Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2007, 06:00 PM   #1
fab5freddy
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
Best way to ReFormat my MacBook Pro ?

What is the best way to ReFormat my MacBook Pro ?
I currently have 60 GB of Apps and other stuff, and want to
do a clean install of my entire harddrive....

can i just move all my apps over to an external harddrive and then put them back on after my re install ?
Will i have to re type in all the serials for photoshop and dreamweaver, etc....?

cheers, FF
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2007, 08:01 PM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Boot from the OSX discs and use Disk Utility to reformat your drive. However, why do you want to do this? Reformatting involves erasing everything, so you're kinda just asking for trouble.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2007, 08:06 PM   #3
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Some apps, mostly small and simple ones, can be moved and replaced. Some require re-serializing or reinstallation from the original disks.
Some will not work if you don't know all of the locations that they store necessary Library items, authorization files, support files etc. and you fail to bring over the right components.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 11:30 AM   #4
skybolt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Not knowing why you want/need to reformat, but suggest you try Archive & Install (and click on "save user preferences" - or whatever it actually says)-- that will preserve your apps, preferences, etc. and you should not have any problems. My understanding is that it is the same as regular formatting, but when you archive, you save your apps etc. Maybe this would do what you want to do?
__________________
Mary
skybolt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 05:13 PM   #5
fab5freddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
the reason i want to re format my macbook pro, is because
it is running really sluggish as i have installed alot of junk on it
in the last 14 months!

my main concern is CS3, Capture One Pro, Dreamweaver, Transmit, and a few other apps. Do i need the original DMG install file to re install ?

than ks
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 06:22 PM   #6
eyebeaz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
DMG install file? You will need the original discs.
eyebeaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 07:23 PM   #7
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, you need OSX discs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post
Not knowing why you want/need to reformat, but suggest you try Archive & Install (and click on "save user preferences" - or whatever it actually says)-- that will preserve your apps, preferences, etc. and you should not have any problems. My understanding is that it is the same as regular formatting, but when you archive, you save your apps etc. Maybe this would do what you want to do?

Apple has an article on the Archive & Install. It doesn't reformat your drive. It installs a new system which replaces your old system files, but leaves your personal files and settings untouched.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 07:26 PM   #8
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
my main concern is CS3, Capture One Pro, Dreamweaver, Transmit, and a few other apps. Do i need the original DMG install file to re install ?
Drag them to an external HD from the Applications folder
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2009, 09:22 PM   #9
DieboldM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reformatting Macbook Pro

Hey, I know it seems pretty simple to reformat, but I put in my Leopard disk and attempt the boot from disk and my disk will not let me install the OS. Am I doing something wrong? Can someone please help...

Also Im attempting to wipe everything off my drive and start fresh if that matters....
DieboldM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 01:25 PM   #10
jlynn628
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
similar issue

I am also having a similar problem. My MBP is running slow and sluggish. It was bought in april 2007 and has been a great machine. I remember when it took less than 45 seconds to start up. But now after 2 1/2 years and lots of extra software and assorted junk it is slow.

I also have thought to reformat and start fresh but also am concerned about adobe CS3. I do have the original disks and serial numbers and all that stuff but have already installed it on a 2nd computer and am wondering if I will have trouble reinstalling on my MBP. If I remember correctly Adobe CS3 can only be installed on 2 computers correct?
jlynn628 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 01:41 PM   #11
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
What is the best way to ReFormat my MacBook Pro ?
Why? Erasing everything and then putting it all back will get you exactly where you are right now.

Do you have a problem? If so ask about how to fix it.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 01:38 PM   #12
jlynn628
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Why? Erasing everything and then putting it all back will get you exactly where you are right now.

Do you have a problem? If so ask about how to fix it.
I can't speak for the person who started this thread. However, I do not intend to put back all that I erase, only the main software that I use now and the current files that I am working with.

Over the years I have installed a ton of programs, many of which were not really what I was looking for and don't use or even remember what they do. Also, I have changed many settings in all programs and OS. This was my first mac and I still don't fully understand all the settings or how to restore to the original state.

I could ask how can I improve my MBP's speed or something similar however it is a vague question and would take all day to list all of the possible factors for the loss in speed.

My question is- for the software that has been installed and that I would like to reinstall

Adobe CS3 master collection
Final Cut hd
Microsoft office 2004
Visual Hub - (no longer available so I am very concerned)

This may seem like a silly question, but when the software is registered, the serial number for the computer is registered right? so that as long as i am reinstalling on the same computer I will not have a problem right?
jlynn628 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 04:40 AM   #13
Terrifiedz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Like... do you have a simple solution?

Wow... why do everybody have that problem...Ok me too =.= Does anyone have a simple solution of just reformatting a MBP so that it goes back to its factory settings without all the apps and add-ons and blahs ?
Terrifiedz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 02:02 AM   #14
matthk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychofreak View Post
Drag them to an external HD from the Applications folder
Do NOT do this. It'll work for some, but anything licensed will have problems.
Also, you'll lose all your preferences and settings.
__________________
Jesus was a socialist, the proto-Communist even!
matthk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases Battery Fix SMC Firmware Update for MacBook Air, MacBook Pro and Retina MacBook Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 55 Jun 19, 2014 12:39 AM
How to reformat a Macbook Pro? ronnie2043 MacBook Pro 6 Apr 19, 2013 05:57 PM
Macbook Pro Mid 2010 13" is lagging bad after reformat. cjrocks MacBook Pro 10 Jan 20, 2013 04:11 AM
How to reformat '06 Macbook Pro - cannot reach desktop albo23 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 25, 2012 09:18 AM
Resolved: Reformat MacBook Air Scuba629 MacBook Air 19 Jun 22, 2012 04:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC