop copying. I know the new MacTheRipper beta has some workarounds for that kind of thing.
__________________
iMac / iPhone
livingfortoday is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 08:58 AM   #4
live4ever
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
The newest MacTheRipper should work (3.0b14???) - then open the video_ts folder in HandBrake.
live4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 08:59 AM   #5
timmyb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by livingfortoday View Post
I know the new MacTheRipper beta has some workarounds for that kind of thing.
If I use MacTheRipper, how do I make the file smaller? Using Handbrake i can adjust it for iPod size, (meaning it's 750MB,) but for MTR it's going to be 6.89GB!
timmyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 09:01 AM   #6
epochblue
macrumors 68000
 
epochblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Are you using Handbrake or Instant Handbrake? Big-Boy Handbrake can open VIDEO_TS files, even if they aren't on a DVD.

So, like the poster's above me said, if you can find the newest MTR, use it to rip the movie and use Handbrake to compress it.
__________________
-- 13" MacBook Air (Mid-2012), iPhone 5, iPad Mini
epochblue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 09:06 AM   #7
timmyb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Will do. Thanks for all the advice.
timmyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 09:08 AM   #8
bmcgonag
macrumors 65816
 
bmcgonag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to bmcgonag
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyb View Post
I am trying to rip Casino Royale to my laptop so that i can watch it on my iPod. I have ripped many dvds without problems in the past, but something strange is happening this time round. I make all the necessary settings, choosing the main feature, (about 2h18min,) and set the target size to 750mb etc and then click 'rip'. All things start well, but the ripping stops after about a minute. Upon playing the .mp4 file, all it has on it is the traditional MGM & Colombia introductions and that is it.

I have repeated the process 3 times with the same outcome. Does anyone have any idea about what on earth is going on?
I think if you search this particular movie name on this forum, someone else posted the same issue, and a reply had a possible fix, not using handbrake, but wome other osftware.

Brian
__________________
OS X Tech Tips
24" White iMac Core 2 duo, 3 GB Ram, 1 TB, Orig & 2nd Gen AppleTV, iPhone 3GS, iPad Gen 1 - 16 Gig WiFi
Innovative CR
bmcgonag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 09:43 AM   #9
princealfie
macrumors 68030
 
princealfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City UT
Send a message via Yahoo to princealfie
I had problems with ripping Casino Royale. Blame it on Sony DVD's. Honestly lately all of the Sony DVD's had to be ripped using Magic DVD on a PC! Arghhhh!!!!
__________________
albertfallickwang.artcat.com
late 2006 iMac 17" (Intel Core Duo 2) with 4 GB and 4 TB internal hard drive; Mac OS X 10.6, iPhone 3GS on T-Mobile + a few Android phones (HTC Amaze, etc.)
princealfie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 01:18 PM   #10
ibrainch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
simple fix

one simple fix albeit not necessarily ideal is to set handbrake to only compress chapters 2-last chapter, the "bug" is usually in the 1st chapter. again, not ideal, but sometimes the first chapter is just the credits.
ibrainch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 01:24 PM   #11
pdpfilms
macrumors 68020
 
pdpfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermontana
I've ripped almost 200 movies, and I'd say over 80% of Sony DVDs produced after 2003 do the same thing. Some can't even be read by Handbrake (Capote, etc.).
pdpfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a Handbrake issue, or an iTunes issue? kavika411 Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Jul 12, 2011 09:44 AM
Handbrake causing odd screen issues after ripping. bmcgonag Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 31, 2011 09:01 PM
Odd Safari Issue dsnort Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Aug 4, 2006 05:28 AM
odd Limewire issue galstaph Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Oct 12, 2005 05:35 PM
Odd mail issue MacBoyX Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion 6 Mar 2, 2005 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC